We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Suisse Steam paddle boat.

La Suisse Steam paddle boat.
Ranked #6 of 79 things to do in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Western Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This wonderful vintage paddle steamer has been beautifully restored. .
My wife and I took a return trip from Ouchy to Montreaux. We disembarked at Montreaux & boarded again on the vessels return from further round the lake. On the return we upgraded to first class which enabled access to the upper deck lounge, restaurant, bar and open deck areas fore and aft.
A trip on La Suisse is a fabulous way to enjoy a voyage on a paddle steamer while relaxing and taking in the beautiful scenery that Lake Geneva has to offer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    50
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We went from Nyon to Montreaux. The cruise was great, but the food was better. Spend the extra and go first class. That way you get to eat in the beautiful dining room and have a wonderful lunch. I had a venison stew that was fabulous. Service was great, too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Personnelente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

It's hard to believe or be so lucky that i go to work in Lausanne on this fantastic boat.
The boat was restored recently and look great.
I think its a diesel fired? paddle steamer. Anyway it runs on steam. You can get a great view of the huge engine's that power the paddles from inside. Its almost hypnotizing. Looking forward to the next few weeks worth of trips!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A touch of nostalgia and amazing scenery.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Spend a couple of hours in times past, this wonderful old paddle steamer hints back to a less frantic, more relaxed way of travel. The bar is beautifully fitted out with gleaming wood panelling. The big engines are open for everyone interested to see the huge beams and pistons driving the paddles. As we were travelling second class we ate in the bar and had some lovely baguettes and Swiss beer served by a most friendly waitress, whilst we watched the amazing scenery glide past.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 0lympus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great round trip on lake Geneva”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We took a three hour trip from Lausanne to Montreaux, Chateau de Chillon, Vevey and more. A very relaxing and rewarding trip sailing by beautiful vineyards on terraces and small villages. We paid SFr. 20 each extra for first class but think I would have preferred second class. The 100 year old steam engine was very interesting to see. We will do more sightseeing on this beautiful lake.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisRaleigh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Suisse Steam paddle boat. also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to La Suisse Steam paddle boat.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing