We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place in Lausanne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ibis Lausanne Centre
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hlucin, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A decent place in Lausanne”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Ibis Lausanne Centre is one of the cheaper options near the center of the city (still bit pricey compared to international standards as the rest properties in Lausanne). It is a clean modern hotel. The room I stayed in was spacious and nice. The hotel offers free wi-fi and you get public transport pass upon check-in (don't Iose it, I did get checked in Lausanne-Flon!). The staff at front desk and room service were friendly and helpful.

The location is very good - you can easily walk to the old town (starts steps away from the front door) and Place de la Riponne where you can hop on metro to Ouchy. Lausanne Flon metro station is also very close. I would not say the hotel is walking distance from Lausanne Train station though. It is not far away, but you have to climb up a hill and in case you don't know the exact location, you might wander around for a while. I did not enjoyed that dragging the luggage with me. Better take a taxi or bus (stations St. Roch and Bel-Air are close).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    632
    188
    28
    9
See reviews for
219
410
132
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were on our way to our sking holidays in Italy and we did a one night stop at the Ibis Lausanne which was super convenient, especially the parking access which you can enter directly before your check-in. Good value of 12€ for a day. After a long trip of 7 hours, this is just perfect!
Ideal location to get back on the high way the day after.
Room where rather big and clean but basic equipment.
OK friendly staff, nothing exceptional though. Just the kind of service you would expect in a decent hotel.
I would recommend it for a stop of 1 or 2 nights for leisure or even more for a business trip. It is convenient but not a charming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Julie_poutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a tough hotel to review. There are some great strengths here: cleanliness, the relatively reasonable room rates (for Switzerland), nice modern lobby, friendly and hard working multilingual staff, and a location close to Lausanne's Old Town (albeit the less desirable western edge of it), Flon,, and the metro to Ouchy (beach). However, there were a number of annoying little nits that left us scratching our heads because they seemed so unnecessary and out of place for this property otherwise. Those included: air conditioning with buttons you could push to feel better but which did nothing to actually alter the temperature of the room, no box of kleenex in the room, no alarm clock or clock of any kind, only 1 electrical outlet, no facecloths (not just this hotel), no mini-bar fridge, and only 1 english-language channel on TV (in Zurich our mid-range hotel featured 10-20 English channels!). Worst of all was the fact that at some point during each day of our 3-day stay, the bathroom started to fill with cigarette smoke that then drifted into the rest of the room. I complained to front desk staff, but this did not help as they appeared to be at a loss as to the cause. On our second night the cigarette smoke entering the room was strong enough that it actually woke me from a sound sleep. Whatever the cause, it was unfortunate. Would I stay here again? Possibly. But for next time I have my eye on a couple of affordable and well-reviewed properties down at Ouchy. The metro back up to old town is free and only 5 mins long. Remember to ask for your free metro passes and internet cards at check-in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISLAUSANNE, General Manager at ibis Lausanne Centre, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Lausanne Centre.

I very much appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, the friendly and hard working staff and the great location of the hotel. Of course I will share your comments with my team.

Regarding the annoying little nits you underlined, I can explain you the followings points.

The air-conditionning does not do fresh air during the winter but only heating. As it does not do any heating during the summer but only fresh air.

You have the possibility of using the telephone and the TV for the alarm clock in your room. And of course, you can also ask the reception to call you in your room for the wake up call in the morning.

The Ibis hotels does effectively not have any box of kleenex, neither facecloths or mini-bar fridge as we are 2 stars hotels. But you will for sure find this kind of services in the Novotel Lausanne Bussigny (7 km for the city center).

About the cigarette smoke in the bathroom, you are perfectly right to tell that it is not normal.

Would you please be so kind as to send me an e-mail with your room number and the dates you staid in the hotel ? (H6772-GM@accor.com)

Please rest assured that we will take the appreciate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurence. We will check with the rooms nearby, of the top and bottom to resolve the problem.

Waiting for your answer, I appreciate your concerns, and it is my hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Stéphanie Abel
Hotel Ibis Lausanne centre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is exactly what you expect if you have stayed in an Ibis property before. The room was clean, fairly modern and functional - it served the purpose of a good place to stay that won't break the bank (pretty much everything else in Switzerland will). The downsides to our particular room were an extremely ineffective air conditioning unit (a very small puff of air rather than anything to keep the room cool) and laminate flooring, which in itself is not a problem, it's when the people in the room above you want to walk around with shoes on that you can hear every footstep. This seems to be a feature of modern hotels and I suppose could be avoided if you take earplugs with you. The hotel provide free wi-fi, which is great - you get a code for each of your devices, the receptionist was happy to give us three for all our bits, the downside as we discovered when we wanted to charge anything up is that the only plug socket in the room only accepts Swiss plugs - these are not the same as european standard plugs, so be prepared for that. To be fair in the hotel amenities guide it does say they have a place you can buy an adaptor for.
Breakfast is basic continental fare, nothing special, but enough to get you going.
Location is a five minute walk into the centre, so it's great for a short trip. there are bus routes and metro stops also nearby. Stay here if you want somewhere convenient and aren't planning on being in the hotel that long.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lewis_the_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBISLAUSANNE, General Manager at ibis Lausanne Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your comments and appreciate that you took the time to wright your opinion about the hote Ibis Lausanne centre.

We will for sure ask our technical man to check the air-conditionning in your room.

About the laminate flooring, the Ibis hotels did the choice to put this kind of floor in the rooms for reasons of hygiene. It might appears that you hear the people walking in the room above yours, but the cleanliness is for sure guaranteed.

Your are right to notice that in Switzerland we do not have the same plugs as european standard. So I effectively recommand all our future guests to be aware of this difference. But as you noticed it, we have some adaptators that guests can buy at the hotel, in case they forgot to take one.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Stéphanie Abel
Hotel Ibis Lausanne centre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

the hotel is 5 minutes away from the Flon area. So if you are going out in Lausanne in the club area, go sleep at Ibis: it is a way better option than going home by car or by train. the rooms are very affordable and they can provide you with late check out and early breakfast (although it was refused to us when we arrived at 5,30 in the morning). The room is clean and comfortable. there is also a parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlerital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is simple & basic. It has what you need, is warm, with a nice big bed & good clean bathroom. The wifi is free & available in your room, which is good. Breakfast was not included & was 15AUD extra, so we didn't get it (preferred to get some local patisseries & coffee down the road).

It is very well located, just a short bus ride to the city centre or even a 5-10 minute walk. You get a free city public transport card.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for just the one night en-route through Switzerland and it's alright for that sort of purpose. Would stay somewhere else though if staying in the city for longer. It's quite far from the main railway station, though there are buses running by the hotel. Didn't take the breakfast option as quite expensive. Both lifts weren't working when I stayed, which was a bit shocking (for a Swiss hotel)!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lausanne hotels
0.7 mi away
Agora Swiss Night by Fassbind
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Marche
Hotel du Marche
#12 of 46 in Lausanne
310 reviews
3.4 mi away
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
ibis budget Lausanne Bussigny
#2 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
ibis Lausanne Crissier
ibis Lausanne Crissier
#1 of 2 in Crissier
423 reviews
3.8 mi away
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
Novotel Lausanne Bussigny
#1 of 3 in Bussigny-pres-Lausanne
829 reviews
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Lausanne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Lausanne Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Lausanne Centre

Property: ibis Lausanne Centre
Address: rue du Maupas 20, Lausanne 1004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Lausanne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lausanne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lausanne
#4 Green Hotel in Lausanne
#6 Business Hotel in Lausanne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Lausanne Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Lausanne Centre is 100% non-smoking and is located in the city center just 20 minutes' walk and 5 minutes by bus (no. 3 or 21, St Roch stop) from the CFF train station. The old town, Lake Geneva and the Olympic Museum are 1.9 miles (3 km) away. The hotel has 127 modern, soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms, a 24-hour bar for a spot of relaxation and an undercover private car park with 32 spaces (surcharge, non-reservable). Guests can enjoy free public transport and WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your ibis Lausanne Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Lausanne Centre Hotel Lausanne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing