We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food with a personal touch.”
Review of Cafe du Grutli

Cafe du Grutli
Ranked #133 of 696 Restaurants in Lausanne
Cuisines: Swiss
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Omaha
1 review
“Fantastic food with a personal touch.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I spent a week in Lausanne for a conference and dined at Grutli four times with different colleagues. I tried a different dish each night and every meal was perfect. The staff were incredibly friendly and the owners treated us like old friends. The staff speaks excellent English for which I was very grateful when it came time to discuss some severe nut allergies.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Macro8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    91
    23
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helena, California
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fonda Fondue!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were on a three-day visit to Lausanne and feeling the need for some authentic Swiss fare without the tourist hoopla. We enjoyed a delightful meal in this cozy restaurant with its smiling staff and scarily good cheese fondue. It was definitely a two Lipitor kind of feast as we dipped our bread chunks into the pot of delicious melted cholesterol. We were informed the recipe changes with the season and features the freshest cheeses. Ours had a combination of Emmentaler and Vacherin cheese, white wine, kirsch, garlic and probably one or two additional secret ingredients. Since that was the starter, we did our best to compensate by ordering fish for the main course. Then, because we were in Switzerland, we indulged ourselves with huge chocolate desserts. I’m mystified why the life span there isn’t somewhere around 30.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“2nd fondue of the winter for us but 1st in taste!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I are huge fans of fondue, therefore we tried a lot of different restaurants in the Vaud/Geneva area. We had tried café du Grutli years ago and to be honest did not really remember how it was, maybe a bit touristy.
1st thing I liked, when I booked a table I said it would be to eat fondue and they remembered it when we arrived. Then we really appreciated the service, very friendly but professional at the same time.
We had viande séchée as a starter, it was really delicious, very very thin slices of meat, just perfect. Sometimes I prefer not to order viande séchée as a starter because I'm scared it's gonna be out of the fridge and tasteless but here it was just brilliant.
My wife doesn't like white wine so we had some red to go with fondue, I know it is a sin, but I like the fact that the waiter didn't say anything about it :-)
When the fondue came we were silent for half a minute, simply enjoying the cheese. I thought the foundue was tastier than usual, maybe a stronger or older gruyère I don't know, but it was so enjoyable!
Again great service, the restaurant was very busy but still they were taking very good care of us. The "cherry on the cake" was they had moit-moit, which is like apricot or pear schnapps to have after the fondue.
They made our day, possibly our weekend :-)
loved it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank team_beezoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Suisse”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I truly enjoyed my dinner here with friends and family from Switzerland. The cheese fondue is as authentic as it gets and luckily we had a good selection of wine from Valais that was pouring quite well. I opted to forego the "game" on offer as the hunting season is on....maybe next time! Owner shows great care and attention to patrons. That's a plus in my books! Excellent location. Must try!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank almondjavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real Swiss meal”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked a table expecting a Reclet meal and we got an excelent experience , it was the first time that we had a Reclet in a restaurant , it was outstanding , including the very good service and the cheese Reclet

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaimitoJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Grutli also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Cafe du Grutli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing