We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The hotel is in a good location by the lake and near to the metro and bus stop.
We were upgraded to one of their new business rooms. It had free wifi, British TV channels, mini bar, a/c and balcony. It wasn't facing the lake however, it was a peaceful and quiet room. It was spotlessly clean and very modern.

The bathroom and shower facilities were very modern however, due to the frosted glass doors they didn't offer much privacy.

I found the bed hard and needed an extra pillow. I asked I reception if they had a mattress topper and an extra pillow and they happily obliged.

The cost of breakfast wasn't included in the price and I thought it was expensive so we popped out to the cafe (Tea Room, Le Quai Gourmand) for breakfast. It was a friendly place just 3 or 4 shops along the road.

We were extremely satisfied with our stay, staff were friendly and approachable, the hotel was clean, modern and our room was well located. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Just be aware of the bathroom privacy issue in the business rooms. Remember that you can ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for commenting your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel lausanne.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our Business rooms and you are right to mention that, due to the configuration of the room and its open bathroom, privacy is only granted through frosted glass doors.

We are sorry to hear that you prefered opting for an outside offer for breakfast as you found our buffet (offering up to 100 dishes) too expensive. Please note that you can also chose 'à la carte' breakfast for your next visit.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    504
    173
    45
    24
See reviews for
154
244
59
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Located just across the beautiful Lake Geneva, the hotel has very easy access to everywhere: business district, Olympic Museum, and many other interesting places in Lausanne.

Bedroom is comfortable, front-liners service is excellent and helpful, breakfast is splendid - don't miss the Movenpick coffee, so good! Definitely a most convenience hotel to stay in Lausanne.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the best view: to the Lake Geneva. Don't miss the awesome Movenpick coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady_Java
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for providing your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our services were up to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon in our property.

Kind regards

Christian Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

The roomis small but spotlessly clean and modern. The lake view isn't much as it's directly in front of the hotel is a marina. Not far from the metro station. Have to pay for internet. Fast checking in and out.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holzhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
168 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice Rooms, Perfect service, very efficient check in and out. We went there for a company arranged event and hotel was well prepared. Decent breakfast. Lausanne Olympic museum is in walking distance as are a couple of nice bars and restaurants.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank OLaWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Oliver,

Thank you ever so much for posting your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are delighted to read that our service and staff were to your expectations and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon within our property.

Kind regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
206 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Well located near the lake. Functional but comfortable rooms ( heatin set a bit too high though).
Good breakfast buffet. Convenient location for the town centre and railway station.
Staff are very helpful,esp at reception.
Recommended for a business stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhav24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear madhav24,

Thank you for providing us with your comments shared with our entire team.

We are peased to read that we were up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your are right in mentioning our Lake view rooms as a tip, we would also like to mention our business rooms, latest addition to our portfolio. These rooms include balcony, rain shower, media hub, Nespresso machines and are decorated with style and reflect modernity.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Mövenpick Hotel in Lausanne has average standards for overpriced charges, which might be customary for Switzerland.
Artificial friendliness and basically no warmth or hospitality is hosted here. A smile which says: ' Hi there, I don't care' gives you an uncomfortable feeling of being taken for a ride at all times while encountering the staff.

The staff is partly overactive and in my opinion needs a qualification upgrade to become state of the art in terms of hotel biz.
The rooms are quite average, bad smells in the room, the 'lake view' can only be enjoyed by keeping the windows shut, otherwise it seems as if you are sleeping directly on the highway,
it is a very noisy environment.

After all - very, very, very expensive for utmost average performance.
No relation of price-performance ratio.
To me the atmosphere felt like in a motel at the highway.

After reading the statement of the hotel manager that they would offer 100 different dishes for breakfast I feel inspired to clarify that this is a very misleading information,
100 dishes, yes, if you count the onion rings, capers, pickles, sliced cucumbers etc.
I have only seen one dish, that was an omelette that was prepared directly in front of my eyes.
The stuff is very unpredictable, partly they pull away your dishes, no matter if finished or not, sometimes they ask you if you would like a coffee or omlette, sometimes they are somewhere in their own world, dedicated to other tasks.

It is my greatest fun to see the look in their faces while appearing with sneakers for breakfast, they immediately think I sneaked in from outside trying to enjoy their great breakfast.
How ridiculous and unprofessional and quite narrow-minded.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are surprised by your remarks that somehow differ very much from other comments but we accept all feedback from our customers.

We would like to invite you to try our business rooms for your next visit, should you decide to stay with us again and assure you that we will do our utmost to make you change your mind about our property, our staff and services.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

Best regards,

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Located in Ouchy, by the lake with immediate access to the pedestrian area. The Metro station (takes you directly to the train station in 5 min and City center in 10 min) is just 2 minutes away and the Bus stop for Line #2 is an additional minute walk away. Breakfast is good, the Bar is descend. Rooms a bit small but its not a place to enjoy the room, is more business oriented which means you just use the room for a quick shower, sleeping & doing emails. Does not offer daily complimentary water (like most hotels nowadays). Need to prebook taxi otherwise the wait might be longer that desired. Overall a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the elevator are not recommended, since there is traffic all day & night..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grbr07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Esteemed Customer,

The entire Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne team would like to thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay within our property.

We are pleased to read that our services were up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Concerning taxis, we understand that the wait might be a bit longer than expected during rush hours, mainly due to the large amount of cars requested but also tghe traffic in town. We offer our guests to pre-book their taxi in advance but the hotel also provide free transportation card for all to use. As you mentioned, the Metro station is only meters away from our property, taking you all the way up to the main train station (4 stops) or city center (5 stops).

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Property: Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing