We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and cozy”
Review of Hotel Chesa Valese

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chesa Valese
Ranked #37 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

we have spent an amazing vacation in Zermatt. my family and our friends spent a week at the Chesa-Valese hotel.the hotel is decorated in rustic style and is very bright and welcoming
the rooms are lovely and clean, the stuff was very friendly and helpful .The hotel is centrally located, near by a ski rental shop and trendy bar for apres ski drinks.the lovely town is full of restaurants and bar so after a day of skiing there are plenty of choices,if you prefer hiking I suggest going down from Furi and have lunch at a charming place called "zum see" reservation is essential.I am looking forward to our next visit to Zermatt and I would certainly return to the Chesa-Valese hotel

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elisabetaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 118 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2011

Had booked this hotel on the web www.myswitzerland.com and so glad we did. This hotel was everything we required, from the courtesy pick up at the station when we arrived, to the friendly welcome and assistance during our stay. Breakfast was included in our rate as well. The room was very comfortable with a lovely view towards the snow covered mountains, after all it was January!. Free Wi-Fi access in room (ask at reeception for the code). Good location and our expectations were exceeded with this beautiful hotel. Will certainly stay here again on our next visit to Zermatt. The room rate we paid was worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yakityak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This hotel is a very good 3 star hotel. The rooms are quite basic and a bit pricey (but this is Zermatt after all) but the lounge area is cosy and welcoming - a good place for a drink at the end of the day. It is a short walk to the main shopping street but this keeps it quieter than many other hotels.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and any requests are carried out with a smile. Breakfast is ok,- not great but very adequate. If you on a budget, this presents good value for Zermatt.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKKSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

The owners of this hotel really get it right with hospitality. We were very comfortable in our room, the garden area is delightful, it is everything one wants in a hotel in Zermatt. The breakfast buffet was very nice, lots of good choices. The location was quiet, we were glad to be away from the main street, but still close to everything we wanted.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Beautiful small hotel with a some swiss character. Lovely rooms and decoration makes the stay much more enjoyable, although the hotel is some distance from the train station (20 minutes walk)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ri_Sun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Service was excellent from check-in to check-out. Room was especially clean and attractive, with a terrace from which we could see the Matterhorn, weather permitting. Bed was comfortable and desk provided a place to write. Bathroom was new and sparkling, with an excellent shower and tub. Decor throughout was alpine and tasteful. A pleasant front garden included flowers and a sitting area. Breakfast provided almost anything you'd want to eat: soft-cooked eggs in their shells, pastries of all kinds, cheeses and cold meats, yogurt, cereals, coffee, tea and juices.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Otye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

This was our first time in Zermatt, and the Hotel Chesa Valese turned out to be an excellent choise. Perfectly located on an alley just a block from the river that crosses the village, between the ski lifts, it allowed us to make the most of the three days of skiing on breath-taking Alps.
For a leisure travel I prefer smaller hotels with a feeling that you are a welcomed friend rather than paying customer; this was exactly the athmosphere at Chesa Valese.
Breakfast buffet, our room (standard double) and lobby were cosy, yet very well set up and full of small touches of pleasing details.

Breakfast included the ordinary cerials, yoghurts, boiled eggs, juices, coffee, tee, with the good selection of cheeses, cold cuts, fresh fruit, bread, rolls and croissants and salmon.

The transportation to and from Railway Station was included and worked fine and flexibly.
No restaurant in the hotel was no problem; there is variety of nice restaurants just few steps from the the hotel entrance.
Service was excellent. As an example, we missed the return time of some ski equipment because the sport shop was closed during luch time, just when we were leaving. The hotel staff took care of the return.

Also the wellbeing room was like a private spa to relax after long days on the slopes. Saunas were heated daily from 4-8 pm, but jacuzzi was available at all times. Peaceful and compact, yet spacious enough for this size of hotel and number of guests.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#43 of 110 in Zermatt
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#30 of 110 in Zermatt
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Daniela
Hotel Daniela
#39 of 110 in Zermatt
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#40 of 110 in Zermatt
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chesa Valese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chesa Valese

Address: Steinmattstrasse 30, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $265 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chesa Valese 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Chesa Valese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesa Valese Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing