We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Our Stay At Carina”
Review of Carina Hotel

Carina Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carina Hotel
Ranked #89 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Our Stay At Carina”
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed at Carina Hotel July 15-19, 2011. This family-owned hotel is a mere 8 minute walk (I timed it) from the train station and major shopping street. But no need to walk it with your luggage--just contact the hotel from the phone board near the station, and for a very small fee (much less than a taxi) they will come and pick you up. The hotel has a warm, rich, wood-lined interior, as does each room. My large, comfortable and clean room had a luscious view of the Matterhorn. Since that mountain clouded up each day I was in Zermatt, that early morning view (the weather tends to be clearer in the mornings), was the only chance I got during my stay to see most of that peak unobstructed. Thank goodness for that large windowed wall that allowed for that wonderful sight!

Breakfast is included with the lodging, and the hotel has a large, airy breakfast room. Choices are many and good, and hot coffee/tea is brought to your table. Wonderful baked goods.

The people who run this hotel are lovely and helpful. All staff--dining room and front desk--did their best to make our stay comfortable. Calls were made to find out information for us; weather forecasts were relayed; detailed directions were given; etc. What most amazed me was that our bill was reduced from what was originally listed by the booking agency because our stay qualified for a discount. I hadn't known about this discount, and certainly didn't ask for it! How amazingly honest and kind of Carmen! As I said, lovely people. Hotel Carina is one of the most reasonably-priced hotels in Zermatt. It's not a luxury hotel, and it's a bit hidden amongst other hotels, but you won't sacrifice anything truly important... and you'll have a very pleasant time... by staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TB4wk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2010

It is a poor hotel compared with standard level of hotels in this city. We can say that is a little seedy.
The lift has a clear security problem (mainly for children) due to lack of internal door.
They lie regarding their pictures and services. The pictures showing external appearence are not real. They do not provide sauna services as advertised.
Breakfast very poor as well.

Summarizing, for this price you can find a better option in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baccio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2007

I booked the Carina at he train station in Zermatt. The owner picked me up within 5 minutes and also up-graded my single room to a double room that is spacier and also features a bath tub. The Carina is situated close to the Sunegga train and the village can be reached within 10 to 15 minutes walking. The owners are very pleasant and forthcoming. Everything is very tidy and the groundfloor boasts a cozy bar for inhouse guests where you can listen to interesting stories told by the senior owner right next to a warming fire place. The only drawback was the missing internet connection as I was depending on it in that time and therefore had to make my daily trip to the internet cafe. Otherwise, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Liked — quiet, tidy, cozy
  • Disliked — no internet
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Baernu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2007

This hotel offers a good starting point for exploring this part of the Swiss Alps. A very friendly welcome by one of the owners, who without our asking upgraded our rooms at no extra charge, because the mountain view rooms were available anyway at the time (end of summer season). Great rooms, great Matterhorn view from the balcony (wheather permitting). Nice continental breakfast.
The hotel is located close to the railway station in a quiet part of Zermatt. The short but steep slope leading to the hotel can be a bit strenuous, but taxi's ale widely available at the station.

  • Liked — Great rooms with Matterhorn view
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2006

We have just returned from our annual group skiing trip which was in Zermatt this year. My partner and I usually arrange it and the family-owned and run 3-star Carina offered the best ski package deal for the 9 of us. We were pleasantly surprised by this little B&B-type hotel set within a 5-minute walk of the Sunnega lift. The package included B&B accommodation, 6-day list pass for Zermatt, VIP ski hire, a drink from the hotel bar and a cheese-fondue on one night.

The rooms at this small hotel were well-equipped, very clean and good-sized and the cosy and welcoming lounge bar was where you would usually find us at the end of a day's skiing, alongside the roaring fire, before soothing our aching muscles in the wellness area in the sauna and steam room.

Waking up early one morning to the view of the sun coming up and bathing the majestic Matterhorn in a warming glow, is a sight I certainly won't forget soon.

Carmen and her team look after your every need and they all could not do enough for us throughout our stay. Her recommendations for places to eat each night were spot-on and she was happy to make the reservations (highly recommended in the high season).

The fact that many of her guests return year after year (we got chatting to a few) speaks volumes for this litttle gem.

Helpful?
7 Thank Nadia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#67 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rhodania
Hotel Rhodania
#90 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Christiania Mountain & Spa
Christiania Mountain & Spa
#25 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Adonis
Hotel Adonis
#68 of 109 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Artemis Garni
Hotel Artemis Garni
#91 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Garni
City Hotel Garni
#100 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carina Hotel

Property: Carina Hotel
Address: Untere Wiestistrasse 12, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing