We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nothing too much trouble”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Zermatt, Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jcarden
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unwelcome Tired Middle Age Host - No Bath allow after 10:00pm!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stay in Mischable in Feb 2017 for one week. After a long day of travelling at the last part of the train transfer to Zermatt, we got a text message from Liz saying they can’t meet us at the station because they are busy with other groups, she told us just get a taxi, ok - as we know Zermatt well. Than two of our guest arrived a hour after us received the same message 20 mins before arrival, Liz said, "we can’t get you now as we are busy, here is the address just get in a taxi yourself.” Our guest told Liz they don’t know Zermatt it is their first visit, but Liz said is fine just show them the text message with the address on, so of course the taxi took them to a wrong apartment. Not a good start!
When we arrived at the foot of the apartment, we were meet with a tired middle age women call Liz, she appears running the apartment for the owner for a long time and clearly lost interest of her job. At the entrance we were told we cannot wear shoes inside, so from the front door on the left is the ski / shoes room which had the most awful smell coming from the 30 also pairs used dirty slippers at the corner that Liz will tell you to wear them. So four of us in this tiny space with our backpack on, suitcases in hands taking our shoes off before we were allow to move a feet further.
Next - Up to the apartment, immediately we were present a book of rules!
-when you leave the apartment, you are to leave your key in the un-lockable post box outside, but if the apartment got break in, it is your own responsibility not them but if you lost the key than again your fault, 200 chf charge for replacement.
-Oh, Liz will also spend the next 20 mins to ensure you understand her rules how to deal with your own rubbish, not the standard recycle staff inside the apartment, after 7 days stay you are responsible to take all six peoples rubbish in different type of bags and walk up the hill to a commercial area to dispose them.
-Not allow kitchen hood after 10:00pm
-Not allow running bath after 10:00pm - Apparently Liz said this is the rule in Switzerland.
Not once during our stay Liz contact us to check if we need any help. On the day we leave she was there to make sure she check through the apartment before letting us go. And of course nothing damaged and everything were there as they should.
But because she so worry about our apartment she let the downstair guest leave without walk round it with them and turn out their kids damage the B&O speakers and did not tell her.
Host should never judge your guest and should always treat them all the same.

We have seven ski trips this years and been to Zermatt the last three season, I would not recommend this apartment, you can easily found a nice hotel / apartment in Zermatt with the same cost or less but without the rules or a head teacher type of host to deal with.
For us this is not a holiday it was like you stay at your school friends house and their parents forever watch you, in case you damage their house, (Ha!! that would be free) not at a cost of over 5000 chf. Lesson learn and you have been warned.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 10, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am sorry that you felt this way about your stay. All feedback is welcome, and this is helpful because it is obviously very different to the kind of review we usually get, so we will make sure to take your comments for improvement on board.
Kind regards, Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucia B
1 review
“Nothing too much trouble”
Reviewed February 22, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Utterly wonderful. Lizzie and Angus welcomed us to .Zermatt weeks before we got there! They booked restaurants (and changed them for us with no fuss), ski passes and school and instructors..., They advised us about the train, the ski conditions, the lifts ... everything to make our holiday as straightforward as could be.

The apartments are absolutely lovely. They are filled with personal touches, delicious soaps, superbly equipped kitchens, such comfy beds and sofas and have a wonderful feel about them. Huge windows - without neighbours looking straight in - and a view of the Matterhorn to rival any other. An easy walk to the ski hire shop and the main lifts is very simple.

We would highly recommend Lizzie and Angus to anyone and their skilful management of all their guests, with their various demands and the apartments in general is admirable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2017
Thank you Lucia for such a generous review - and we are both so glad that you and the children all enjoyed this trip to Zermatt. It was so nice for us to see the apartments being used in the way we hoped they would be when we set them up - for families and friends to get together, ski, look at The Matterhorn, play card games, watch rugby, drink wine and just "be" after a hard day on the hill. And thank you for noticing some of the extra touches (especially the soap which I shall pass on to the lovely Cath Collins in Devon).
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back but in the meantime very best wishes for the rest of 2017 to you all. Lizzie and Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakequigl...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing chalet with great views of the Matterhorn. Lizzie and Angus were great hosts!”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our trip to Zermatt was made perfect by this amazing chalet. The views from the chalet were amazing each morning, you can see the Matterhorn from the deck and windows. The apartment is beautiful inside with plenty of space and top of the line amenities. The location makes it a 5-10 minute walk to the lifts and all the restaurants and shopping.

The best part about this booking is the couple who operate it, Lizzie and Angus. I reached out to Lizzie several months in advance and she made booking everything a piece of cake. She also exchanged close to 30 emails and several phone calls prior to our trip. She helped us plan every detail to our trip from rentals, restaurants, answered questions about the area, etc. Lizzie was responsive in all communication and ensured that we had all the necessary information for our trip to make it a success. The service that Lizzie provided in addition to booking was truly above and beyond. She went as far as helping us make dinner reservations and was a constant resource the entire week we were there. Lizzie and Angus made you feel as if you were part of their extended family with their attentiveness. I would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Zermatt to contact Lizzie.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verysnobb...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Flawless Week in Zematt in a Flawless Lux Flat”
Reviewed December 26, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I just concluded a spectacular week in Zermatt in The Mischabel apartment. From the first email inquiry many months ago, it was apparent that amazing quality of the experience would not be limited to the gorgeous, spotless flat that we were renting but rather would extend to every last detail of the visit. As a frequent and admittedly high-maintnance traveler, I tend to meticulously research all aspects of destinations. For me, that’s part of the fun of travel. As such, I was reluctant to surrender details to Lizzie…but am I glad I did. From the little things that tend to make the first day of a ski trip a hassle (particularly flying in with kids from across the ocean) such as collecting lift tickets, figuring out where to rent skis, picking up basic provisions to identifying and reserving the “go to” restaurants in Zermatt, Lizzie’s concierge work would make the Four Seasons envious and jealous. Her “secret” installation of a Christmas tree a few days before the holiday was an over-the-top touch that was the norm rather than the exception.

The location was great. The core of the town of Zermatt (the main Banhofstrasse) was no more than a five or six minute walk. The stroll to the primary Matterhorn Express lift was around ten minutes but (with Lizzie’s guidance) we stored our ski stuff at the lift so the walk was in normal shoes without carrying equipment. This is obviously different that ski in/ ski out locations (which essentially does not exist in Zermatt) but for us, the trade off of a charming village with tons of restaurants and shops (along with being able to store the skis at the lift) was worth the short walk in the morning and evening.

The apartment itself was perfect. Large enough to keep my two sons from killing each other and for everyone to have privacy. Totally clean and luxurious – great electronics, fully stocked kitchen, great linens, A+ water pressure and showers, easy access to washer/dyrer and killer view of the main event…The Matterhorn. Simply put, everything worked exactly as it should and it’s hard to overstate how significant that can be.

It’s hard to find faults of consequence. We are currently wrestling with our general philosophy of not want to go back to the same place time and time again as there simply cannot be a better set-up for a ski holiday. If the smile on everyone’s face is any indication, I’m certain we will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to do such a full review Bill. We really appreciate it and I am so pleased that our service and Zermatt both lived up to their billing. I know what you mean about feeling apprehensive to delegate some of the planning aspects of a trip but it gives me great pleasure to help make sure our guests get as much out of their trip to to Zermatt as possible without, I hope, being to bossy about it!
It sounds as though we may well see you at some stage next season and we will really look forward to welcoming you back to discover more of what is on offer here - particularly in
Italy.
In the meantime very best wishes to you all for a good start to 2017. Lizzie and Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thorn111
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic apartment in the heart of Zermatt!”
Reviewed December 19, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The Mischabel is a fabulous apartment with easy reach of everything Zermatt has to offer even giving us a fantastic view of the Matterhorn. Nothing is too much trouble for Lizzie and she makes your stay a real home from home. We will definitely come back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 21, 2016
Thank you so much Thea - it was lovely to meet you all and see you enjoying the apartment as well as the skiing and we are so pleased that you have already planned your return trip next winter! We will really look forward to welcoming you back!
Very Happy Christmas and a good start to 2017 to you all, Lizzie and Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julio007
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just Perfect !”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for 3 nights at Lizzie's Mischabel in Zermatt and had the most wonderful time.

The apartment has the most amazing views of the Matterhorn, is located in the center of town, and is beautifully decorated and fully equipped for every need. Attention to detail is truly unsurpassable...

We were 2 couples with 2 children.

Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thank you so much Nicholas - it was lovely to meet you all and have you with us and I am so glad that our Mischabel Apartment at Chez Nous was a successful base for you all while you were here. We will look forward to seeing you again next summer - and very best wishes until then, Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous apartment in the heart of Zermatt”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Thank you Lizzie and Angus for looking after us so well in your amazing apartment.
We had a fantastic time and are all agreed that our holiday in your apartment, and with all your help and advice, was one of our best.
The attention to detail, cleanliness of the apartment, the beautiful bed linen plus all the welcome goodies were fantastic, and really helped to make our holiday one to remember.
Nothing was too much trouble.
Hoping it won't be too long before we return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2016
Thank you so much Michael, Lucille and family - it was lovely to be able to host and to see you all getting so much out of your trip to Zermatt (and to know that your stay "Chez Nous" contributed so much to the success of your holiday). Do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soonish and very best wishes to you all for the summer.
Lizzie and Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing