We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect holiday, a perfect charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Alpenroyal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alpenroyal
Ranked #76 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I loved everything about this hotel. Beginning with the Matterhorn view. Our room clean, comfortable and cozy -- perfect. The staff was extremely accomodating and helpful. Food was great, loved every meal. Compared to American hotels, this one was warm and friendly with a unique charm -- very European. Over the week, we became friendly with the other guests adding to a truly international experience.

This was a once in a lifetime holiday; Zermatt is quite expensive compared to other destinations, but if the opportunity arose, I would definitely book the Alpenroyal again.

Thank you Isabelle and team for a wonderful stay. I wouldn't change a thing.

Room Tip: Loved the elevator that brings you from Zermatt up the hill to the hotel. Also, loved the Rothhorn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juliet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 155 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great hotel! Our photos from the balcony, looking at the Matterhorn, are spectacular.

The trick is getting there. My Google Map showed a mere 850 meters (12 minutes) to walk from the train station to the hotel. In addition, my travel agent said we could call the hotel and they would pick us up at the train station. Sounds good! Well, we arrived on the Glacier Express shortly before 5:00 p.m. and decided to window shop a little before calling the hotel. By the time I called, the porter had left for the day, and they couldn't pick us up. No problem, we'll walk along all the interesting stores, dragging our roller bags. Bad! The distance is almost all uphill and we were panting and angry by the time we arrived.

Thankfully the receptionist calmed us down quickly by pointing out that we should have taken the elevator from the river up to the hotel next door, and then up a few steps to the Alpenroyal. It would have been nice to know about that elevator!! So, call ahead, or call before 5:00 p.m.

Otherwise, this was a great choice. The bartender/breakfast maitre d' was very helpful -- spoke 7 languages and had the energy of 7 people. The electric cart got us back to the train station with no problems. And, we got wonderful shots of the Matterhorn from our balcony.

I definitely recommend this one!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Matterhorn and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GenghisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

So nice to be wriying a positive review.
All the staff were so helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The rooms were well decorated and comfortable. We asked for a mountain view and every morning we woke up to see the matterhorn in its many guises.
The hotel is situated above the village(hence the views) but is easily accessed from the village by a lift.
It is within easy reach of the village centre, the Sunegga lift and both stations.
We had a lovely week with good food and excellent weather and can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spent a week at the Alpenroyal in Zermatt and were very pleased with our room and the view from our room and balcony. The hotel was clean and comfortable. ALL the staff were lovely. The food was good - we were on the half board option.
A special mention has to go to Miguel and Paulo, they kept us informed,entertained and very well fed.
The pool area was nice, but as the weather was so good we didn't use the indoor facilities much.
Our room had been updated 3 years ago and was fine-the other block of rooms are being updated/ refurbished as I write this.
The hotel is not far from the train station and the main street (via a tunnel and lift).
We expect to visit again in the future. This hotel is a gem.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the Matterhorne and the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireSusi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

The hotel was located within easy reach of the train station via a short walk to a tunnel then a lift. The staff were friendly and informative. The hotel offered great views of the Matterhorn and was in a good location within easy reach of the town’s amenities.

The hotel room was a bit dated with a shower only bathroom. The bed was comfortable.

The breakfast was good with an excellent cheese selection and it could be taken on the terrace with excellent views of the Matterhorn.

The room was expensive for what you got but that’s Switzerland!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EKSAYERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Traveller beware:May and October are months that are used by the locals to repair renovate and build the infrastucture.Some of the lifts are closed and also most of the hotels.Our hotel was open and located on the side of a hill. The view of the Matterhorn from our room was suberb.The room was spacious and the bathroom had all the modern amenities.There is no restaurant but a buffet breakfast is offered.Service was friendly

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a direct view of the Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valey1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a pleasant hotel with average rooms and a nice spa area. Excellent proximity to the Sunnegge Express and the ski bus stop. Easy walk into town via the tunnel. All-in-all a nice family hotel

Room Tip: ask for the ski rental discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyvdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental Zermatt
Hotel Continental Zermatt
#74 of 110 in Zermatt
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#51 of 110 in Zermatt
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpenblick
Alpenblick
#67 of 110 in Zermatt
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambiance
Hotel Ambiance
#55 of 110 in Zermatt
104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Matthiol
Hotel Matthiol
#46 of 110 in Zermatt
94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#72 of 110 in Zermatt
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alpenroyal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpenroyal

Address: Riedweg 96, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#65 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $167 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alpenroyal 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alpenroyal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenroyal Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing