We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD LAKESIDE HOTEL IN CENTRE OF OUCHY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GOOD LAKESIDE HOTEL IN CENTRE OF OUCHY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a convenient, reasonably priced hotel in the centre of Ouchy. Rooms were comfortable, bathroom was spacious, and view of Lac Leman was as splendid as ever. However, since price of breakfast was extortionate, I popped next door to Migros for a few croissants and yogurts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    494
    167
    44
    23
See reviews for
151
240
58
533
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel has Premium prices but premium service. Close to metro, bus, lake, bike rentals. Very good location. Dont miss their famous ice creams.
Locals and tourists come to enjoy the food and desserts. Children friendly. Close to the lower part of cuty, ie port, biat trips to Evia, Thonon, and close to main station by metro.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Silvio666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Overall, this is a decent 4* hotel in a fantastic location in Lausanne (in Ouchy right across the lake), but not without a few hiccups:

• Room was not ready upon arrival.

• Major mishap with laundry services, resulting in an uncleaned shirt being ironed and a clean one being washed (instead of the opposite). Reception was apologetic about this but with no further action (and I was still charged for the service!).

• Random upgrade policy. My colleague and I both booked from the same website with the same conditions, etc…But he got a free upgrade while I didn’t. Reception waffled quite a bit to justify this.

• Quite a bit of interns manning the reception desk, often resulting in blank stares and inability to answer questions.

• Breafkast is overpriced (though this is a common thing at Swiss hotels). Even the staff recommended to eat outside instead!

Despite these downsides, I would still recommend this hotel. It’s in a great location, the rooms are very nice (both the older and more modern business rooms) and the staff are generally friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paradectral A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is an efficient and professionally run business hotel. Its not a hotel for families. The young barman from Mauritius was friendly and helpful and gave us lots of local information. Drinks and food were expensive but this is Switzerland and the cost of living is high.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was great hotel. The rooms are lovely, very modern and well thought out. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. They have a great gym with lots of up to date equipment. They have 3 restaurants, I only ate in one for lunch le Jardin but the food and service was exceptional. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a business room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is excellent. We had a great deal for a lake view room, which is well worth having, and on arrival we got a room upgrade as well to a higher floor. The view across the lake and surrounding mountains was an absolute pleasure to take in. The hotel has a main road running in between it and the lake but we heard no road noise from our room.

The hotel is in Ouchy which is the area on the lakefront. A free travelcard is provided by the hotel which is valid for free trips on local public transport. The Metro is only about 75 Metres away from the front door of the hotel and runs regularly up and down the hill from the fronts up into the city centre/railway station/old town areas. We used this regularly and it was a safe and efficient way of getting around. There is also a nice supermarket on the corner which was reasonably priced. If you just fancied a walk along the lakeside then there are paths and cycle ways running in both directions for you to enjoy. There was also an Olympics themed walk in the sports park to follow which was interesting.
As a Moevenpick hotel it obviously served their brand of ice cream in the terrace bar, a lovely treat to end each day. We never ate from the restaurant so cannot comment on that but there were 2 on the premises which appeared very popular. My only little problem i had with my stay was the length of time it could take to get service on the terrace bar. It was busy but a couple of extra staff wouldn't have gone a miss in the evening. All staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful and i would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Nicely located with parking under the building which is useful. Good for business, although wifi isn't free, room quality is nice although rooms aren't particularly big. Nice all round hotel though and will stay there again for business.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
0.3 mi away
Beau-Rivage Palace
Beau-Rivage Palace
#1 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.2 mi away
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
Le Chateau d'Ouchy
#10 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Property: Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing