We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home below the Matterhorn: Great value for...”

Review of Chalet Z'Flesche

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
in the mountains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Zermatt, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
NevillSha...
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home below the Matterhorn: Great value for money, a unique stay, a superb host”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

It was our first trip to Switzerland we wanted to experience staying in a traditional countryside swiss chalet surrounded by scenic mountain slopes and beautiful hamlets. Chalet Z'Flesche was a tailor made option for what we ordered.

This place is situated in hamlet Furi, which is a 1-hour uphill walk from the busy town of Zermatt. Cable car takes 10 mins. The chalet is placed at a tranquil spot in the mountain slopes and is free from any kind of noise or disturbance. The interiors are brilliantly done and the place provides all amenities for a perfect stay - good heating, hot water, a well-equipped kitchen, dining table and really comfortable beds. It is cozy and small, yet very spacious to easily accommodate up to 4 adults.

The best part of the stay is that it takes to the countryside lifestyle where you eat, relax, and play outdoors the whole time. During summer, there are loads of hikes one can pick. during winters, there are ski trails. Furi cable car station is a 10 min walk and from there one could go down to Zermatt or upwards all the way to Matterhorn Glacier Paradise.

Food options: Furi has some amazing restaurants, all within walking reach and then there is another hamlet between Furi and Zermatt. It is called Blatten. The walk from Furi to Blatten is amazing and you pass a lot of local houses and backyards on your way. Besides the restaurant, you could also stack up your supplies from co-op store in Zermatt or just bring along your food from other parts of the country. Having your own food during winter is a must, as the restaurants remain shut from October to May.

About the host: Susanne was our lovely host at Furi. She owns and operates Chalet Z'Flesche. Susanne is very co-operative and helpful, and can be easily reached over the email. I recommend that you get in touch with her directly and prepare your arrival well in advance. Susanne is an avid skier and has stayed in the mountains for long. She is your best point of contact and source of information. Especially if you want to ski. Look out for her website for more details.

Overall, our stay with Chalet Z'Flesche was very special. It took us out of the monotony of staying at hotels in larger and more crowded places. I was really happy that we took the chance and decided to stay in Furi instead of a proper hotel in Zermatt. We were really confused between the luxury of staying in a hotel with secured access to food and comfortable rooms versus the experiment of staying in a remote chalet with no one around us and the chances of weather turning hostile. The risk did pay off. Though the weather was bad for 1-2 days the chalet was our little cozy den where we relaxed and breathed the fresh mountain air.

P.S: Great value for money, a unique stay, a superb host

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2017
Dear Nevill & parents, thank you for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I hope to see you again. All the best and nice greetings from Furi. Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevrbrewe...
Cradley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A great base of relaxation or mountain adventures!”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I stayed here for one week with my teen-aged nephews who both love outdoor activities and it was an ideal base. The chalet is located close to the Furi cable car station (just a few minutes walk along the footpath) making it quick and easy to get to the centre of Zermatt to shop for food or to access different parts of the surrounding mountains, while staying in a beautiful rural location with great mountain views from both the from and the back of the property. (There is no vehicle access to the chalet which adds to the wonderful feeling of really being 'away from it all' - although we only had a large rucksack each as luggage, the owner still met us at the Furi Station and offered to transport our luggage using a type of power-assisted wheelbarrow, and this free service could be very useful to those with more luggage than us). The cosy kitchen / comfortable lounge / dining area are all in one open plan area which resulted in a great social atmosphere. The wood-burning stove made the area particularly homely later in the evening when the temperature started to get cooler. The kitchen itself is small, but well equipped. We stayed for a week and the boys cooked from fresh ingredients every evening and found that we had all the kitchen equipment that we needed. There is also an outdoor gas-grill / barbecue and an outdoor dining area. Downstairs the bedrooms had adequate storage space and comfortable beds. In the small wooden storage building next to the chalet there is a supply of comfortable outdoor chairs and a hammock that can be easily set up for relaxing outdoor and the sunny position of the chalet meant that we could enjoy using these in the evening, but there would also be sun through the day on days when it was sunny! There is a wide range of hiking routes directly from the chalet and from the Furi cable car station. The boys liked the convenience of a lot of options near by for rock climbing (mainly graded 5a and above) and the excellent parcours / trimm dich (a type of 'outdoor gym') in Blatten, just a short (5 minute?) walk down the hill from the chalet. Mountain biking routes are also numerous (and we found that mountain bikes, easily hired by the half day or day in zermatt, are permitted on the trains and cable cars out of Zermatt). If you wanted to eat out in the evening (which we didn't) the choice of restaurants in Furi that open in the evening in the summer is quite limited, although there is a far larger number open during the day for lunch (or even for breakfast). However, after a day of adventures out on the mountains we found the chalet the perfect place to come back to both to cook, to relax and to plan the next day of adventures (helped by the excellent WIFI for checking weather forecasts and accessing any other internet content). Although we had some awesome adventures this chalet would also be ideal if all you wanted to do was arrive and relax. In short a great little chalet amid a mountain paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy, comfortable little chalet with great views.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the week!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
Dear Kevin, thank you for your feedback which gave us a lot of motivation. We've been very pleased to welcome you as our guests. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again in Furi. Susanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sylvie g
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrineu
Neuenburg am Rhein, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine7...
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 14, 2018
Nous sommes très reconnaissants d'accueillir des l'hôtes si amicaux comme vous. Tout le meilleur et nous espérons de vous revoir bientôt.
Susanne et famille
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BugstheBu...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
Liebe J., lieber A., sehr, sehr selten haben wir sooo kleine Gäste im Haus, auf einer doch beachtlichen Höhe von 1'860 MüM. So schön! Es erinnert mich an unsere allerersten Gäste im Chalet Z'Flesche die neun Monate später uns ein Foto schickten ;-) Alles Gute Euch Dreien und bis bald am Furi! Susanne & Familie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paddelwom...
Goettingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2017
Liebe J., herzlichen Dank für deine tolle Rückmeldung. Wir haben auf diesen Winter hin sogar noch Doppelbett und Couch erneuert, damit das Geniessen der Ferien im Chalet Z'Flesche noch schöner wird :-). Alles Gute! Susanne & Familie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing