We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing views”
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What a great family run hotel. We have been to Zermatt before but never in the summer. The hotel was excellent and accommodating. The hotel is located just far enough off the main streets to be very quite but close enough so you don't need a taxi. The second floor rooms facing the Matterhorn have probably the best view in the valley. If you are looking for a smaller authentic Swiss hotel look no further than Hotel Bella Vista.

Room Tip: book a room on the second floor, rooms 16-18. They face the matterhorn.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Hello from Zermatt and thank you very much for your positiv words on tripadvisor. We wish you al the best for the year 2013 and hope to see you again some time at the Bella Vista!

Warm regards

Your family Götzenberger-Perren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 405 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Same family ownership for the last 50 years, Bella Vista is a real chalet, offers peace and quiet and a great view of the Matterhorn. Breakfast buffet is excellent (plenty of home made stuff to taste), sauna and steam bath are available and if you dislike flashy mountain resort hotels, this is a great place to stay. The owners are very nice, friendly, of limited efficiency, but at least not intrusive. No dinner available, but Zermatt is not really that big and there are plenty of restaurants within a few minutes walk.

Room Tip: rooms with balcony overlooking the Matterhorn
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Micheal W.

We thank you very much for your visit as well as taking time to write some words about our hotel. We try every day to satisfy the needs of our guests. Therefore we kindly ask you to write us a short e-mail explaining your sentence about the "limited efficiency" as we are keen to improve ourselves. Thank you very much and greetings from Zermatt :-)

Fabienne Götzenberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We recently stayed in Bellavista and it could not have been better.

Starting from the welcome drink in the warm and cozy lobby till the small departure gift everything was perfect.

Bellavista is a family run hotel and is small and home like. We got the feeling of staying in a small Swiss home with other house guests. Breakfast was awesome with home made breads, jams, cheeses and a collection of teas. Unlike other hotels breakfast was included in the room price and there was no extra charge. The rooms were clean and comfortable and there was a good view of Matterhorn from our room and small balcony.

The hotel location is very good and to all destinations there is maximum a walk of 15 min. Also, good resturants are only 5 min walking distance from there.

Internet is only available in the lobby which turned out to be good as well since I spent time reading a book rather than wasting it online.

There is a steam room and sauna as wel which can be enjoyed after a long hiking or skiing day.

They also provide pick and drop to train station in electric car as Zermatt has no vehicles and the air feels very different and clean.

I will return to Bellavista if I visit Zermatt again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Qindeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you! It was nice having you here with us at the Bella Vista! We hope to see you again!

Warm regards

Family Götzenberger-Perren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two marvelous nights at the Bella vista. It has an amazing view of the matterhon and a lovely terrace where you can have breakfast. We had a really cozy double room. Very clean, nicely decorated and ready to cover the needs of hikers and skiers.

We highly recomend it and will come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainbowrailroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you very much! It was nice having you here with us at the Bella Vista! We hope to see you again!

Warm regards

Family Götzenberger-Perren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at Bella Vista for three nights - myself and my sons, ages 12 and 10 - and we could not have enjoyed our stay more. Fabienne and her mother Bernadette were very warm and inviting, well-informed and helpful. The rooms are lovely and we had a view of the Matterhorn from our balcony. The beds were quite firm, but very comfortable. The location is a five minute taxi ride up the hill, across the river from the train station. There is wi-fi in the comfortable downstairs lounge area and Fabienne says that the rooms will have wi-fi soon. We will definitely stay here again the next time we return to Zermatt!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterFeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear family Feer

Thank you for your words at Tripadvisor! We hope to see you again some time at the Bella Vista!

Your family Götzenberger-Perren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I loooooooove this place!!!! we stayed at the Bella vista during our honeymoon and boy was i glad we selected this place. Its about 7 min drive from the train station (the hotel will come in the electric car taxi to pick you up and will drop you back) if you decided to walk (which is a bit tiring especially with bags since its uphill) it will take you about 15min. We walked there and were out of breath when we got to the hotel. We were welcomed by beautiful 3 yr old Leonie the grand daughter of the owner of the hotel who came to help me with my bags!!!! how wonderful. The hotel is celebrating their 50 year anniversary and we were given a booklet explaining their history. How charming. Its a true family run hotel and they really take care of u. When we got to our room there was a hand written note congratulating us!! the rooms are spacious and very very clean. We had an amazing view of the Matterhorn. We wanted to have a late dinner but unfortunately it was too late and the restaurant was closed. Ruthe who was at the front desk was so apologetic and the next morning we left early and she was worried that we wouldnt have time for breakfast and was sincerely glad when we said we did. I felt like it was my mum taking care of us. Breakfast was fabuluos with half the things home made and fresh! They provided us with enough information about things to do in Zermatt. They have a fantastic wellness free of charge and this is the best place to relax after a tiring hike or sking trip. They have a steam room and sauna free of charge and a whirlpool for which you have to pay CHF 5.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you! It was nice having you here with us at the Bella Vista! We hope to see you again!

Best regards to Sri Lanka!

Your family Götzenberger-Perren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the Bella Vista a few days ago, another trip advisor search result, and it was even better than we had expected.

Fabienne, one of the daughters picked us up at the Zermatt train station and as our several days passed we were amazed at her people skills and her linguistic abilities and how easily and helpfully she conversed with the different cultures, most of whom, like us, had many questions.

We had a Matterhorn view room which cost a bit more but worth it just to wake up in the morning and see it from your bed or from your balcony! The mother and father (sorry can't recall their names) did the usual thorough Swiss work about the place, including sensational breakfasts with many home cooked items, jams, pastries etc. I really appreciated the fresh fruit on offer in the mornings as that is often hard to get in Europe.

On the last night we were too tired to go to down for breakfast so they served us up a light meal of Gezpascho soup, some terrific apple cake cooked up by "Dad" who was a baker in another life, and some pretty good wine. The Bella Vista has wireless in the common area but not in the rooms, though Fabienne said they were planning to get that operational in the future.

The Bella Vista is not for 5 star people but more for people who like local rustic, in this case done to perfection.

Zermatt, like everything in Switzerland is expensive but also booming with lots of cranes and contraction going on, so if Europe really is in an economic mess it has bypassed Zermatt for sure. There are countless restaurants, hiking trails and shops in the township to keep most people occupied. We liked both Zermatt and the Bella Vista a lot and plan to return in 2 to3 years.

Room Tip: Ask for a Matterhorn view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passdeplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you very much! It was nice having you here with us at the Bella Vista! We hope to see you again!

Warm regards from Zermatt!

Family Götzenberger-Perren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 111 in Zermatt
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#10 of 111 in Zermatt
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#8 of 111 in Zermatt
582 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 111 in Zermatt
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Address: Riedweg 15 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $154 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bella Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1962, Hotel Bella Vista is a family run chalet-style hotel, located on the outskirts of Zermatt, offering a panoramic view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is characterized by its personal, informal atmosphere as well as its charming chalet style rooms. You will be greeted by the scent of homemade creations baking in the oven. Enjoy the SPA with mountain view after a great day of skiing or hiking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing