We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in every way!”
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this charming hotel and wish it could have been longer. It is picture perfect. All the rooms and baths are updated, cozy and decorated in warm colors with fresh wood.They have added a beautiful spa facility with sauna, steam bath and jacuzzi to the hotel. The decor in the lobby, dining area and in all the guest rooms is warm and inviting. The views of the Matterhorn were outstanding from our balcony each morning. The breakfast of homemade breads, fruits, yogurt, cheeses, eggs, and fresh squeezed juice was outstanding. But the best of all is the staff. The entire family went out of their way to make our stay in Zermatt a beautiful life long memory.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello from cold Zermatt...

Thank you very much for your feedback! We hope to welcome you and your family again some time with us at the Bella Vista!

Best regards from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 416 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location of this charming small 3 star hotel is ideal, perfectly situated on the hill overwatching the Zermatt valley, nice spot to be on NYE if we are not keen to be sprayed by beer at midnight. We had a suite with a large balcony overlooking the Matterhorn. The furniture and the very large bathroom are outdated and plain but everything else makes up for that bit. You can ski down to the hotel if you plan your ski day appropriately. Warm fireplace and a nice spa retreat await after a day of skiing. (Note to my fellow North Americans: the etiquette in most spas Europe is to go in the nude. You are more likely to be stared at if you are in a bikini!) Ski room is warm and allows you to leave all the gear behind to be dry for the next day. You can even ask for urgent repairs to be carried out by an outside service and all will be in oder by the time you've had breakfast. The guide books in the room are very informative, as are the lovely ladies at the front desk. Make sure you arrive early enough (before 9PM I believe) to have the hotel pick you up from the train station. Otherwise, arrange for a taxi beforehand, makes life an awful lot easier (and warmer!). Enjoy, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Matterhorn view if you are up for a splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello from Switzerland!

We like to thank you for your words on trip advisor!

Hope to see you again!

Warm regards from your family Götzenberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We visited at the end of the ski season for a long weekend. The hotel itself is absolutely charming and a very warm welcome awaited us. We arrived later than expected and after the 7pm cut off time for the advertised electric car service but the hotel still came to collect us at the entrance to the Zermatt area (we had booked a park & ride service from Tasch) which was much appreciated. We had a very large family room with a huge bathroom. The style of the hotel and the room is what we would describe as "traditional Swiss" and is very cozy.

The family who run the hotel are extremely helpful and were happy to make restaurant recommendations (all good) and reservations. The fireplace and small lounge area were comfortable for an after dinner drink and the house white wine (local) is very good.

The breakfast was fantastic with home-made preserves and the most delicious dandelion honey. As a tea drinker it was wonderful to get tea leaves in a proper pot and the timer to show when it had brewed sufficiently was a nice touch.

The hotel itself is part way up a hill and the only thing I would say is that for smaller children it can be a bit of a walk up the hill to the elevator that takes you down to the entrance to the funicular. With small children you should also anticipate getting an electric taxi back to the hotel at the end of the day. For adults and older children however this should not be a problem.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritFamily38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback!

We hope to see you again at the Bella Vista!

Best regards from Zermatt!

Your family Götzenberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a weeks skiing in early December and apart from the snow being excellent the hotel was equally good. All the reviews on trip adviser are correct and you are assured of a good stay. There is no formal bar but you can relax in front of a log fire in the evening with a drink in the lounge area. If we go back to Zermatt then we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholasrbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear family Bishop!

We like to thank you for your words on trip advisor and we hope to see you again in December :-)

Best regards from all of us.

Your family Götzenberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Bella Vista hotel was the prefect place for us to stay as a family in Zermatt. I had read many great revues of it before booking and was not at all disappointed when we were there. We all loved it as a family. Small and cosy, it had a great location, fabulous home made food and a wonderful view. The family who own the hotel were super friendly and very helpful in giving advice of all sorts. Nothing was too much effort. We very much want to return there at some future point and would not look at any other hotel =- there would be no point!

Room Tip: The Matterhorn view rooms were fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictoriaC641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you very much!!!

We hope to see you again!

Best regards form all of us.

Your family Götzenberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ideal, focused family service. Faultless.

To expand on this :- clean rooms, healthy breakfasts, relaxing atmosphere. Very comforting, friendly and unassuming.

These are human traits and are not the product of procedure associated with large hotels but a genuine care for the guest.

To avoid confusion with other Zermatt experiences please see related reviews which highlight the uniqueness of Bella Vista in their service delivery.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnWoburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for a great feedback! We keep on going like this :-)

Best regards and hope to see you again!

Your family Götzenberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here at the end of January on our honeymoon. From arriving to leaving, this hotel and the owners were amazing. We stayed in Room 1, which was large and had amazing views of the Matterhorn from both the windows and the private patio.

As other reviewers pointed out, the hotel is a short walk from the main street, but it is by no means inconvenient. We walked to dinner and drinks every night without thinking it was a long walk. Now for the breakfast, all I can say is it was amazing! The pastries are still warm when you eat them. There is a great selection of local meats and cheeses, fresh squeezed orange juice, and cooked eggs on request. Don't miss the homemade jams. We bought a couple to take home and wish I could order them by mail!

After Zermatt we went to Paris and stayed at a 5 star hotel. My wife and I both agreed that Bella Vista was a better hotel and perfect for a relaxing mountain ski trip.

Room Tip: Room 1 has large windows facing the Matterhorn and a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleSnowBoarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello! It was great to have you here during your honeymoon! We hope to see you again, thank you very much for your feedback!

Best regards from Zermatt!

Your family Götzenberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#14 of 111 in Zermatt
989 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#10 of 111 in Zermatt
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 111 in Zermatt
590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#8 of 111 in Zermatt
619 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 111 in Zermatt
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Address: Riedweg 15 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $174 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bella Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1962, Hotel Bella Vista is a family run chalet-style hotel, located on the outskirts of Zermatt, offering a panoramic view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is characterized by its personal, informal atmosphere as well as its charming chalet style rooms. You will be greeted by the scent of homemade creations baking in the oven. Enjoy the SPA with mountain view after a great day of skiing or hiking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing