We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great discovery, excellent service”
Review of Alpenlodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpenlodge
Ranked #20 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great discovery, excellent service”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute, and didn't quite know what to expect. Zermatt is very busy during the winter season and it can get tricky to find a room if you don't book in advance - so we just felt lucky to have found a room.

We were pleasantly surprised: the room at the Alpenlodge was bright and nicely furnished, the beds were comfortable and we had a stunning view. What really made us like this place though was the excellent service: the lady at the reception (Tamara) booked us a restaurant for the evening, organised us taxis and also sold us ski tickets so we wouldn't have to queue. She was very pleasant. We also liked the little spa with a sauna and stunning views of the Matterhorn.

Only "negative" point: it is not so close to the city-center, so it's worth to leave your skis back after a day of skiing and return to the hotel by taxi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllaInTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    33
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
55
104
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Only stayed for one night, but the view in the morning was worth it. Had an early train so could see the sun rise behind the Matterhorn. Only downside would be, there was no restaurant and at 20chf taxi into town, it is expensive to get there and back for a meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19flights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in January. The hotel was very clean, nicely decorated, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious with 2 twin beds and a set of bunks. The complimentary coffee bar was a nice bonus, and the breakfast was fresh and delicious. The only downside was the distance to town. It was easy to walk down (without ski boots), but was easier to hire a taxi for the walk up and when traveling with skis.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Alpenlodge is well managed by its owner 3* hotel. The place is very clean and beautifully designed. We loved The Spa with fantastically organised sauna and relaxing area - our favourite place to chill out after whole day of skiing.
Breakfast offers quality products but is a bit limited. I would add few things there, e.g. porridge.
Room that we had was very nice and clean. Beds were comfortable, shower- hot and powerful.
I really liked how the ski room was organised- easily accessible and clean.

And the most important: fabulous service from Tamara and Rosemary- nothing is a problem, very helpful and kind, always giving us an honest opinion and advice.

We will recommend Alpenlodge to all our friends planning a visit to Zermatt

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aventuryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights during the early part of winter 2012 based on the reviews online.

The views of the Matterhorn and the other mountains (when its not cloudy/foggy) were simply SPECTACULAR. This is especially when we booked the deluxe unit with downstairs living room and upstairs bedroom and floor to ceiling windows.

Getting to town was fun as we sledded (or you can ski) downslope all the way. Coming back up was easy with the eco-friendly electric taxis (costs CHF15 with voucher from the hotel / CHF20 otherwise).

Rosmarie, the owner was a great host and made us feel absolutely comfortable. She let us know the great restaurants in town and kept us informed about the weather (extremely important in winter) and what to do about town.

There was also a nice and simple spa with sauna, massage/yoga room, bath and toilets that guests can use for free during the evening.

Everything was clean, very good condition - couldn't ask for anything more.

Just note that as there are 2-3 ladies working in the hotel, you might have to do most of the heavy hauling of luggage yourself but its not big deal for us.

I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel to couples, families, skiers and hikers wanting comfort, a clean and well maintained lodging, great views, wonderful service, great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for the deluxe rooms with living room and upstairs bedroom units, south-facing to view the Matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I just stayed here for a couple nights on a trip throughout Switzerland and Italy. We just loved this hotel. It was very clean, cozy, and the service was wonderful. The staff were always so great and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful too. They have a very cute terrace off the breakfast area with a beatufiul view of the town and the Matterhorn. Our room was basic but the bed was so comfortable. Don't hesitate to book - you won't regret it! Hope to come back someday :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you do not mind a short hike up, you can find this cozy Hotel with great views of the village and Matterhorn.owners are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is simple but of good taste and quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.6 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
902 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#11 of 110 in Zermatt
475 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenlodge

Property: Alpenlodge
Address: Zer Baennu 22 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#16 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenlodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ski-in Alpenlodge is located on a sunny slope on the edge of Zermatt, offering panoramic views of the Matterhorn and free access to the wellness area. The modern Zen spa has a sauna and a steam bath. Guests can enjoy stunning views from the relaxation room over the surrounding mountains. All rooms in the Alpenlodge are furnished in elegant, contemporary Alpine style and offer free Wi-Fi. Cable flat-screen TVs and DVD players are featured in every room. Bathrobes and a hairdryer are also provided. Every day free coffee, tea and cakes are served. The cosy lounge bar with its open fireplace is an inviting place to relax after a day out in the mountains. Guests can also enjoy the common terrace offering panoramic views of the village and the impressive Matterhorn. The Sunneggabahn cable car and the buses to the Matterhorn cable cars are only a 5-minute walk away from the Alpenlodge. Ski passes can be bought at the lodge. The train station and the Gornergrat cog cable car can be reached on foot within 10 minutes. Transfers to the cable cars are available at an additional cost. Transfers to and from the train stations are available free of charge if guests are staying 2 nights or longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Alpenlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenlodge Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing