We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Moevenpick is fantastically located just by the lake. Ask for the room facing it. The rooms are reasonable size and of reasonable quality. The service is excellent. Breakfast NOT cheap, however truly fantastic and of great choice.

Room Tip: For the view of the lake ask for the street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Robert,

Greetings from Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne and thank you for your comments.

Yes, our lake view rooms offer a spectacular view over the Geneva lake and the harbour and, as lights fade away every evening, the scenary can become spectaculor.

Our modern business rooms can also provide you everything you dream off including a balcony, a rain shower, media hub, nespresso machine and so on...

We look forward to welcoming you again in Lausanne.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    514
    178
    46
    25
See reviews for
156
250
60
558
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
371 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Good location near the lake, especially if you are here for the business visit at one of the companies located nearby or IMD. Easy to reach from Geneva highway, has a garage in the basement. Gym is OK, but somewhat small and has most of the machines for lower part of the body(?). Service is good, you get recognized if stay more often, which is always nice. Try to get a room in the new part of the building- BIG difference. Finally, wifi is free of charge. Though breakfast is Expensive! Like in most hotels here. Burgers are always good, be it in the bar or room service.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ksksksksks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne for business purposes.

Our fitness center, described as small, is actually the largest hotel fitness center in Lausanne with 30 machines of the latest technology (Technogym) and is very appreciated by all our customers including some of the world's famous athletes. Our property welcomes all major sporting events being held in Lausanne and the participants are training in the same conditions as you have done.

You are right in mentioning our new Business Rooms as they have been fitted with all modern features including a media hub, a rain shower, a nespresso machine. They also offer a provate balcony.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Bestr regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have travelled to Lausanne twice in the past three years and both times I have stayed at the Movenpick hotel. It is perfectly located (in my opinion) directly across from the scenic Lake Geneva and on the same street as the Olympic Museum. In addition, there are plenty of excellent restaurants that neighbor the hotel, and just a 10-15 min drive to city center. The central train station is not far either, only a 10 minute walk up the hill - or a 5min drive / taxi.

The hotel itself is clean, rooms are spacious, courteous/friendly staff, great Moevenpick deserts (of course!), and highly recommended.

I would highly recommend this hotel for business trip and/or for family/couple trips. I have done both of these - once for business and the next time (September 2013) with Family!

I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in Lausanne!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank espnjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments following your recent visits at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne, both on business and leisure occasions.

We have shared your precious comments with the entire team as we are delighted that we were able to provide you with the services you expected from us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

They charge 18 CHF per night. This for a very very slow Wifi. When I visited the hotel just 3 months ago it was free. The trend in the hotel world is definitely towards free wifi but this hotel is moving in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trajan903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This contemporary high rise hotel is just a few minutes by metro from the train station and right on the lakefront. The Lausanne lake area is perfect for walking and filled with charming restaurants and park areas, including the Olympic headquarters (currently closed for renovation but be sure to visit the small historical collection on the vintage ship across the street).

The hotel is large and comfortable, with friendly professional service at check-in and in the restaurants. It is clearly a popular business hotel, but works for tourists as well -- Swiss efficiency at its best. Our room was sleekly designed with a comfortable bed, very quiet, spacious, and with a convenient bathroom. It is not inexpensive, but is reasonable by Switzerland standards. Wi-Fi is included as is a city train pass.

Be sure to book a lake view room for the best experience, it is lovely to watch all of the boats move in and out of the harbor and sunsets can be spectacular.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packingprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments and positive feedback on our services following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

Located on the shore of Lake Geneva, our hotel is the perfect place for business or leisure travelers. You mentioned the Olympic Committee Headquarters as one of the attraction to visit, you were of course thinking of the Olympic Museum which will soon reopen (planned end of December) as the IOC headquarters can not be visited.

We are deligted to read that our Swiss Hospitality was underlined and that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is located in the touristic area with easy access by metro/ bus/ walk to all the city. The terrace on the ground floor is agreeable but you need to be careful with the cars. Tip: you don't need a taxi from Lausanne gare, just pick up the metro down to Ouchy.

Room Tip: Lake view and last 2 floor for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nunomccosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for commenting the M¨ovenpick Hotel Lausanne on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our services and that your stay was an enjoyable one.

You mention our terraces on the ground floor (soon to be closed for the winter time) and the fact that our property is close to the train station (a 10 minutes walk or only 4 minutes by metro M2 direct from Lausanne train station to Ouchy). Our restaurants are also the perfect place to eat, drink or discover one of our excellent ice cream while in Lausanne. The Jardin restaurant is open from 6am until 11.30pm, non stop.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I attended a course at IMD business school which is literally next door to the Moevenpick. The hotel is really wonderfully located - right on the lakefront with easy walking access to the local metro station that takes you up the hill into Lausanne is need be.

The hotel is very comfortable and well serviced. The staff were capable in multiple languages, and English was absolutely no trouble at all.

Would gladly recommend as a business hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Gareth,

Thank you for taking the time of sharing your comments with us and fellow travelers following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

IMD as well as many international companies such as Philip Morris and Nespresso are located very close by the hotel and it is extremely convenient for our customers coming to visit these companies for business purposes.

Located on the shore of Lake Geneva, right in front of the harbour, our property is also the best place to stay while in Lausanne for a leisure trip.

Metro is 200 meters from the hotel door with free transportation card given to clients upon arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#9 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Property: Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing