We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cosy rooms with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenlodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alpenlodge to your Saves list
Alpenlodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zer Bannu 22 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt CH-3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cosy rooms with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you do not mind a short hike up, you can find this cozy Hotel with great views of the village and Matterhorn.owners are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is simple but of good taste and quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    21
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
75
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a quick weekend getaway in July. I initially contacted Rosemarie, the owner, several weeks earlier, but I waited until the last minute to book because I wanted to make sure the weather would be OK. Rosemarie was very understanding about wanting to wait to book the room, and always quick to respond to my emails.

The hotel sent a taxi to pick us up from the train station (included in the price of the room), which is very much appreciated since the hotel is a bit of a walk away, and up a pretty big hill.

Our room was the "Matterhorn" and was extremely large, modern, and beautiful, with a large balcony with an unobstructed view towards the Matterhorn.

Breakfast was standard Swiss breakfast although all homemade - fresh baked goods and jams. The hotel also has a small modern spa area with a sauna, steam room, showers, and relaxation area, but no hot tub, which would have been great after a long day of hiking.

Rosemarie was very friendly and informative; she provided us with maps and many suggestions about where to eat and hike, and made sure knew how to contact the taxi to take us back to the train station in case we were ready to leave at a time when she wasn't going to be there.

Overall, great stay, and I've already recommended this hotel to several friends!

Room Tip: Matterhorn room large and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrapkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We highly recommend Aplenlodge for anyone who wishes a nice and pleasant stay in Zermatt. The hotel is clean and wellkept, excellent breakfast and the owner Rosemarie is very friendly and helpful (english speaking). From the railwaystation there's a 10-15 minute uphill walk to the hotel, while it didn't bother us at all, others may find it a bit tiering. When we arrived the hotel sent a taxi to pick us up at the railwaystation and when we left a taxi dropped us at the station again, which was very convenient. There is a superp relax area at the bottom floor which we appreciated a lot after a full day out in the mountains (sauna, steam bath, relax room with panorama windows). We would't hesitate a minute to return to this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent a week at this excellent hotel which enjoys a fabulous view over Zermatt and the Matterhorn. The hotel is very nicely designed with friendly and extremley helpful family owners - always the best way! Our Junior suite was perfect for our requirements (with dog) and the balcony offered the best spot in town to sit on an evening with a glass of wine. There is also an excellent small spa area and breakfast was very nice. We are planning a return next year which says it all really.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A truly remarkable hotel; built in modern alpine style, generous sized rooms with shower and bath amenities. From our room and terrace we enjoyed the view on the Matterhorn. Rosemarie and Willy, and their staff are hospitable, welcoming and pleasing. This is a truly remarkable place; a home away from home. The spa facilities invite you to relax in a spotless and appealing environment; welcome you to relax and give your muscles some TLC after a day of hiking, biking or skiing, depending on the time of the year. Breakfast choices are excellent and abundant. The hotel location offers a great view of the village and its surroundings. A wonderful place to stay for couples, families, single persons, anybody! Looking forward to staying here again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed with rose Marie and her staff at the Alpenlodge for 4 nights December 16- 20 2011 and could not have made a better choice the rooms were spotless and the heated bathroom floors were great after a day of skiing the breakfast was perfect and included eggs to order there are a lot of choices in zermatt but the level of personal attention we received was awesome from picking us up at the train station to reccomendations for restaurants and ski rentals it was perfect not to mention the Matterhorn view from our balcony !!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igo430kts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed for the weekend in November. Hotel is very beautifully decorated. The rooms are comfortable. A little on the smaller side but very nicely furnished. The location is very good. Beautiful view of the Matterhorn. Breakfast was very nice as well. We will go again during ski season in a few weeks and we will stay a week. If my rating changes I will be sure to write about it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#27 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#18 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#33 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#23 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Romantica
Hotel Romantica
#35 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#19 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenlodge

Property: Alpenlodge
Address: Zer Bannu 22 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt CH-3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#18 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#23 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenlodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ski-in Alpenlodge is located on a sunny slope on the edge of Zermatt, offering panoramic views of the Matterhorn and free access to the wellness area. The modern Zen spa has a sauna and a steam bath. Guests can enjoy stunning views from the relaxation room over the surrounding mountains. All rooms in the Alpenlodge are furnished in elegant, contemporary Alpine style and offer free Wi-Fi. Cable flat-screen TVs and DVD players are featured in every room. Bathrobes and a hairdryer are also provided. Every day free coffee, tea and cakes are served. The cosy lounge bar with its open fireplace is an inviting place to relax after a day out in the mountains. Guests can also enjoy the common terrace offering panoramic views of the village and the impressive Matterhorn. The Sunneggabahn cable car and the buses to the Matterhorn cable cars are only a 5-minute walk away from the Alpenlodge. Ski passes can be bought at the lodge. The train station and the Gornergrat cog cable car can be reached on foot within 10 minutes. Transfers to the cable cars are available at an additional cost. Transfers to and from the train stations are available free of charge if guests are staying 2 nights or longer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alpenlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenlodge Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing