We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel has both great restaurants and located next to the lake. I recommend a lake view room, it is definitely worth it! Very good gym as well with all the proper equipment for a great workout. The I telnet connection is very low so that would be my only complaint.

Room Tip: Pick a lake view room and high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phyrebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Phyrebird,

Many thanks for your recent feedback following your stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you are right in mentionning the lake view rooms which provide beautiful sceneries !

Our gym is equipped with 30 machines and is well appreciated from our customers, just like you did.

We understand that you encountered problems with internet. Offering free internet to all our customers sometimes means that our systems runs slower than usual. Please accept all our appoligies for this.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you very soon.

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week. Location was very good only 10 minutes from the centre of Lausanne in the suburb of Ouchy. There is free use of the Metro and bus system for visitors to Lausanne which was very useful and appreciated.

We arrived early but that was not a problem and we were made to feel very welcome by Johnny on reception.

Our room overlooked the marina at the front of the hotel. There was no balcony which was our only criticism of the room. A good size room although the bathroom was a bit small. A large double bed was very comfortable with individual duvets which was good.

We only ate a couple of times in the hotel restaurant. Choice was a bit limited and not cheap. However it is essential to try the Movenpick ice cream and desserts. Excellent.

We had drinks in the bar several times and the staff were all very helpful and friendly.

We did not try the other facilities.

We went across to Evian by ferry ( only 5 minutes walk from the hotel). But Evian seemed shut! We also got to Gruyeres, Vevey and Montreux. The Swiss train system is world class.

It was also disappointing the Olympic Museum is being refurbished and the photography museum Élysées was also closed. We sensed the holiday season had not fully got underway in this region.

The Movenpick is a great hotel to be based at when visiting this area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KozmaFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear KozmaFife,

Thank you very much for providing us and all travelers with your comments regarding your last visit in Lausanne.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your feedback with the entire team.

You mentioned that your room was not fitted with a balcony. Only our Business Rooms have balconies and I would strongly suggest you to try one of them during your next visit ! You will not only enjoy the tranquility of these rooms, the balcony but also the state of the art design as well as the open bathroom fitted with rain shower !

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our visit is in early May. This hotel is located directly across from Lake Geneva and across from the ferry that can take you to multiple places across the lake. We visited Evian France. Only note here is try not to visit any towns on Sunday or Monday as most of the stores and restaurants are closed. The hotel has a very small parking garage under the hotel and they charge $28 per day. The hotel is modern Suisse and very clean. We did not have a room w a view and the room was small/moderate size w a very small bathroom. The foam pillows and matresses were not at all comfortable and the rooms were quite warm and the AC control only had warm airflow. We were able to open the windows which helped.
The front reception staff were excellent. We did not have any meals in the hotel. There were
many places close by French cafe's that were wonderful. We also were charged by the hour for the Internet.
The bar was very nice and offered a good selection of wine and drinks with snacks and a really good bar menu. The bar staff were very nice and efficient.
The rooms have a safe and flat screen televisions.

Room Tip: The room we had was always quiet on the 5 th floor. There are only 6 floors for this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryAFNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Mary,

Greetings from Lausanne and thank you for providing us with your feedback foollowing your recent stay at the Mövenpick.

Situated in Ouchy, the hotel is located right on the shore of Leman lake, facing the beautiful Alps. We can only recommend you for your next visit to book one of our lake view rooms to beneficitae from breathtaking sceneries. Should you prefer a room with balcony, our modern Business Rooms are fitted with balcony but also state of the art facilities such as media hub, Nespresso machines as well as rain shower and open bathroom.

You are mentioning our AC having only warm flows. Switzerland, like the rest of Europe is still suffering from a missing spring and outside condtitions were extremely poor during your visit. We all hope that summer is now well under way.

We therefore look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is my second stay at Movenpick over the last six months. This hotel is really nice with a great location overlooking the lake.

There are a number of restaurants within walking distance, and the metro station Ouchy is close by as well. Being close to the lake give you the option of exploring the French side of the lake -- a short ferry ride across.

The staff is warm and helpful and the check in was smooth. In fact, one of the great things about this hotel is the people, warm, courteous and efficient -- be it at the bar or restaurant or house keeping!

The rooms are excellent, of adequate size, with a balcony and a large bathroom. Wi Fi was free (for me at least!) and quite fast.

One of the highlights of this hotel has to be the food. The breakfast is excellent, with great variety and taste. It is truly something to look forward to!

The hotel has a quite a good gym as well.

All in all a great experience, will surely stay here again!

Room Tip: Lake facing would be the best, higher floors would help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ismad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Ismad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and fellow travellers.
It is always a pleasure for the entire team to receive such praises and we are more than delighted that you enjoyed the quality services we aim to provide.

Our business rooms are our latest constructed rooms and have a lot of success, both with business and leisure guests. The open bathroom with rain shower, as well as the balcony, the media hub and other extra amenities are designed to enhance our clientèle's stay while spending time with us.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Was in Lausanne for business and stayed here for two nights. Booked a business room as I knew I had a lot of work to do whilst staying over. Check in was faultless and very welcoming. Room was lovely, great open plan bathroom, amazing lake and mountain view and a little balcony to catch the sun. Used room service a few times, the soup in particular was very good. Gym was also good, in the hour I was in there it was just me and two other guys the whole time, great selection of machines and a lot of free weights for a hotel gym.
Ate in the brasserie restaurant and had lamb shoulder, the meat was so tender is practically fell off the bone. Service from the bar staff before I ate was great, giving me advice about the restaurants and also serving quickly, something which never happens in Switzerland.
I will be coming to Lausanne quite often with work and will never stay anywhere else, great job guys.

Room Tip: Business room with lake view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalGooner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Sir,

Your praise on our property, services and staff have been shared with the entire team and we would like to express our most sincere thanks for sharing your point of view.

We aime to provide the best of services at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne and we are delighted that you were able to beneficiate from our experience.

Our 72 business rooms possess a balcony and are designed to enhance your stay while staying in Lausanne and, as mentionned, a few of them have a view on the lake and the Alps.

We look forward to your next stay.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here on a work trip recently and it was a superb stay.

Everything about it was a very high standard from the water on arrival whilst checking in to the upgraded room to the reasonably priced restaurant with great food.

I think the staff were excellent and I loved everything about it.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HullPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Phil,

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay at the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne.

We are delighted to read that your stay was an enjoyable one and that our staff has managed to provide you with the best of services.

Your feedback has been shared with all our employees and, in the name of the entire team, we thank you for sharing it with all other travelers.

Looking forward to your next stay in Lausanne and with Mövenpick.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Superb hotel at prime location, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, delicious cuisine, good house pour wines.
Stylish rooms with good choice of satellite TV channels.
Recommended anytime, would definitely stay there again.
Pharmacy and supermarket next door, open until late.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laras404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moevenpick_Hotel_12, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Lausanne, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Laras404,

It is always a pleasure to read such a positive feedback. Your precious comments have been shared with all our employees.

Thank you for communicating your experience with all travellers too and for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards

C. Kramer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 46 in Lausanne
420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#13 of 46 in Lausanne
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: $162 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing