We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“James Joyce's hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Paix
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,647 helpful votes
“James Joyce's hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

When James Joyce was in Lausanne he stayed at the Hotel de la Paix, so I dropped in for a coffee and a look. It's all changed inside since Joyce's day, of course (the outside looks much the same), but I wasn't disappointed. Friendly, relaxed people, and it's conveniently placed for Place Saint Francois, where Gibbon lived, and trams down to Ouchy and the lake, where Lord Byron and Shelley went sailing. The coffee was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    144
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
32
87
20
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
474 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The "hôtel de la Paix" is a four stars hotel located in the centre of Lausanne. The good think is the location centralized. Service and welcome is warm, room are ok and prices reasonable. WIFI is free into the room and inside the hotel. In the Room, LCD TV (125 channels approx.with all the major international channels), tee and coffee available with hot water if needed. Toilet are clean and no negative points found for this part. Good hotel for business except that don't choose this one (explained below)

The area for improvement :
- Main improvements are the entertainment and amneties
- No fitness
- No indoor or outside pool
- No spa
- Breakfast choices are small (only egg, bacon and saucisse are items proposed hot), 3-4 choices of bread including croissant, some Yogurts, cheese, ham and cereals. That's all.
- Same point for in room dining (12 propostions at all with some sandwiches included).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lugano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This luxurious but affordable hotel is in THE best Lausanne location just off of Place St. Francois, close to shopping with a beautiful view over Lac Leman. Great overall. Superb breakfast buffet. Comfy beds.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
188 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good location
Excellent view , especially with balcon rooms
But
Non friendly staff on the front office especially on the night shift
Very poor breakfast
My room is too small
Lack of the health club or spa

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maenaddassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Make sure you get a view on the Lake.
The hotel is OK, good standard.
The breakfast is fantastic, excellent Swiss cheese selection, nice bread, nice ham's everything was delicious about it.
They serve good coffee at the buffet as well.

The service was friendly, un-pack your car in front of hotel before you go to the underground parking otherwise you will end up carrying your luggage on narrow stares.

We received complimentary bus tickets to travel around the city, that was very nice.
I will probably never stay in this hotel again but I honestly recommend it for 1 night :)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Lake View The other side is just a view on another building very dark and sad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is a very good hotel in the center of Lausanne, I stayed very short and the weather condition didn't allow to enjoy in panoramic view described by other reviewers. However, the hotel suited all of my needs: central city location with fast access to all points of my interest, good Internet access (included in the cost of room), clean, nicely decorated, etc. I am jealous of all reviewers who described spacious rooms, as it seems to be a case for double rooms. I took a single room which was very modest (but with a small balcony), actually I didn't need more for such short staying. The bathroom is also small. The breakfast is included in the room price, what is a such pleasant surprise, because in most Swiss hotels you will pay over 30 CHF for a very simple breakfast. The room cost is very convinient for such hotel in Switzerland. Other reviewers have already wrote that it's close to the train station but not so close to walk, basically you can take tram No 1 (3 stations) or metro (2 stations) to avoid steep streets. The staff is very kind, they even printed out my boarding pass without any cost for the service. There are excellent shops near the hotel and there is so much to visit in Lausanne or you can perform dayly excursions to other Swiss cities or even in France and Italy. If you are there just a simple visitor and don't look for spa treatments, this hotel is the best place to stay in Lausanne.

Room Tip: Choose a room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012 for a few days. Our room was so spacious with panoramic views. The rooms were of art deco style with high ceilings and great big windows many of which opened out onto a balcony. The bathroom was long with separate bath and shower facility. The flat screen TV had numberous channels in many languages so we didn't struggle to find something to watch in our language. The bar behind reception was small but cosy and served both drinks and food. The breakfast was small but adequate and mainly consisted of cold foods as only 4 hot choices. No leisure facilities in the hotel.
The hotel is surrounded by shops and restaurants from top end retailers like Louis Vuitton to lower end like McDonalds fast food resturant. The hotel provides a pass free of charge to use the Trams and buses which is needed as the hotel is based on a hill. Lake Geneva and the train station to get to Geneva itself is within walking distance although easy when going down hill and not recommended when trying to come back up so use the free pass.

Room Tip: Ask for a high corner room to experience the great panoramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.5 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Voyageurs
Hotel Des Voyageurs
#5 of 46 in Lausanne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angleterre & Residence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Royal Savoy Lausanne
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental Lausanne
Hotel Continental Lausanne
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Paix

Property: Hotel de la Paix
Address: avenue Benjamin- Constant 5 Av, Lausanne 1003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lausanne
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de la Paix 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Downtown Hotel in impressive seven-story, old-world building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Lausanne
Best Western Lausanne
Lausanne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing