We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Lausanne Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alpha-Palmiers
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Reviewed September 15, 2013

While it's not as flash as the Lausanne Palace or Beau Rivage, the Hotel Alpha Palmiers is a solidly reliable hotel in Lausanne. Its advantages are location (quite close to the Lausanne Gar and shops), simplicity and rates. Ask for a room facing the central courtyard. These rooms have sliding doors, no street noise and just the gentle sound of the fountain. I've stayed here many many times, but prior to this stay the most recent was 7 years earlier. Not much had changed (now have irons and ironing boards in the room), but that's a good thing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 700 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Breakfast was plenty. Bedrooms clean and comfort. Hotel is near metro station. Service was very good . Free internet in the hotel and the rooms. TV has many choices of channels in many languages. The only problem was that the bathroom has no door and in fact it's the same room as the main room !! Backyard is very nice !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiannisJX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

three nights, business.

Pro's
+rooms very nice, good bed, good bathroom, clean,
+Nice front desk staff
+location, location, location

Con's
+Waitresses in restaurant. Hello! we are guests. We told the front desk and they would relay the message.
+Front rooms are streetside, so if you want to sleep with the window open be prepared for streetlife noises.
+breakfast borders 3* instead of 4*.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ourtimeisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

At first glance, this place seems like a good option. It's near the rail station and the old town, and has some (occluded) views of the lake. But this is where the positives end. The hallway leading to our 8th floor room smelled like Chinese takeout (for our entire stay). The walls are paper-thin and we could hear one neighbor snoring all night and a baby crying in another room. The street noise is also quite loud, even on the 8th floor. The beds are on wheels so they tend to slide apart (if you're in a double). The bathroom is strange...towel bars are below the sink and if you hang your bath towel on them, it will touch the floor; toilet seat is flimsy plastic; tub is slippery and dangerous. And the breakfast is poor by European standards: only three kinds of cheese, barbie juice cups, watery scrambled eggs, and limited selection of rolls. So buyer beware!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank CicadaAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hotel Alpha-Palmiers is a nice City Hotel in Lausanne between Railstation (about 5 Minutes to walk) and Centrum (about 5 Minutes to walk too). For Business and Sightseeing the best starting-point.

I had done a reservation for a 40 qm apartment; The room was very clean, had television, telephone, climaautomatic and you are able to open the windows. From th 8th floor you can see Lac Leman and City Lausanne.

The service at the reception is ok, very friendly / polite. The service at the hotel bar is bad... you wait to long for the barkeeper to get a drink (about 15-20 minutes). The breakfast is very good; you get what you want with a high quality.

Parking is possible but you have to pay for this. Internet Access ist free (W-LAN).

Around the hotel you find different restaurants where you can eat and drink. One of the best and cheapest is a chinese restaurant, 50 meters beside the cinema. But you must do a reservation.

Hotel Alpha-Palmiers is a very good adress if you stay in Lausanne.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorsten O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This last minute booking was an excellent deal. Alpha Palmiers is a modern hotel about 2 minutes walk from the station. The lobby, bar and restaurant interior is modern but warm and inviting, with a nice view of a courtyard garden. Staff was friendly and very helpful. The contemporary design of the room was spacious and light. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reeszoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and thought it was a good value for Switzerland. We had a large room but there was a noticeable lack of storage for you to unpack. The shower also a bit on the small side but the water hot and plentiful. The décor was a bit odd and very modern for such an old city. I actually felt out of place. Location was also very good an easy to get to public transport from the hotel.
The front desk folks were just terrific making sure we had what ever we needed and helped us plan some "out of town" trips.
I would stay here again if in Lausanne.

BObK

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0bK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.2 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.5 mi away
ibis Lausanne Centre
ibis Lausanne Centre
#10 of 45 in Lausanne
1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
Swiss Wine by Fassbind
#24 of 45 in Lausanne
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 45 in Lausanne
523 reviews
4.2 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 45 in Lausanne
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpha-Palmiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpha-Palmiers

Address: rue du Petit-Chene 34, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: $122 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alpha-Palmiers 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with interior gardens, restaurant serving regional cuisine; set in the center of the city with views of the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alpha-Palmiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alpha Palmiers
Alpha Palmiers Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing