We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Gornergrat
from $497.19
More Info
from $511.52
More Info
from $511.52
More Info
from $658.14
More Info
Reviews (4,956)
Filter reviews
4,956 results
Traveler rating
3,927
868
112
28
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,927
868
112
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train ride amazing views surrounding mountains monte rosa walked down swiss pass mountain peaks sunny day swiss alps cable car station weather hike clouds discount switzerland scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 4,956 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2019

Travel up the Gornagrat by amazing Cog wheeled train, stunning views all round and still laying snow. Well worth doing.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

We had an awesome day trip up to Gonergrat. We were fortunate weather was clear and views to matterhorn were downright stunning.

Trip up: We just made one of the last trains up, so didn't get to sit on "right side" which is where the views are at... we got plenty when we got up, and sat on the "left" on the way down ie the side we missed. They ask for additional monies for early seating on the train. For us, even if the timing worked, I wouldn't.

Gornergrat station at the top was good views, small little hike around the top was worth it.

Trip down: following guide book reccomendendations (Rick Steve) we did the #21 trail and were not disappointed. We also had a beer with wonderful view of matterhorn and surrounding range.

Overall great trip, lots of folks were doing mountain biking which looks like something I should aspire too as it looked so fun.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank DarkKnight1x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

We were very lucky to have a perfectly clear and sunny day with comfortable temperatures to take the railway from Zermatt to Gornergrat, the highest station. Even during the ride up, there are views worth photographing. But oh, once you get out at the station and start climbing higher, the views keep getting better. There is an elevator to take you to the level of the hotel where there are rest rooms as well as dining options. And if you climb even higher, around to the back of the hotel and to a viewing platform, you are rewarded with still better views and great photo opportunities. Your train ticket enables you to get out at different stations on the way up and/or on the way down, but once you get down, you can't use it to go back up.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Dobbstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

My pick -cant rave enough about how fantastic this place is. Luck was with us - wk2 May lots/plenty of snow for us to admire & be jealous of. Blue sky day - a few wispy clouds quickly moving...hiding then revealing...hiding then revealing the mountain peaks...simply stunning. Yes that includes the Matterhorn, but so many others & an array of glaciers. 4 hrs at the top quickly passed.
Yes it was busy at times - tourists a plenty as cog trains arrived & disgorged them. Didn't matter -- we found many different quiet places to simply sit and absorb the scenic views and the quietness.
If we'd allowed for more than 2 night in Zermatt, I'd have done every walk possible and spent time skiing/snowboarding.
The cog train trip is comfortable and simple to do. One tip for swiss rail pass holders - our pre-purchased Swiss rail pass was supposed to include this cog rail (return) trip Zermatt to Gornergrat, but the ticket office person in Zermatt was not familiar with the swiss rail pass we had nor the rail package we had pre-purchased from Australia. And even though the swiss rail clearly said on it that it did include the Gornergrat rail excursion, we were told we could not use it and had to purchase day tickets.

We ended up paying double what it normally costs - but I still loved it. Up there is a place in the world I'll never forget and actually the ticket fiasco will help me cement the memory - of that day and every view - the time the place...everything.

I hope I live long enough to be able to revisit Gornergrat again.

Date of experience: May 2019
5  Thank Sharon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

An historic rack and pinion railway up to the Gornergrat at 3,089m. Fabulous views across the valley to the Matterhorn, the Klein Matterhorn, Breithorn, Pollux, Castor, Lyskamm, Dufourspitze and many more. There is a lovely short round walk along the top of about 1km in total before a welcome drink at the cafe whilst admiring the view and watching the Alpine Choughs wheel and circle.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank DdraigGoch1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews