We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional sushi oriented, cozy, classic, and great”

Miyako Lausanne at Beau-Rivage Palace
Reserve with
Miyako Lausanne at Beau-Rivage Palace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 697 Restaurants in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $114
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Miyako serves traditional Japanese cuisine with sushi, sashimi and Teppan-Yaki prepared to order. A contemporary setting opening onto a beautiful terrace facing the lake.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Traditional sushi oriented, cozy, classic, and great”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Took my parent with my Husband, very pricey, under the hotel, no view, but comfortable and cozy little nook that feels appropriate to the cuisine. Classically sushi oriented, no bizzaro rolls, just clean, fresh, deliciously unassuming sushi. Not for kids so much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea0882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    37
    17
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Providenciales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Real Japanese”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

As a Japanese food super fan, this place came as a big surprise compared to what one can find in Europe in general. High standard, somewhat innovative japanese food. Service good. Price is an issue though. You could have the same level of value for 60-70% the price in San Francisco, São Paulo or Tokyo. But then, you are in Europe and, more precisely in Switzerland, so overprice is expected. Go for it if you want a super nice dinner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fcluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Hype”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've spent the last three months in Lausanne, averaging 4 days a week, so i've seen pretty much every decent [in sometimes indecent] restaurant within city limits. I love sushi, and sadly there are only a handful of sushi bars in town. This one, despite its posh location, is not the best one [Myo is the best...i've reviewed that one as well!].

We were told by our concierge at Chateau d'Ouchy hotel that it was difficult to get a reservation at Miyako...and they actually couldn't secure one for us. However, I called the restaurant directly and they had a table for us at 8pm on a Friday night, last minute. Hm. That was lucky.

We walked over to Beau Rivage and were seated immediately. The restaurant was very small, and decorated simply and in a somewhat austere style. It felt authentic, and we were getting excited for the food.

We sat at the table for twenty-six minuted before anyone even came over to acknowledge that we were there. No water, no menus, nothing. The waiter was cleaning dirty tables right next to us, and didn't even make eye contact. There were empty tables all over, and it was not very busy...It was astonishing. And I was really thirsty.

Menus eventually came, and we ordered a big mix of things. The sushi was good, but not life-changing. It tasted no fresher or more inventive than your average sushi bar...for three times the price.

The people next to us brought their Boston Terrier to dinner, and he sat on his own chair and was fed sushi and edamame off of his owner's chopsticks. Gross.

Go to Myo instead. Or Sushi Zen in the Palace hotel. Both are superior and have much better service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natashathefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaurivagepalace, Manager at Miyako Lausanne at Beau-Rivage Palace, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear NatashaMarkovich,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your last experience at the Miyako didn’t fulfil your expectations. We took good note of your remarks and discussed them internally. A high service standard is very important for us.
We hope that this one time experience won’t stop you from eating at the Miyako Lausanne where you are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

After a couple of weeks in Italy, one yearns for good food. Lausanne gave us the opportunity to eat Japanese again. Miyako is an excellent choice. Linked to Beau-Rivage Palace, it's quality was probably always likely. It also delivered. Importantly, the service was delightfully friendly. We matched a local rosé, with a great maki, sushi and sashimi boat. Lunch was wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best sushis + Best Service I've experienced”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Room for 24 persons or so. 3 waiters/waitresses and 2 cooks. Intimate and classy. Excellent and fresh food, prepared in a small open kitchen just in front of you. 5* service all the way, perfect execution. Yes it is expensive but it is good value for money.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salsa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyako Lausanne at Beau-Rivage Palace also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Miyako Lausanne at Beau-Rivage Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing