We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”
Review of Bella Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Hotel
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

About a ten minute walk from the rail station, Bella Vista was a wonderful home away from home in Zermatt. Reviews complain about the steep climb, they shouldn't. You are in the Swiss Alps and it isn't that bad. Bella Vista is a family run establishment and they seem to be very proud of that fact and demonstrate that pride through exceptional service. The staff were warm, welcoming and helpful. Our room was in great condition and had everything we needed except wifi, which is available in the library, although It was slow. The staff also added a personal touch to the room by leaving some shortbread cookies. The hotel also had a spa and a small games room with fooseball and table tennis. Breakfast was fresh and tasty. Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony and a view of the Matterhorn.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XXXVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you! It was nice having you here with us at the Bella Vista! We hope to see you again!

Warm regards

Family Götzenberger-Perren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    39
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
104
176
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Bella Vista in June 2012. We can't say enough good things about this place and the warm and friendly family that run the Hotel. We had a wonderful room with a balcony looking straight at the Matterhorn. The entire place was immaculately clean. The food was delicious, much of it locally sourced; all served by staff that would do anything to please you. The location is so convenient to the train station and shopping. This is so much more rewarding than staying at a larger impersonal Hotel. We will definitely be going back to visit again.
Sally B. California

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you very much! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!

Warm regards from sunny Zermatt

Family Götzenberger-Perren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed here this August and we had a fantastic stay. My parents are from the US and my wife and daught and I live in Switzerland. The hotel is quaint, super clean and well run. The front desk staff were pleasant, helpful and attentive. The breakfast was very good with the traditional meats, fresh cheeses, breads, croissants and a orange juice squeezer that makes an instant, fresh cup of orange juice. The rooms were spacious and the rooms on the front side of the hotel face an unobtructed view of the Matterhorn. The beds were very nice and bathrooms were immaculate. The location is excellent. You are a 5 minute walk (steep hill) from the train station, but enough away from the main strip to be quiet and out of the way. You are also close to all the lifts and the Gornergrat train station. This is a perfect choice for summer. I can't wait until ski season to book this place and hit the pistes. You cannot go wrong booking this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you! It was nice having you here with us at the Bella Vista! We hope to see you again!

Warm regards

Family Götzenberger-Perren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have already visited some hotels around the globe but this one is the best I've ever been. Fantastic service, lovely rooms, very clean all around, excellent room prices for this beautiful place of Switzerland, absolutely delicious food with selfmade bakerys, an excellent flair for details all around the hotel and so on... just perfect! Many thanks to the family Götzenberger who gave us a brilliant stay in Zermatt. We will come back! :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear David!

We like to thank you for taking your time and writing some nice words about our hotel and us, thank you very much!!!

Hope to see you again very soon!

Best regards from Zermatt in spring time

Your family Götzenberger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Wow! I loved this place and will return as soon as I can. It is probably the best place I've ever stayed. It's not a 5 star hotel, but the location, the view, the accommodation, the food, and most of all, the lovely, warm, friendly family that owns and runs Bella Vista all makes the feeling of being there super special to me.

Room Tip: Room 12 has a spectacular view of the Matterhorn framed between a couple of pine trees. It's got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you!!!

Your family Götzenberger-Perren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We returned to the Bella Vista hotel after a few years and found that it still offered an exceptionally good breakfast, a great view of the Matterhorn from our window framed by tall evergreens, and a beautifully decorated lobby and breakfast area. I had looked through dozens of descriptions and reviews of hotels in Zermatt before deciding on the Bella Vista again and am very happy with my decision. It's not cheap but not as high as the premium hotels and provides everything I look for in a hotel. The price includes free pick up and drop off from the train station on their electric car, saving the taxi fare. We stayed three nights. Our room was one of the smaller ones, but was big enough, provided clever shelf space behind the bed, and a good mattress. There were plenty of electrical outlets for our growing number of gadgets that need to be recharged. BTW, I brought a compact adapter with four US style outlets that uses only one converter plug - one of the best purchases ever. The bathroom was roomy and clean with tub and shower head on a hose for soaking or showering. The family who runs the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful. Internet is free and reaches some of the rooms, but I had to go to the lobby to keep my connection up on Skype. Did I say that I love their breakfast, especially the selection of freshly baked breads and croissants?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne G, Inhaber at Bella Vista Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you very much! It was nice having you here with us!

Best regards from Zermatt to New Jersey!

Your family Götzenberger-Perren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at the Bella Vista in mid-June for four nights in a room with a balcony and view of the Matterhorn. We enjoyed our visit enormously. The room was spacious, well appointed and impeccably clean, the vista spectacular. Breakfast, with homemade breads, jams, as well as meats, cheeses, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc., made lunch unnecessary. We took advantage of the splendid spa twice. One would not expect to find a facility of this quality in a family-run hotel. There is both sauna and steam room, two Jacuzzis (with view of Matterhorn) and a solarium with chaise lounges (and again Matterhorn view). The showers and dressing areas are all constructed in high-quality stone, and there are more towels than one could use. There is also a library, a comfortable sitting room (with more books) and a terrace (again with Matterhorn view). Service, steeped for several generations in the same family, is supremely efficient, friendly and unobtrusive.

We should add that at breakfast guests are provided with little note cards with interesting quotations. The one we kept as a souvenir has Nietzsche (in French) and Plutarch (in English) as well as Berthold Auerbach, a 19th Century novelist and poet (in the original German). I had fun memorizing the latter and taking an “oral exam” on the day we left. The text reads, “Richtig denkende Menschen, die sich verkehrt ausdrucken, sind wie Uhren, die ganz gut gehen, aber falsh schlagen.” On this same card, guests were invited to the hotel’s terrace for an early evening aperitif. We attended this event. It was supremely well run, with a clear beginning and end, and with no sense of one’s being forced to make conversation with other guests, although we met two delightful couples, one from Japan, the other from California. The wines (poured gratis) were splendid, and the canapés (gratis as well) proved the perfect starter for an evening meal.

The Hotel Bella Vista is supremely well run and a great value. We could not have been happier here and are eager to return.

Room Tip: Our room with Matterhorn view was worth the price. Use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClovisNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#36 of 110 in Zermatt
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#11 of 110 in Zermatt
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Hotel

Property: Bella Vista Hotel
Address: Riedweg 15 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#15 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bella Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella Vista is a family run chalet-style hotel, located on the outskirts of Zermatt, offering a panoramic view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is characterized by its personal, informal atmosphere. A library, children's play area, piano, wireless service, Internet, computer and televisions are available for guests to use free of charge. You will be greeted by the scent of homemade creations baking in the oven. Enjoy our SPA after a great day of skiing or hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Bella Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing