We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel in Ouchy (Lausanne) with great view over Lake Geneva”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights while touring Switzerland and it works as a perfect geographic mid-point along the shores of Lake Geneva, with Montreux and Vevey to the east and Geneva at the far west end of the lake. Although this hotel is not right in the middle of Lausanne, this section (Ouchy) of Lausanne is a refreshnig alternative and only 10 minutes away from the main train station (Lausanne Gare) via the metro that runs 4 stops down the steep hill ending in Ouchy and a 2 block walk to the hotel. The hotel itself is extremely clean, modern (somewhat sterile, but nicely done), and while frequented by business people (due to the size of the hotel and its availability of conference rooms, they host many meetings) it's still a very suitable place for vacationers. The front desk was very accommodating and as an alternative to paying 15 CHF per day for their wi-fi, a computer/printer are located directly behind the front desk area free of charge to visitors (room is secured with lock accessed by your room key). Note that breakfast is an additional cost added on to your room and VERY EXPENSIVE, however, there are several shops up past the Ouchy metro station where you can pick up a light breakfast to go for approximately 7 CHF and eat it in the park near the ferry piers for a perfect backdrop and way to start your day. I highly recommend paying a little extra and upgrading to a room with a lake view if you plan on being here for longer than 1 night. Many great restaurants await you up the hill in the city center of Lausanne near the Cathedral. At check in, the front desk will provide each member in your party with a complimentary local transportation card to be used for the duration of your stay. Although on the main street, traffic is heavy in the late afternoon until around 7PM, then steady until about 10PM, then extremely quiet after (and this is with the windows open).

Room Tip: Request a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BriSwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,292 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is based with an extraodinary view of the lake and harbor of Laussane.
Not really in the center, but the train and metro is free, so no worries.

Rooms are ok, Not very big, but ok.
The mini bar is really mini..nothing special there. it's clean, and quite.
The breakfast is good, lot's of choice so a very good choice for an acceptable price

The only downfall is the parking, you need to park across the street in a parking, which will cost you around 15 SFR for a night

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingBizzMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The good:
* Beautiful view out over the marina and lake towards the mountains
* Close to Ouchy area which is a beautiful area along the lake front
* Breakfast provided a large choice of good quality produce

The bad:
* Expensive, given the quality of the room
* Room wasn't made up on the first day until we called housekeeping
* Were given the wrong room size
* Wifi is not free

Overall:
I wouldn't highly recommend this hotel. They could do quite a bit to improve the guest experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

A short walking distance from metro Ouchy station.We arrived after 10am on a Saturday and front desk staff called housekeeping to check room availability and we were told that our room would be ready by 12noon, a pleasant surprise! Given that usual check in times are 2pm.Front desk staff also gave us free passes that entitles us to free rides on the metro and buses for our 2 days, 1 night stay in Lausanne. For the record, Swiss Pass does not include free metro n bus rides in Lausanne.Upon check in, we discovered that there the room set up was for twin sharing instead of triple sharing as agreed, a quick call to housekeeping solved the problem, the runner quickly brought another set of pillow and bath towels.Very efficient and friendly :) We had a lake view room and it was worth it, the view of the Lake in the day and night are both breathtaking.Would recommend it to fellow travellers!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizzieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Our family stayed at the Movenpick on a Saturday night in late May and were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff. We only speak English and were concered about finding attractions in the Lausanne/Ouchy area. Everyone at the front desk went out of their way to help with directions and even helped me print something at the front desk when the business center was down.

The location is amazing(right across from the lake and beach area) and very close to the local metro/subway station.

Finally- don't leave without having the Movenpick ice cream. The best ever and worth going back !

thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Formans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

the hotel has convenient location, near the metro. the rooms are modern and big. the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monana66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Very Good location, near Ouchy Station. Beautiful view of lac leman from the room.

Only thing I didn't like: they charge for the wi-fi internet access in the hotel (CH 18.00 for 24 hours). All the other hotels that we stayed in Switzerland had free wi-fi!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Polianasdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Chateau d'Ouchy
Chateau d'Ouchy
#7 of 45 in Lausanne
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
2.8 mi away
Starling Hotel Lausanne
Starling Hotel Lausanne
#1 of 4 in Saint Sulpice
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Lausanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Lausanne

Address: avenue de Rhodanie 4, Lausanne 1007, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#5 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range: $152 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Lausanne 4*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Léman, with astonishing views over the Alps, the Mövenpick Hotel Lausanne is the perfect place to stay while on business or for a vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Lausanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lausanne Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing