We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent food - Gluten Free Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Zermatt

Old Zermatt
Ranked #38 of 195 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $15 - $82
Cuisines: Swiss, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Dinner is served from 11:30 AM until 10:00 PM
SF/Bay Area
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent food - Gluten Free Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Dining in Switzerland with Celiac disease was a bit if a challenge. Restaurants were either very accommodating or not at all and the trick was finding the former.

Old Zermatt was a great find with flavorful GF options and the best salads we had on our two week holiday in Europe. They even provided freshly heated GF rolls with dinner.

Service was not overly friendly - somewhat reserved. However, the overall ambiance was nice and the service was efficient.

We ate here twice - mostly for the assurance of a good gluten free meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldenmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    57
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant, good food,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Owner is very helpful, Harry/. Wait staff are ok but not used to questions. Harry is an old hand and handles everything superbly with grace and professionalism. Food tastes very good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank saintdax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
213 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had not reserved to go to the Old Zermatt restaurant so it was a spur of the moment decision encouraged by heavy snow! The welcome was less than warm and we nearly left but decided to stay due to the weather. We are glad we did as the food was very good. Between the three of us we tried three starters and three mains -we were too full for desserts! The starts were beautifully presented with lovely salad dressings. We had marinated salmon, Caesar salad with lovely chicken and a succulent goats cheese salad. The mains were just as good (apart from some strange gnocchi-esque things that came with the venison chop. The steak melted in your mouth and the rosemary encrusted rack of lamb was super. Washed down with a lovely French wine and slowly warming service we end having a lovely meal. Try it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This look at buildings from the 1600s - some are still being used - just added to the Zermatt experience and showed a glimpse of how everyday people lived. It wasn't just about the climbing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lakeviewtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Excellent and wholesome cuisine with good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate twice at the Old Zermatt over xmas/new year. It is a far cry from the old restaurant and has been vastly improved by its refurbishment. There are now three areas for dining and a central semi-enclosed bar area which is ideal for a drink either pre-dinner, or just on its own.
The food was all well cooked with a light touch to traditional and inventive dishes. The prices are reasonable for the standard of cuisine and the service is excellent. Most importantly the ambiance is just right for a dinner where you can have some conversation with your partner, without being drowned out by noisy neighbors. But neither is it quiet or dull. It is just right.
All the staff were helpful and served all our food and wine efficiently. They also spoke good English.
Among the hundreds of restaurants in this famous ski-town the Old Zermatt stood out to us as offering excellent food in a pleasant environment. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toofastcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Zermatt also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Old Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing