We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice clean hotel and awesome service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Artist-Apartments & Hotel Garni
Ranked #67 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice clean hotel and awesome service”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

richard was so nice. He picked us up from the train station and was super helpful with everything. The room got a good view of matterhorn and at first i thought it would be too far from town. But everything is so close in Zermatt.
highly recommended

Room Tip: joan miro rooms has a good view of matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vilen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork,Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel, and have to say from the minute we walked in the door it was great. Very comfortable bed, stunning view of the matterhorn from the balcony, one of the best showers that I have had anywhere it was like getting a massage.
The owner Richard was so helpful, he collected and drops you to the rail station on his electric cart (Which if you have kids is quite fun) does an good breakfast. can give you great advice about the area. we were there in the summer and did some great walks.
The place is really clean, and the room we had was very big with a great balcony.
Really enjoyed our stay here, Zermatt was a great place to visit lots to see and do and I would love to go back and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is on the top of a slope in Zermatt itself and within walking distance in town. a bit of a puff for us unfit oldies ! But within relative easy walking distance of the ski lift and bus stop.
We had a lovely apartment named after the artist whose paintings were in the apartment ( the paintings were not of my taste but no problem ) and we could see the Matterhorn from our balcony. There was a small kitchen and the room was quite large. There was a nice continental breakfast with eggs cooked as you desire, but no more meals.
The owner and his mother were very friendly and did what ever he could for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merylevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great location. We may have to climb up to reach the apartment but why complain when we are at the mountains. Centrally located between the town (train station) and the Matterhorn cable station. Within short walking distance to many eating outlets, it makes a great after-dinner walk back up to the apartment. The stay in the apartment made our Zermatt trip very memorable. Our boys love the place so much as it was bright and spacious and the only complain we have was from the boys - "why do we stay for only 2 nights?". They could see Matterhorn just by lying down on the pulldown bed. There was a sports room one floor above our room where the boys disappeared for 2 hours. We also had a fantastic shot of the elusive Matterhorn from the balcony. Everything in the apartment was in great condition with a great kitchen that provided clean, working apparatus. We cooked some meals and the utensils were clean and ready to use the first time we decided to cook. If you don't want to walk to the convenience store, pass your grocery list to Richard for him to have it ready for you the next morning. Richard was a fantastic host and we keep talking about returning to Artist Apartments each time we look through the photos we were at Zermatt. Note: My photo ID was taken in Artist Apartment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dali1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

travelling with partner who visited Zermatt for the first time. Seeing Matterhorn from our room balcony on the second or third morning of our visit was quite remembrable. It had been cloudy earlier, so she had no idea how impressive a sight the toblerone mountain can be. In general, we were very happy with our stay.

about the hotel:
- Location of the hotel is convenient to the papperla pub (hmm, what are my priorities ...), which is down the road from the hotel, but far enough for you to not have any kind of bother from the "oompah oompah trallallallaallaa" from the pub;

- Room was impeccably clean, zero noise, everything was in full working order;

- Ski storage / changing room was practical with easy access to rooms;

- We were able to make meals in the kitchen without too much hassle ;

- Hotel Breakfast was good value for money, although we mostly opted for self-catering brekkie;

- We did not try the bread service, but probably also good value ... the bread sold at the village bakeries is excellent, so believe having this delivered to door every morning cannot be bad;

- Richard the Manager - what more can be said - he deserves all the praise from earlier posts. A very good host, what a character! he will definitely make your holiday better;

- About the hill mentioned in earlier posts - really not that bad - just about acclimatisation as the village is in 1.6 Km. (we did not, but ) It is possible to leave skis to the Matterhorn-glazier base station for 1 fr / night ... availability of this service probably a bit seasonal as there are limited number of slots)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

As all the other reviews have noted, this place was wonderful!! Richard truly was an incredible host! We brought our infant child and the apartment could not have been better! Richard arranged for a crib, as well as a high chair, and everyone eas do friendly. The view from monet apt was spectacular and the cost could not be beat, especially in zermat! He atranged a great raclette dinner snd the apt is convenient to klein matterhorn and glacier paradise lifts, it admittedly is a bit of a hike up the hill when youre not used to the altitude, but its worth it for views and the accomodations. Walking distance to everything, to invlude a nearby. Pam convenieve store. Richard has sleds, and yiu can order fresh bread each nite, and also wine, beer and water. Would absolutely stay here again, and the fact he has so many reeat customers is the highest compliment!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minthillgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My first stay is in September 2012 and the hotel is simply a great place to stay. I was travelling with 3 other family members from Venice to Zermatt and we only arrived in Zermatt at 11.45pm. The owner, Richard is really friendly and offered to pick us up from the train station.

We were allocated in the room named Kandinsky which was a 4 bedded apartment. The standards of cleanliness of the room is spectacular. The artist theme in the apartment is really unique as well. The kitchen and living room were well equipped and we managed to cook some meals. From the balcony, the view of the Matterhorn is simply breathtaking.

The only setback is that the apartment is further up in the hills and is about 15 minutes walk to the main town center. The distance isn't a problem as the route from the town center to the hotel is quite scenic. Definitely a place to stay in Zermatt!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynlynlynlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Apparthotel Casa Vanessa
Apparthotel Casa Vanessa
#35 of 110 in Zermatt
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#19 of 110 in Zermatt
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#50 of 110 in Zermatt
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alfa
Hotel Alfa
#86 of 110 in Zermatt
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matterhornblick
Hotel Matterhornblick
#83 of 110 in Zermatt
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 110 in Zermatt
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artist-Apartments & Hotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist-Apartments & Hotel Garni

Property: Artist-Apartments & Hotel Garni
Address: Staldenweg 9 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#32 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#40 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#57 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Artist-Apartments & Hotel Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments and Hotelrooms in the style of different painters, all with balcony and Matterhorn view. Optional breakfast buffet and beverage Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Artist-Apartments & Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist-Apartments And Hotel Garni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing