We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Light and spacious, near ski lifts”
other travelers have booked this property
Balcony on Matterhorn side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony on Matterhorn side
bedroom 2 (2 x 90cm beds) main double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Balcony on Matterhorn side
bedroom 2 (2 x 90cm beds)
main double bedroom
main bathroom with shower over bath, WC and clothes washer
shower room with WC
living room
living room
living to dining area
kitchen to dining area
kitchen towards dining area
balcony on village side
Gornerwald in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Zermatt, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve M
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Light and spacious, near ski lifts”
Reviewed February 6, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

I was fortunate to find this delightful and well equipped apartment, situated a short walk from the Kline Matterhorn lifts, and a stroll from the village centre. The apartment is very light and airy with a huge balcony, well equipped kitchen, and spacious bedrooms,( a double and a twin) with plenty of cupboard space, so necessary when you have all your winter and ski clothes. We were a party of 3 adults and were “confined to barracks” due to enormous snow fall and a high avalanche risk for the first 3 days, well no skiing or walks open, and only the village deemed safe, so it says a lot about the accommodation that we never felt claustrophobic, probably not doing myself any favours recommending this, as it might be difficult to book next time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Perfectly located and well appointed apartment”
Reviewed January 27, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The location is ideally located to the Klein matterhorn lift, a few minutes walk away. It has fantastic views of the matterhorn and of the village valley due to its double aspect. It is warm and the sofa and beds were comfortable. There is a small washing machine which is a bonus, if you don't want to carry loads of clothing. There is a convenient lift taking you directly to the second floor and a large secure ski locker conveniently located to the front door.
Due to bad weather there were some difficulties getting into sweaty and our host,Anne helpfully arranged taxi to collect us from the train station and even provided some basic provsions. Her knowledge of Zermat t is second to none and will provide you with tips on where to go, things to see and places to eat. All in all a fantastic location, apartment with an extremely helpful and knowledgeable landlady. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2018
It was an exceptional week weather-wise and I'm happy you got in and out of Zermatt and enjoyed the apartment. Thanks for taking the time to review and point out all its advantages. See you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SN1719
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment with fantastic views”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had fantastic holiday in this clean, comfortable and well-equipped apartment. The views from the balcony are sensational especially as we were lucky enough to have great weather. All the booking arrangements were easy. Ann was very helpful and friendly and we really appreciated the wine, pizza and fruit that was waiting for us when we arrived.
The apartment is situated at one end of the village but everything you need is just a short walk away. Thanks Ann for a great stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
I am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Zermatt and in Haus Gornerwald. I really appreciate you taking the time to write this review and am sure it will be helpful to others. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“wonderful vacation experience”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We recently stayed at Ann's apartment for a ski vacation. It was everything we expected and had the added bonus of Ann's advice and recommendations on tickets, groceries, restaurants and even a hotel suggestion for an extended night stay. The apartment was comfortably equipped for the 4 of us, 2 adults and 2 grown sons, to eat and relax together at night. Beds without footboards were great for the tall among us. I would suggest bringing your favorite pillow if you don't like firm.

We opted to eat in for most of our meals as the restaurants in Zermatt are fairly expensive. Grocery stores were convenient at the end of the day to pick up what we wanted. Wi-Fi was a lifesaver for computer and streaming at night. Location is fantastic with easy walk to Matterhorn lift in ski boots (which I don't usually do). Snow amounts were a disappointment and limited skiing but you can't predict that when planning. Easy walk to restaurants, clubs and stores, which we did several times for dinner, nightlife and shopping. Be sure to check out the Matterhorn Museum while your there.

Ann was so easy to work with and promptly responded to my many questions before and during our trip. I would highly recommend this stay in Zermatt. It looks to be a beautiful spot in the summer too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Thank you for your review which is helpful and informative for future guests. I really appreciate you taking the time to submit it and hope to see you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misha R
2 reviews
“Nice quiеt appartment, Convenient location”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Very clean and well-equipped apartment. Two bedrooms well-separated, so guests do not interfere at night. Stove, oven and dishwasher in the kitchen. Lots of stuff you might need, like spices, sugar, coffee, etc were left in the kitchen, so you don't need to worry at least initially.

Washing machine in the bathroom. Magnificent view from the windows. Very close to the main gondola. You can walk there in regular boots, and leave them either in the lockers, or just put on the shelf.

The host, Ann, is amazing. Her advises helped us a lot with logistics, etc. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2017
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, I really appreciate all the very positive comments you have made. Look forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrywes2...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful apartment in a great location with fantastic views.”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Haus Gornerwald is so well equipped that it is a true home-from-home. We stayed during the summer to enjoy the amazing hiking trails that radiate out from Zermatt. However, hiking every day means that there are a lot of clothes to be washed so to have a washing machine in the apartment proved to be a real boon. The kitchen has everything you need to make self-catering a painless experience. For entertainment the apartment has fast WiFi, satellite TV and a very comfortable sofa from which to view it. The icing on the cake has to be the spacious dual aspect balcony – to the south it offers a mesmerising view of the Matterhorn and to the west and north views over Zermatt to the 4000 metre peaks of the Dom and Taschhorn. Last but not least there is Ann, the owner. She met us at the station and took us to the apartment to show us how everything worked. Her knowledge of Zermatt is encyclopedic and she is more than happy to share it with her guests to ensure that they make the most of their holiday in Zermatt. We had a wonderful time and we can’t wait to go back … two weeks just isn’t long enough to do Zermatt justice and we want our “home-from-home” back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony and its views.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased that it was a home-from-home experience: that was exactly the aim when I renovated and fitted out my apartments Look forward to seeing you again: in summer and in winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment in perfect setting - We'll be back!”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great small apartment with all the features, furnishings, and necessities to get by while traveling. Well stocked kitchen and plenty of seating on the wrap around patio made for a perfect visit. We stayed for 5 days and will certainly return. The owner, Ann, is terrific and communicative. She responded to many queries I had quickly and completely. Many thanks to Ann for making her place available and my wife and I look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Awesome view!
Liked least: As a fat American, the stairs. But it was good for me.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2016
Thank you Denis for taking the time to write such a flattering review for me. I am really pleased that your wife also enjoyed Zermatt and will look forward to seeing you both in two years if all goes to plan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing