We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Hotel Krone Sarnen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Krone Sarnen
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sarnen
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland
213
Reviewed August 15, 2005

Stayed for 3 nights as a family, with a 4 year old. Got the feeling that the management were definately trying hard- staff were very pleasant, room was large, clean and well equiped (though my wife really missed not having a kettle for making our own tea), and the restaurant not bad- the pizza oven works well. Breakfast was very good continental buffet. We had a south facing room with a balcony, able to see the mountains in the Bernese Oberland (when not cloudy!) It's also in the centre of Sarnen, close to the railway station (everything in Switzerland is close to a railway it seems.) Parking is plentiful and free (with a voucher from the Hotel). Good location for traveling north-south across switzerland- and convenient for the area aroud Stockalp, which is really worth seeing!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 77 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2004

Have just returned from a week touring central Switzerland and staying at the Hotel Krone in Sarnen. The hotel is well run, and my room was very good. The food was average to good (we were on a tour group so had set dinners - the a la carte option obviously looked much better). My only complaint is that the hotel is on a fairly noisy road and the traffic noise starts at 5a.m. so I would ask for a room at the rear of the hotel away from the road. The surrounding area is wonderful to explore with beautiful scenery - this part of Switzerland is lovely. Recommended places to see - Grindelwald, Interlaken, Jungfrau, Eiger, Murren, Andermatt, Glacier Express train route/ride, Lucerne and many more.

8  Thank Nooport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2003

I just came back from a week's stay there and I must say, apart from the fact that Sarnen is quite a tranquil area, the hotel was managed in an orderly way that we, a group of 50, were handled without any difficulty in all aspects. We were given a varied menu every day which was modified to suite our maltese cuisine. They even accomodated us with regards to timings to serve us the evening meals to allow us to enjoy our excursions to the full extent without the need to rush to get to the Hotel in time for the dinner. The Hotel is also easily accessible from the Railway station by walk so if one wants to travel on his own, no problem for transportation.

13  Thank Relaxandstaycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank panamerica_dot_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef I, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Sarnen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank ragnagerhardsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef I, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Sarnen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef I, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Sarnen, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres côté montagne devraient être encore plus calmes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cambusius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef I, Inhaber at Hotel Krone Sarnen, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarnen
1.9 mi away
Seehotel Wilerbad
Seehotel Wilerbad
#1 of 4 in Sarnen
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kurhaus am Sarnersee
8.6 mi away
Frutt Lodge & Spa
Frutt Lodge & Spa
#1 of 3 in Melchsee-Frutt
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Jugendstilhotel Hotel Paxmontana
2.1 mi away
Kreuz Sachseln Hotel Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metzgern
Hotel Metzgern
#2 of 4 in Sarnen
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Sarnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Sarnen

Address: Bruenigstrasse 130 | 6060 Sarnen, Sarnen 6060, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Sarnen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sarnen
Price Range: $236 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Krone Sarnen 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern hotel is situated 200 meters from the historic town square. New bathrooms and renovated rooms and junior suites make you feel good. Guests can relax in the wellness area with various attractions and a splendid view of the picturesque Landenberg. The gastronomy offers exciting contrasts between rustic and urban. Besides fresh, regional and seasonal delicacies a wide selection of fine Swiss wines and fruit brandies are offered. The terrace of the Hotel Krone is one of the most popular places of Sarnen and has become the meeting place for locals and guests. Free WiFi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Krone Sarnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing