We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful! Entire place smelled like smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Goldener Schlussel
Ranked #1 of 3 Altdorf B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We were looking for a mid-way point between Germany and Italy and found the Goldener Schlussel. The price seemed right, and the website looked good, so we booked. They were very prompt in their confirmation. I asked for a non-smoking room and they assured me all their rooms were non-smoking.

Except that the rest of the hotel is smoking...parking is in the back and walking through the bar into the reception area was like parting a haze of cigarette smoke. Our room was on the second floor -- the rooms open off a landing, with a table and ashtray in the center. You are not supposed to smoke in the room, but are free to do so in the hallway and landing. The smell came in under the door all night.

Even at 8 am, when we checked out, there were 2 people sitting at the bar and another haze of smoke.

Other than that, the room was basic...basic beds and linens and bathroom. The breakfast was nice -- breads, meats, cheeses, yogurt, fruit.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ashley97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 42 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2005

We stayed at Goldener Schlussel for one night (a friend was getting married and the reception was here; out of town guests and bridal party stayed here).
It was a little bit confusing to find but there is parking in the back of the hotel.
This was a great place!! There are elevators and the front desk personnel were courteous and helpful.
The room was a good size (and there are bigger rooms that we saw) and it was very clean. There were two sinks (one in the room and one in the bathroom) and this made it easier to be getting ready and get going.

The bathroom was a good size and it had great water pressure (we were on the 3rd floor).
It was not expensive and was in a good location (close to restaurants, stores, and the monument of William Tell). There was a safe in the room for valuables.

We didn't have dinner at the restaurant but as I said, the wedding reception was there so it was catered by their chefs. The food was delicious! They did a wonderful job with the reception so I can only imagine that they usually do a great job!
The breakfast was very nice with some good variety of local cheeses and very friendly service.

We will definitely go back to Goldener Schlussel when we go to Altdorf again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laritrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank Ginbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank desmetvuylsteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altdorf
0.1 mi away
Zum Schwarzen Lowen
Zum Schwarzen Lowen
#2 of 2 in Altdorf
23 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#1 of 1 in Attinghausen
22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hostellerie Sternen
Hostellerie Sternen
#2 of 3 in Fluelen
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Fluelerhof
Hotel Fluelerhof
#3 of 3 in Fluelen
22 reviews
8.0 mi away
Seeblick Hohenhotel
Seeblick Hohenhotel
#1 of 1 in Emmetten
204 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Tourist
Hotel Tourist
#1 of 3 in Fluelen
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Goldener Schlussel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Goldener Schlussel

Address: Schuetzengasse 9, Altdorf 6460, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Uri > Altdorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Altdorf
Price Range: $129 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Goldener Schlussel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Goldener Schlussel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Schlussel Altdorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing