We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old fashioned, big disappointment”
Review of La Pomme de Pin

La Pomme de Pin
Ranked #147 of 693 Restaurants in Lausanne
Price range: $24 - $74
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Apples, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“old fashioned, big disappointment”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We went here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we had received a smart box of our kids. We had reserved a table and when we mentioned that we had a smart box, the waitress took away the menues and told us that we should had announced that at once. We were supposed to get a La pomme de Pin menu but instead we receives a suprise menu...what a surprise. The food was really average and no surprises at all. Service was cold and not really friendly. Most wine on the winelist was sold out, and the rest very expensive and no surprises there either.Someone wrote here that it was a cozy restaurant....not in our opinions.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

My wife and I had an incredible meal at this restaurant recently. If you go, you MUST try the morel cockerel...it's a house specialty and the taste is amazing!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLoveToTravelWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cosy with good service”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

A good restaurant with a Cosy atmosphere and good service. Some good authentic dishes. Pigs trotters seem to be limited on the meat front though tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flowersrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“classic meat place”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Lots of good choices when I was there, and the food didn't exactly sparkle, but it was good and seemed special in the old town.

Helpful?
Thank kgustaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In need of some TLC”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This grand old lady is in need of some new lipstick. Coco Chanel enjoyed the signature dish of cockerel with morilles (mushrooms), potato gallettes and steamed vegetables and so did I. But comforting as the fare may be, the service and surroundings don't quite justify the price tag - the dining room is at the stuffy end of the cosy spectrum, and the service is rather aloof. This is a restaurant (cafe on one side, restaurant on the other) frequented by loyal locals and it does have a certain charm, but some sprucing up is most definitely required. The building blocks for a wonderful experience certainly are there: The setting is absolutely delightful - it's located in a little cobbled lane in the old town, right behind the cathedral. Eating in the same space as Chanel, Chaplin and Churchill also adds a certain cache. But, for my money and based solely on gastronomic credentials, there are for the moment at least several better options to be had in lovely Lausanne. Here's hoping the current owners soon breathe some new life into this old stager of the city's dining scene.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annabrooks22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pomme de Pin also viewed

 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to La Pomme de Pin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing