We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to eat meat in Lausanne”
Review of Petit Boeuf

Petit Boeuf
Reserve with
Petit Boeuf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 697 Restaurants in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $95
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The place to eat meat in Lausanne”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is quit nice overall although thats not why people go there. The meat are very good whatever you choose. Its a little bit expensive but totally worth it. The place is often full so dont forget to reserve before.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helpyouchoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    108
    31
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The meat is really excellent, worth the (rather) high price”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is the second time I come to this restaurant, and I had confirmation of the really good quality of the meat. Moreover, they are open until midnight, which is not so common in Switzerland. Of course, prices are rather high, but you would expect this everywhere in Switzerland if you want to eat good meat and drink wine. Kind people and good service.
As the meat may be cooked on the grill, directly at the table, this should be taken into account. You'll smell of "grillade" when you go home!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silvia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsica, France
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tartar natacha, you must try!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

it would be a crime to eat at petit boeuf and not order the Tartare Natacha. Being a big fan of Tartare I am usually quite dubious of "exotic" attempt at Tartare; tHis time, I must say I was just dazzled and I will be back for more next time I am in Switzerland. The place is unpretentious, the staff so "local" and fun if you knwo how to handle them. In a nutshell, a real good time with business friends on great beef and good wine. I won't tell you what the tartare natacha is about better keep the surprise...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks you'll ever have”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I know what you are thinking. The idea of having a good steak in Switzerland doesn't exactly sound right. Unless you pay an arm and a leg of course at a top-starred restaurant. Nevertheless, this is it. If you like good steak, this is what you always had hoped to find in Switzerland - but had given up finding long ago.

We've dined at great steak houses in both Argentina, Australia, and Brazil. Le Petit Boeuf easily matches them - if not in selection (they only do entrecote) - then certainly in quality.

Don't be fooled by neither the unassuming decor of this restaurant nor its location in a unpretentious neighbourhood. It doesn't look like a steakhouse. But mark my word. At this restaurant, you WILL get what you are looking for and at a reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Major_Tom_OverAndOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic beef, average service”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The beef here is fantastic (after all the restaurant has beef in the name)! I highly recommend the option where they put a bbq on your table and you cook small portions to your liking. Nice sauces and the crepe dessert is delicious.

The service is typical for the region, so there is ample room for improvement.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CappuccinoQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petit Boeuf also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Petit Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing