We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden Wellness

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Eden Wellness
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and were absolutely satisfied! The staff was really lovely and helpful, breakfast was good, the room was nice and comfortable. Location was also good. We definitely will stay here next time we are in Zermatt! A very good hotel indeed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadri74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    30
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
118
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I have been travelling to Zermatt, in all seasons, for 35 years, have stayed in many of the village's hotels. The Hotel Eden is definitely our favourite place to stay there. Location is excellent, central to ski lifts and shuttles, as well as shops and restaurants. The proprietress Karin Aufdenblatten, and her hotel staff, are professional, super-friendly and aways helpful. We especially enjoy the breakfast in their delightful airy and attractive breakfast room, great start to the day. Love the swimming pool and sauna wellness area, great for relaxing after the day's skiing or walking. The rooms are cozy and elegant, perfectly maintained and cleaned, we always get the Matterhorn view rooms, fantastic Zermatt atmosphere. Five stars to the Eden from us, strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HughMcMullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have stayed at Eden over the Christmas holiday period for about five years now and we have no plans or desire to even consider somewhere else in Zermatt.

The location is perfect; close enough to the heart of Zermatt to be a short, pleasant walk to dinner, but far enough away to ensure a quiet night. Either of the bus stops that take you to Sunegga or Trockener Steg is perhaps an easy 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.

The wellness centre is fantastic, with the only gripe being how slippery the tiles are near the pool. But if that’s my only complaint you should get a sense of how great everything else is.

Most importantly however, is the actual overall experience and how you’re made to feel as a guest. It’s personal, gracious and sweet. It’s what you hope every holiday is going top be like.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Schweizerli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dübendorf, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Perfectly located hotel. A short walk to the ski bus or 15 minutes walk to either the lift up to the Trockener Steg or Sunnegga.
Breakfast is amazing, nothing was missing! Very good Birchermüsli, fresh fruits, fresh bread, eggs etc.
We had a deluxe room with Matterhorn view. Spacious and very comfortable beds. I was sleeping like a log (but of course that could have had something to do with having spent the whole day outside in the sun skiing).
Ski room and the room for the ski boots are very practical, and the ski boots were completely dry in the morning.
The Spa/Therme is very nice but tends to get a little crowded. The pool is really useful for being a hotel pool. A good relax zone with comfortable chairs.
The hotel picks you up from the train station if you arrive before 18.00, and also brings you and your luggage back there.

Everything, from reservation to check-out, was perfectly smooth, and we felt really welcomed at the hotel and did spend 3 wonderful days there. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Through last 19 years we have been through several apartments and hotels in Zermatt. To Hotel Eden we went several years ago and decided not to look for anything else. This year we talk to the couple who comes to this place for 25 years, and this might be already the complete opinion. But in details: as a hotel, Eden provides you with everything you need. Nice, well-appointed rooms, all necessary equipment and accessories, everything constantly improved year after year. Unlimited breakfast is included into price and the selection is great and supplemented daily with new fresh products. Wireless Internet is free, through all rooms, important if you consider how much you have to pay for access in Geneva for instance. Hotel has very well equipped gym, full size swimming pool (only few bigger hotels in Zermatt can match this) and wellness-saunas. Good to prepare yourself for the slopes and relax after. Prices, considering the quality of hotel and services, are moderate. But probably most important from our point of view is that the hotel is family owned and managed. Returning here is a bit as family reunion. You know everyone, everyone recognize you, you really feel welcome and this relationship is based more on emotions than business alone. I believe this is what makes people returning for so many years. But if you are here for the first time: the hotel provides guest with transportation from and to the railway station. And the most important - the owner, Karin Aufdenblatten, and the reception staff will always help you to get your way through Zermatt with its great selection of ski and culinary attractions, so ask questions and listen to the answers to discover your own Zermatt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I were fortunate to stay for a week in Hotel Eden. Pre trip - Everything went smoothly, from booking, to communications - if you haven't been to Zermat before the transportation to get to the town is surprisingly simple, but unusual because the town does not allow motor vehicles.., when we arrived at the Zermat station, we were not sure what to expect. Thankfully the Hotel vehicle was waiting for us as arranged, and it took less than 10 minutes from leaving the train to with all our gear, load the vehicle and then stand in the hotel the lobby.

It is a traditional Swiss mountain hotel, and was exactly what we expected when we looked at websites etc, no surprises. we were staying in "single" rooms, which were great... Modern, clean Bathrooms, quite large for single rooms.. and more importantly Amazing... Truly amazing... Views of the Matterhorn. The location of the hotel is very convenient to everything... 10 minutes walk and you arrive at the trains or Gondola's that climb the mountains (you can choose to use the public free buses that run through the town to support the lift system - we never did) The center of town is even closer.

The hotel provides breakfast, but does not support lunch or dinner... Again not a problem because of the central proximity to everything, bars, restaurants are all moments from the front door.

We really enjoyed the calm relaxed friendly atmosphere, and were really impressed with the team supporting the hotel.

For us a great experience...

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BigAlAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ten years togeather, and two years married, we live in Switzerland, and needed a Hochzite break.

We found it in Zematt, and the Hotel Eden! We timed or visit right, just before the ski season goes insane. Karin and family took care of us so well,even in staying two nights, we did not want to leave.

The delux room we had was very nice old style set up, the nice touch was the bottle of champane, and the clock radio that we could plug our ipod into.

For those who choose this hotel after us, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grm688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#15 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#24 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden Wellness

Property: Hotel Eden Wellness
Address: Riedstrasse 5 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden Wellness 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome at the Hotel Eden Wellness **** Enjoy unforgettable Holidays at our Hotel Eden Wellness in Zermatt. Our hotel is located in the heart of Zermatt with a fantastic view on the world famous Matterhorn. Luxury rooms, a large Wellness area with Indoor pool, beautiful garden, gym room, a variety of massage treatments and best service are to expected for your summer or winter holidays at the hotel Eden in Zermatt. Your next wellness, ski or hiking holidays will turn into an unforgettable great experience. We are a hotel garni and we do offer a rich breakfast buffet. If you like to have half board, we are pleased to book a table for you in one of the restaurants in our neighbourhood. We would be pleased to welcoming you at our Hotel. Your hostesse Karin Aufdenblatten and her Team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Eden Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing