We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and food good”
Review of Cafe du Simplon

Cafe du Simplon
Ranked #419 of 697 Restaurants in Lausanne
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“friendly and food good”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This great little restaurant is just below the station in Lausanne. The friendly owner makes everyone feel at home and the simple terrace is always full when the weather is good. Really easy to meet other diners or people having an aperitif - seems to me it only attracts interesting, friendly people! The food is always great and not expensive for the quality. There are various salads, Mediterranean dishes, good, tasty steaks, roast beef, vegetarian dishes and Tunisian tagines. The wines are well chosen too.
Everyone I met there was a regular, frequenting this popular restaurant sometimes as often as several times a week. Best to visit on a warm evening but book your table first!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacque1b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    44
    7
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yamba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real find!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staggered by the high prices of less than exceptional food in Lausanne. Stumbled upon this little gem and we are very sorry that we hadn't discovered it earlier in our holiday. Great service, crowded with locals and delicious food. We ordered two tagines; vegetarian and chicken with wine to accompany the meal. Hearty portions with excellent flavours and great value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farmgirl448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mediterranean food”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nice, simple but well done, and reasonably priced. Great atmosphere, and the waitstaff was very helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Salads”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The location might not appeal at first, but it is a very cute little corner, and they serve very tasty food and offer a good variety of dishes. The staff is friendly and very easy going. Salads I've tried vere good and the service was fast too. I still have to go back and try the tajine!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cristy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“incontournable, wish I could keep it for me”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

as the name says "simplon" in french "simple".
SImple but tasty, service OK, good menu, lots of newspapers, lovely deco. Very nice owner.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank d r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Simplon also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Cafe du Simplon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing