We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheated”

OBEIRUT Lebanese Cuisine
Reserve with
OBEIRUT Lebanese Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 675 Restaurants in Lausanne
Price range: $32 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A few steps away from the Opera and the Lausanne Palace & Spa – OBEIRUT LEBANESE CUISINE restaurant and catering in a cozy and contemporary decor – a traditional and authentic Lebanese cuisine full of taste and colors - alongside the restaurant a large terrace mixes the style with the lounge and the dinning sidethe « traiteur » another space - to eat on the spot - take away the catered dishes or arrange your private parties
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheated”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The food was really good, but then they cheated us with the bill. There was simply too much on the bill. Finally we payed CHF 85 per person for a mixture of starters and 2-3 drinks per person. Very disappointing!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Propriétaire at OBEIRUT Lebanese Cuisine, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
First of all I would like to apologies personally about the end of your evening.

However, no need to be injurious and impolite saying you were ripped off or that we cheated on you... it was just a misunderstanding between you and the waiter.

I understand it did not end up as you expected even thought food and service was great until the bill arrived !

You THOUGHT the apperitif was offered and it was not !!! period !

I don't think you came to Obeirut Lebanese Cuisine because you thought we might offer you a drink ! did you !

As a Lebanese fellow and owner of that restaurant I want every costumer to experience a unique and pleasant Lebanese food AND HOSPITALITY !

PS: 6 comments for the same diner... you guys were 17, ... 11 more to go ! ! !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    69
    46
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very expensive and poor service, food was good though”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were eating with a big group and had made an agreement on a set price (which was definitely on the high side considering the amount of food we got) including one drink for free. However at receiving the bill the free drink was not included anymore, and the number of drinks that were on the bill was too high. When trying to discuss this with the owner his behavior went immediately very aggressive and rude and he even said that if we kept insisting he would take the cost of the drinks out of the salary of the waiter. Very disappointing ending of this dinner which left a nasty aftertaste.... I can't recommend this restaurant for a pleasant evening

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Floor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Propriétaire at OBEIRUT Lebanese Cuisine, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
First of all I would like to apologies personally about the end of your evening.

However, no need to be injurious and impolite saying you were ripped off or that we cheated on you... it was just a misunderstanding between you and the waiter.

I understand it did not end up as you expected even thought food and service was great until the bill arrived !

You THOUGHT the apperitif was offered and it was not !!! period !

I don't think you came to Obeirut Lebanese Cuisine because you thought we might offer you a drink ! did you !

As a Lebanese fellow and owner of that restaurant I want every costumer to experience a unique and pleasant Lebanese food AND HOSPITALITY !

PS: 6 comments for the same diner... you guys were 17, ... 11 more to go ! ! !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but getting screwed ruined the experience”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We went to the restaurant with high hopes for food and were not disappointed there.

What happened was that we cut a deal with the owner for our large team (17 people) for food and drinks. What happened that we did not get what we bargained for. Promised free one drink for all appeared on the final bill despite what we agreed. Bill also contained an inflated amount of beers on it - our internal calculation was around 35 beers, but the bill contained 47. To magnify this wrongdoing the owner pulled the age-old guilt trick of "waiter did not have authority to offer you drinks and he will pay for them from his own pay".

To add to the insult our group was accused of being thieves and crooks and police needs to be called in to sort the situation out - a freudian slip perhaps ....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jykas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not nice being ripped off...”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We came as a group, and were given a (presumably) good deal for going with a set meny. The food was good, the service was ok. We even commented on that the manager was doing a good job, turned out we were oh-so wrong...

When the bill came, they had added a lot of more beers than we ever got served, and they went back on their original offer that included a first-beer-for free. The manager behaved in a most appaling way when confronted with our complaint about the bill. He actually said to the poor waiter that HE had to pay for the beers inmentioned. His behaviour is one of the most unprofessional behaviours I have ever witnessed, in any business.

Being ripped off is not a good feeling - and I would strongly advise against visiting this restaurant. 58 CHF for starters and two beers (who are 9 CHF a piece!), is just unbelievable.

So my TripAdvise is: Stay away from this place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Stoney28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Gérant at OBEIRUT Lebanese Cuisine, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
First of all I would like to apologies personally about the end of your evening.

However, no need to be injurious and impolite saying you were ripped off or that we cheated on you... it was just a misunderstanding between you and the waiter.

I understand it did not end up as you expected even thought food and service was great until the bill arrived !

You THOUGHT the apperitif was offered and it was not !!! period !

I don't think you came to Obeirut Lebanese Cuisine because you thought we might offer you a drink ! did you !

As a Lebanese fellow and owner of that restaurant I want every costumer to experience a unique and pleasant Lebanese food AND HOSPITALITY !

PS: 6 comments for the same diner... you guys were 17, ... 11 more to go ! ! !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“They will be cheating on the bill”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Coming here was initially pleasant, however in the end the bill showed food and drinks not ordered and prices different from agreement.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos M, Propriétaire at OBEIRUT Lebanese Cuisine, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
First of all I would like to apologies personally about the end of your evening.

However, no need to be injurious and impolite saying you were ripped off or that we cheated on you... it was just a misunderstanding between you and the waiter.

I understand it did not end up as you expected even thought food and service was great until the bill arrived !

You THOUGHT the apperitif was offered and it was not !!! period !

I don't think you came to Obeirut Lebanese Cuisine because you thought we might offer you a drink ! did you !

As a Lebanese fellow and owner of that restaurant I want every costumer to experience a unique and pleasant Lebanese food AND HOSPITALITY !

PS: 6 comments for the same diner... you guys were 17, ... 11 more to go ! ! !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OBEIRUT Lebanese Cuisine also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to OBEIRUT Lebanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing