We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local place - world class meat”
Review of Petit Boeuf

Petit Boeuf
Reserve with
Petit Boeuf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 697 Restaurants in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $95
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bjarred, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local place - world class meat”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very lively, almost noisy place and a touch of old or simplicity if you look at the decor. We came 4 people with no expectations for a simple dinner. Now after reading other reviews, I can just agree - the meat was extraordinary. I had the beef filet which was one of the best I have had. Unfortunately on a diet this evening but wine was served to match and the desert which was made on the table for my colleagues smelled and looked awesome! Ok it was pricy but hey, this is Switzerland and I will be back!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    108
    31
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tartar Natacha!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Definitely the best place to eat meat in Lausanne, no doubts about it. Of course I recommend Tartar Natacha, but charbonnade is also great. That is why better be really hungry before entering Petit Boeuf. It is not cheap, but worth it!
One disadvantage: afterwards your clothes smell like after some MacDo without proper ventilation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-the-alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Ok I will start my review with a simple question: Do you want to eat the best Tartare you've ever had?

Because if the answer is yes, then you should go to the Petit Boeuf. This place is more like a brasserie specialized for their meat. Many people go there to eat charbonade but the gold mine is the Tartare.

They have 2 types of Tartare. First if the classic one and the second is called Natasha! And I can tell you that Natasha is fantastic! A beautiful Tartare flambée made in front of you with Vodka and cream.... once you have tasted Natasha, you can't go by!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PepperGrinder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The place to eat meat in Lausanne”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is quit nice overall although thats not why people go there. The meat are very good whatever you choose. Its a little bit expensive but totally worth it. The place is often full so dont forget to reserve before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helpyouchoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The meat is really excellent, worth the (rather) high price”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is the second time I come to this restaurant, and I had confirmation of the really good quality of the meat. Moreover, they are open until midnight, which is not so common in Switzerland. Of course, prices are rather high, but you would expect this everywhere in Switzerland if you want to eat good meat and drink wine. Kind people and good service.
As the meat may be cooked on the grill, directly at the table, this should be taken into account. You'll smell of "grillade" when you go home!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silvia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Boeuf also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Petit Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing