We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good value in an expensive place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zermatt Youth Hostel
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Clean and good value in an expensive place.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place is on top of a hill and the way up to the hostel is very steep. If you are carrying a lot of luggage, you may want to consider taking a bus or taxi. From the train station to the hostel, there is only 1 sign “Jugendherberge“ in the town that tells you the way. It took me 30mins to find and reach the hostel.

From the train station, walk up the street to your right once you leave the train. There is a “bucherer watch shop” not far on your right if you are on the right track. Continue your journey up until you see a church. Turn left and walk in front of the church until you see an old Zermatt restaurant on your left side. Walk past it and you will see the 1 and only sign to the hostel. Turn right, follow the road and walk all the way up to a steep slope and you will see the hostel up on your left hand side. Do take note that this hostel does not have any lifts.
The reception counter only opens at 4pm. There are lockers in the public area for you to lock your luggage in between the closing time.

I stayed in the 4 female dorm for 3 nights and the room view was awesome. The window is directly facing the matterhorn. The room is clean and spacious. There are big lockers in the room and it uses a 2 francs coin to lock. It is refundable. The toilets and showers are really clean as well. The hostel does frequent checks and maintenance as I saw the guys going around checking the windows and doors twice during my stay. Breakfast and dinner is included in the price. Please remember to clear your own plates. For the price, it is value for money.

To go to the matterhorn cable car, go down the road staldenstrasse where the bus stop is. Walk past the residential houses. Reach a small junction,turn left to Luchernstrasse. Reach the end of the road,you should see another hostel call matterhorn hostel or Sparky bar. Turn left then go straight up the road, you will reach the matterhorn cable car station. Don’t take a detour by going down the stairs where you come up from the train station because you will have to walk all the way up the same road from the bottom and pass the sparky bar/matterhorn hostel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building facing the matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
16
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hostel was basically a hotel, evidenced by the fact that a ton of families were staying there.

Zermatt can at times be prohibitively expensive, and staying at this hostel is a great way to cut costs. It's clean, cheap-ish, well located, and a has a great social atmosphere (two thumbs up for the ping pong table). If one considers that a) the price of the hostel includes breakfast and dinner and b) it's impossible to eat our for less than 30 francs in Zermatt, then the Youthhostel proves an incredible value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

On the top of a hill this is not handicap friendly. But if you're staying in the Zermatt region, don't pay for an expensive hotel, this hostel is clean, tidy, serves great food, still very close to shops and walks and has the BEST views of Mount Marmott!
The meals served are of excellent quality, soup, main, salad bar and a dessert! Or breakfast of just about anything. If you have a family, stay in a 4 bed room and you'll all have a great time. The staff are friendly and helpful and they have a good laundry service.

Room Tip: A lot of luggage? Take a floor closer to the ground as they have no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taranicole349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa BArbara
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Zermatt is very expensive especiallly for family of four. We took a chance because all hotels weds booked and this wasn't. We had a 4 bed room to ourselves. It was 2 bunkbeds which the kids loved. Beds were super clean and comfortable. They give u nice clean bedding. A plus for us was built in meals. With kids it made it so easy and food was basic cafeteria foood but u get a lot and can have seconds. This place was very. Very clean including bathrooms. Location is less than 10 minute walk to glacier paradise. U get 10% off rentals at interdiscount. There were all sorts of people here from families with small kids like us to singles to groups of men hikers. Nice terrace with view of mstterhorn. Very quiet at night. Suggest reserving ahead. Reception does not open until 4pm for checkin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not next to bathrooms because of noise. Rooms on backside of main building are very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finbarsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Location
1 word: upslope!
The hostel is about 15mins walk from the Zermatt train station, but be prepared for an uphill journey. The hostel does state the uphill walk in its website; its just that the slope is tough when you have a heavy backpack! To add to the slope, there's a fleet of stairs right before the hostel! To finish it off, the hostel has no lift and you have to use the stairs to get to your room. If you think you can't manage all these, take the electric taxi or the bus. Zermatt is a car-free town. :)
However, all these upslope has a good side to it. The dining room has a view of the Matterhorn (the mountain on the Toblerone packaging). So you can enjoy the view as you eat breakfast and dinner there. After spending 2 nights there, I can understand why its the most-photographed mountain. Very dramatic and majestic.

Room / meals
The room is rather small, but comes with a convenient wash basin (the water up in the alpine region of Zermatt is super refreshing - taste it!) Common toilets and showers are kept in great condition. The same can be said for the dining area. Everything in this hostel is clean and well-maintained. Great job to the staff!
This hostel provides breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is nice and nutritious - bread, cheese, ham, fruits, etc. I particularly like the Ovaltine spread with my bread. I wonder why I don't see the Ovaltine spread outside of Swiss. Dinner comprise salad, main course and also dessert / fruits. Very rewarding way to end your day after expending much energy climbing or trekking the entire day. :)

Staff
Friendly and helpful. No complaints.

Overall, a clean alpine hostel with nice breakfast and dinner, which also comes with a great view. The only thing to watch out for is the upslope location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheep1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Probably the best value you will find (unless you take the gondola up and ski down for lunch on the Italian side!) in all of Zermatt for anything. Altho this is a youth hostel there were people of all ages (including lots of families w/ small children---the only down-side as it tended to be a bit noisy and out of control at times in the main building, especially at meal time.) We had a very quiet private double room w/ private bath. Shower and water temp were great. Everything was spotless and very clean--including the down comforters. The all-you-can-eat breakfast was hearty w/ lots of options including brie cheese, salami, homemade bread and coffee from an espresso machine. Of course, there were all the usual cereals, jams, yogurts, hardboiled eggs, etc. The local city tiny bus shuttles just a block away from the door so it is easy and not necessary to lug skis too far to get to gondolas or home at the end of a hard day. The walk to the center is pleasant (about 8 minutes). Dinner also was substantial and balanced (soup, salad, meat, veg, carbs, bread and homemade dessert, altho not high end cuisine, for the price it can't be beat. All staff was very nice and helpful. Not speaking German was not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

As a family of 4 it was looking incredbily expensive for us to ski and stay in Zermatt, but we were determined to do it. We stumbled upon this Youth Hostel via internet and couldn't have been happier. Be aware that there is another youth hostel down the road, but this one seemed from other reviews, better for families. We had a four bed room with private ensuite. The added bonus of having a 3 -course meal layed in front of you after a day's skiing can not be overstated ! The food was wholesome, tasty and plentiful. Not 5 star, but if that sort of thing is important for you, you probably wouldn't stay here anyway. We had no problems with noise, found the beds comfortable and the reception staff delightful. The shower curtain made for a wet bathroom, but we generally travel with a light bath mat anyway. Yes, it's a walk from the station, but when you are looking at the Matterhorn and taking in the fresh air of this wonderful village, some things just can't matter. There are plenty of carts and minibusses around to transport if needed. We walked to the ski lifts each morning with our gear, but some took the bus. We left our skis and poles at the Schule Matten each night for 2CHF each, meaning it was only the first trip down and last trip back where we need to carry the gear. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for your own bathroom if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.7 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#36 of 110 in Zermatt
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.2 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#62 of 110 in Zermatt
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#35 of 110 in Zermatt
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zermatt Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zermatt Youth Hostel

Property: Zermatt Youth Hostel
Address: Staldenweg 5, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Zermatt Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world-famous Matterhorn, lovingly called "Horu" by locals, can be seen directly from Zermatt Youth Hostel. Every day of the year, the Youth Hostel offers a charming alternative for all those guests for whom a luxurious hotel room is not necessary to enjoy the Zermatt mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Zermatt Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Youthhostel Zermatt Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing