We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Hotel was very wonderful !!”
Review of City Hotel Garni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Hotel Garni
Ranked #92 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Our stay at the City Hotel in the phenomenal town of Zermatt, Switzerland, was one of the best experiences during our entire vacation in europe !! The owners & staff at this hotel were very wonderful & accomodating !! The hotel & staff are very nice, warm & friendly !! The breakfast is outstanding, too !! Very highly recommended !!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ed1737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 22 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2007

We had four nights at the Hotel City on a long weekend skiing in February 2007. I'd definitely go back again.

The City Hotel is in a brilliant position - five minutes walk from the Sunegga lift, one minute from a bus stop up to the Klein Matterhorn and five minutes from the town centre / bahnhof.

The rooms are a good size, breakfast is fine (not the best I've had in Zermatt, but completely acceptable), and the owners / team all very friendly.

Free internet access is a bonus for checking out the webcams before you ski.

Perfectly pleasant lounge, good steam and sauna rooms (NB as you'd expect from Europe, they are a clothing-free zone). There's also a table football table and mini-gym (but you probably won't need this while skiing).

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tomraggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2006

City Hotel Garni far exceeded our expectations -- the room was fairly large and extremely clean, we had a view of the Matterhorn from our balcony, the location was excellent (4 minute walk to the train station, 5 minute walk from anything in town), breakfast was more than adequate, etc, etc. Nothing to complain about.
Also, the owners were very helpful as they provided input on local day hikes and even woke up early the day of our departure to provide us breakfast (we were leaving very early).
Again, absolutely no complaints here, only praise. Highly recommended! Also free internet access in the lobby.

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank ChadMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Indeed,I had a very nice,quite and pleasant stay at Hotel City Garni.Friendly staff,very lovely breakfast and excellent room,very clean and a perfect view of Matterhorn.The owner is an excellent guide if you need informations or if you are passionate by summer skiing or hiking.Hotel City is the right place if you want to enjoy Zermatt experience.Absolutely excellent...

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank by4type
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

I and my family stayed at this little 'Hotel City Garni' while on holiday in Zermatt in September 2006. It was the best hotel we experinced for the whole trip in Switzerland. At first I feel the price is rather expensive (as is every hotel in Zermatt) but everything full justified that price tag and in the end I even thought it was 'value for money'! The room was perfect, clean, big enough and had great view of the Matterhorn, while the balcony gave the good feeling of this buzzing little lovely town. The staff is the nicest and friendliest we could have had. They were helpful with everything. The Internet is free to use, which is very surpirse given Zermatt is a very expensive tourist city. The breakfast is up to standard and we had it with Matterhorn panoramic view just right through the breakfast room windows. When check-out, due to my family luggages, I asked them to call me the 'electro taxi' but instead the guy brought out his own electro car and gave me and all luggage a ride to the station for free. Very nice compliment to set off good-bye. I couldn't find any fault in this hotel part from I wish I could've stay longer. Overall, this Hotel City Garni totally matched the perfect beauty of Zermatt.

8  Thank Vekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank André L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: In den oberen Etagen hat man kein WLAN empfang mehr. Rechte seite vom Hotel hat man ausblick auf das...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abundzureisender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.4 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#61 of 110 in Zermatt
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Garni

Address: Vispastrasse 8, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: $196 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Hotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing