We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at this Hotel is a very pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staying at this Hotel is a very pleasant experience”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is the second time that I have had the pleasure of staying at this Hotel. It is situated in a perfect location. It is a very short walk from the Olympic Museum, the Ferry Terminal, as well as the metro. One can enjoy very pleasant walks along the Lake. I always rent a car and find the underground public parking garage across the street to be most convenient. Arriving from the US the flights get in rather early in the morning. On arrival at the hotel I was delighted with the news that my room was ready for an early check-in. I was offered a beverage, and I must say that this was very thoughtful. The service at reception was very attentive and pleasant. The room upgrade was most appreciated. Thank you. My room was very clean, very comfortable, great amenities and a wonderful view of Lac Leman. The complimentary WiFi is a definite plus for guests. The breakfast buffet caters for all tastes and the service is very good. Stopping in for a light meal in the little bar "Tchin-Tchin" is a great way to relax. Guests have the choice of sitting inside or on the terrace. I chose to sit inside as I enjoy the very cosy atmosphere. The menu caters for many different pallets. Not forgetting the Movenpick ice-cream menu. All-in-all this hotel delivers exceptionally warm and friendly service from the reception to housekeeping. This is a location that caters for business as well holiday travelers. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Mickey T,

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent visit at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us while staying in Lausanne. Your positive comments have been shared with the entires time which thrilled to see that they turned your stay into one of the most enjoyable one.

We all look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    536
    181
    47
    28
See reviews for
162
254
61
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Excellent location of the property - situated right on the lakefront ! Its very convenient to travel via metro from the train station. With the lake cruise terminal is just 5 minutes walk away, it was ideal to plan day trips to Montreux and Evian! Also note that the hotel (similar to others in the area) provides welcome card for free travel within Lausanne.

Service was prompt and efficient. They have the provision to use free internet at machines set up in lobby area and they also provide umbrellas at the reception ( in case it is raining).

Room was decent with all the amenities. Little on the smaller side (as expected in Europe) !

Breakfast spread was very good...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Swathi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Swathi999,

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback following your stay in September 2012.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff and services were to your expectations.

You are right in mentionning the location of the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne, right on the shore of Lake Geneva, with astonishing views over the harbour and French Alps. This is a real plus for all travelers on vacation that wish to enjoy the beauty such a landscape provides.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Bes^t regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful two nights stay in a duplex suite with amazing views of the lake and mountains (go for lake view room in the higher floors). The hotel's location in convenient (in-house parking) and its staff are all very helpful, friendly and efficient, especially the reception staff. The rooms are of good sized and well equipped. Free excellent wi-fi connection is an added bonus and eating a tartar steak is a must. ...

Room Tip: High floor levels, facing the lake of Geneva and the Savoy alps across the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fritz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Fritz,

It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments that have been shared with the entire team at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We delight in providing only the best of services and we are pleased to see that you stay was a memorable and enjoyable one.

Thank you for sharing your culinary experience when mentioning our Tartar offer. We are actually promoting Tartar and Burgers in our 3 restaurants and customers are delighted to rediscover one of Mövenpick highlights.

Please do not hesitate to visit us again.

With my best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Movenpick, Lausanne for 3 days during business visit. The hotel is located at lake front and has a great view from the room. Its easy to reach from Ouchy metro station. The rooms are comfortable and top notch. Complimentary Wi-Fi is a great plus. The ice creams at the restaurant is real yummy and unforgetable. The best part of the stay was Swiss hospitality. When we checked in, Mr Johnny at front desk greeted with a warm big smile and we were treated to tray of best Swiss chocolates and orange juice. Johnny is unexceptionably friendly and has a charming way of introducing the hotel and its features. He made our check-in smooth and helped with all our queries. Pleasant memories of Lausanne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Panneerselvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Panneerselvam,

Thank you very much for your praise following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.
They have been shared with the entire team, including Johnny at Front Desk.

We are happy to read that your stay as left you pleasant memories and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards from Lausanne

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have been for many times in this very good Hotel: nice rooms, excellent food, perfect service. Just a few meters from the shore of Lake Geneva and the campus of IMD Business School. Al fresco breakfast, lunch or dinner when nice weather. Free Wifi, however you need to input many times a day login & pw details.
Try to get a room with view on the lake.

Room Tip: Lake view rroms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Genopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

We are all delighted that you enjoyed staying at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne while following courses at IMD.

Concerning your remarks on our Wifi, please be informed that we are working on finding a solution that will permit you to get instant connection.

Stay tuned for further information !

Best regards and see you soon

C. Kramer
general Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I opted for a room with view of the lake, I think it was well worth it. I booked through booking.com as the rate was lower then the hotel's online rate - I mentioned that on check in and the receptionist said that was normal to find better rates elsewhere then on Movenpick site. Hotel location was good. The room was average, a bit similar to Novotel style. I did not take b/f in the hotel ... but it did seem quite expensive. Did not use any of the facilities as was visiting friends, so not much time was spent in hotel except to sleep.

Room Tip: High floor. Lake view was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ho_sik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback following your trip in Lausanne and stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

You are right in mentionning that booking.com is showing different rates than our own website. The reason for this is that they do not include City Tax when we do. We only think this is fair to the customers to inform them of the total charge and nor hide any taxes that will need to be paid.

Concerning our breakfast, we aim to provide our clients with different choices ranging from CHF 24.00 for a Continental to CHF 34.00 for a full buffet, which is the correct range for a 4 star property. Of course, you are able also to have the 'a la carte' breakfast and be charged on consumption.

As you mentioned, our lake view rooms are worth it and we are delighted that you enjoyed the splendours that they offer.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

JM Berner
p/o C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful four night stay. Had a room on the seventh floor with amazing views of the lake and mountains (go for lake view room in the higher floors). The hotel is perfect, staff is very cordial, helpful and efficient, especially the reception staff. The rooms are spotless, good sized and well equipped. Free excellent wi-fi connection in the room with very good speed. They allowed an early check in without any extra charge. Movenpick ice cream is a must have! Very well located and accessibility was excellent. Hotel staff was very helpful with sightseeing and helped us in planning out itineraries based on weather and personal choices. They gave us Lausanne card which allowed free access in the metro which took us to city center. Place around the hotel is very interesting and good for walks aswell. Gourmet food options in the hotel, which is must try.

Room Tip: go for lake view room in the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Avidtraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you ever so much for sharing your comments with us and all travelers ! It is so pleasant to read such praise for our property, it was shared with the entire team and staff members.

We are delighted to read that you had a mindblowing stay with us at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne and that you enjoyed our lake view rooms as well as our food expertise and of course, the famous Mövenpick Ice Cream.

Lausanne is a city worth visiting and I am delighted to read that our reception staff has been able to guide you and share their knowledge to enhance your stay and make it worth remembering.

We all look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
404 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#16 of 46 in Lausanne
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Property: Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing