We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Zum See

Restaurant Zum See
Ranked #7 of 196 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $94
Cuisines: French, Swiss, European, Central European, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is kind of hidden. We went in early as is best without resv. Great service. Great food, great hide away. But this little collective of huts sprang to life as mass amounts of people showed up for lunch. They just kept putting up tables around the yard. Loved the atmosphere, get there early or make a resv. because its a well known hidden gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank winequaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    66
    16
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

As it was our first trip to Zermatt, I had solicited restaurant recommendations from various friends and colleagues and almost without exception, this was the first one mentioned. The location was perfect and also reasonably accessible for my non-skiing wife by footpath. Food was great, the curried prawn noodles in particular hit the spot. Book ahead though !

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BistroLeKelspence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gem in the Village on the mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

if traveling to Zermatt, you must find this restaurant. It is hard to find. it is located between the base of the mountain and the matterhorn express lift to Furri. You ski to the restaurant but you can also hike to it. The food was amazing and the atmosphere superb!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Mountain restaurant in Zermatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had the Lamb which was cooked to perfection, The Apple strudel for desert was great too. The Service was fantastic from all the team. The sun terrace has great views of the Matterhorn and inside the restaurant is small but intimate.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 5hed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Place on the Mountain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Ate there twice last week with friends 10th and 15th March and each time the food was excellent, hearty, different and always really tasty. I don't know how they manage it but 5 minutes after you have ordered the food is there on the table. The kitchen is tiny and is full of chefs. The venison in cream sauce looked great and my friends said it was fantastic. The apple strudel (with custard) is always good although I would prefer mine heated up. When the sun is shining its a sun trap and the surroundings outside are delightful. I have there in previous years and its always been consistently great. We always get our hotel to book a day or so before. Two of our party don't ski so they are able to have a nice walk to the restaurant and the rest arrive on our skis, so easy to get to.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InterestedHuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Zum See also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Zum See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing