We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST Chinese! Please Go There!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Xu

Chez Xu
Ranked #47 of 676 Restaurants in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The BEST Chinese! Please Go There!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Chez Xu has two branches in Lausanne. This one in Ripponne and the other one located on the upwards slope in Gare.

I had gone to the latter first and the food there was good, fresh and hot.

But this is branch is a whole other story!

I had gone in the nick of time at about 1:45pm because they stope taking orders from 2pm and waitress was hesitant to let me eat there but she did.

I had ordered spring rolls, Fried Rice and noodles.

I was soo amazed when it finally came.

all the dishes were ultra - fresh! steaming hot and i mean literally steaming... it kept steaming till the end portion!

The kitchen is transparent in the sense that you could see how they were cooking your food or anyone else's.

The food was just delicious. And its not at all expensive!! sure i would pay here than eat a filthy burger!


Really excellent food guys,,,please please go there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    113
    20
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“home made chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

One of the few places where you can find home made chinese food, said by my chinese colleagues. The concept is more like a dinner than a restaurant, they place people in shared tables, but you're nor squeezed. The prize are really low for Switzerland. The staff is really friendly. I personally love the pekinois soup (hot) and the cumin lamb.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paola l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchâtel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So dissapointed about the services”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We turned back on Lausanne after a very great holidays. We chose this restaurant because it's near the train station.
The dishes were very fat. The taste is bland. The duck of Pekin is not traditionnel. The chinese waitresses here weren't polished. They throw our dishes on the table like throwing foods for the pigeons. For someone who have a small budget but who wants to eat a lot and don't care about the services.
We visit here for the first time also the last time because of every thing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Thanh Thao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I don't say this very easily, but I would consider this one of the best restaurants I know in Switzerland. No, it doesn't look fancy. Yes, you probably will have to sit with at a long table with other customers. Yes, you might have to wait a bit to get served. But my god, the food they serve here is very very good, and correctly priced. The dumpling soup is just awesome, the peking duck is very tasty and the fried dumplings are huge, and this all for a price that's like three times cheaper than other more fancy Chinese restaurants in Lausanne.
The restaurant doesn't like it, but you probably want to make a phone reservation before going there, because it's mostly packed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThaWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake Geneva
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hearty Chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The place doesn't look like the part!
It's not a gourmet restaurant as good Chinese restaurants tend to be in Switzerland and it doesn't have the tacky decorations cheaper place have. It looks more like a neibourghood café...
But the place is really worth trying! The food is plain and delicious, servings are generous and prices couldn't be any lower.
Service can be slow and the staff forgetful... But then, just don't go if you're in a hurry - the food is well worth the wait !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hotcocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Xu also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Chez Xu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing