We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cozy, friendly, helpful, well-managed hotel,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BELLERIVE Superior

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BELLERIVE Superior to your Saves list
BELLERIVE Superior
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedstrasse 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cozy, friendly, helpful, well-managed hotel,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Owners Katja and Mario are very helpful. Rooms are clean, well-appointed, and well-heated! Bar is quiet and relaxed, and spa area is also well-kept. Excellent place to stay, and note I was there with a 10 year old. Worked out fine. Note one thing about Zermatt in general, be prepared to walk in ski boots, with skis at the beginning of the day or end of the day.

Avena restaurant is nice, good ecelctic (for Zermatt) not inexpensive but service is excellent and owner Marcus is very helpful and are wait-staff. Same goes for Old Zermatt restaurant, where Harry, the owner is a also a cool, helpful guy, with good food and very constructive suggestions. Both worked with owner-managers of Bellerive to accommodate special dietary restrictions.

The hotel itself has a nice boot room and very ergonomic etc.

Good place to stay with very nice hosts.

Not Swiss love their hash-browns, called Rosti!

Room Tip: If you want no noise, would take a valley facing room, to avoid sounds of revelers at night. All roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saintdax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
188
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We experienced friendly service and great breakfasts. We will definitely stay at this hotel the next time we are in Zermatt. Every request was attended to promptly and ski passes could be purchased at the front desk. There is even a jacuzzi available which I didn't use but my friend said it was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtoGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The owners Katja & Mario impressed us with their hands-on management of the hotel. The service was excellent and it included transportation to/from the train station, recommendations and bookings of restaurants, purchase of ski lift tickets, etc. The room we stayed in was comfortable, very well appointed and quiet. It was also quite evident that a lot of thought had gone into the design and equipping of the guest rooms ... very meticulous in fact. The ski room is conveniently located in the basement and here you can store skis and dry out your ski boots. The hotel is in a good location. It is only a short walk to town and also to the bus stop where the free bus takes you to the ski lift stations. Bellerive would definitely be our preferred hotel when we next visit Zermatt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've stayed in this beautiful hotel for the last four years for our annual skiing holiday, but the improvement they made last year in restoring and enlarging the rooms with a view to the Matterhorn are simply marvellous: Windows from floor to ceiling, upholstered suite, bigger flat screen tv, Nespresso machine and tea making facilities and an incredible lightning concept are just the most important changes they've made...

And all this luxury is still available for a very decent price that, within the winter package, includes six days ski rent and ski pass, spa (small but nice), delicious breakfast with local foods (cheeses, meets, bread, yoghurt etc.) and even one three course dinner in the restaurant Avena next door.

And not to forget the amiable owners, Katja and Mario Noti and their friendly team! We will be back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Matterhorn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissGuyWinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have bben visiting this hotel over a peiod of 10 years and each year there are improvements.
It is a hotel Garni, but surrounded by very good restaurants for evening meals.
Not any more expensive than one expects in Zermatt, so good value,
The owner is hands on and keeps everything up to scratch.
Great for a comfortable economic stay in Zermatt

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Matterhorn are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIMONDARMSTRONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

An excellent hotel with friendly service and very nice rooms. The materials used to decorate the rooms are very high quality. Good location with lovely vieuws . Breakfast is OK with bacon and fresh orange juice every morning, the first hotel we ever had with fresh orange juice !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 368Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for just one night this weekend - and we just had a write a review because of the great experience! The hotel is run by Katja and Mario, an adorable couple who are really welcoming and will do anything to make your stay pleasant. They picked us up at the station (we called about 20 minutes before arriving) and were outstandingly hospitable, and made us feel right at home. I wanted to surprise my husband with something romantic, and had spoken to Katja about having a bottle of Prosecco sent up to the room while we were at the spa - she went above and beyond and even brought small tea lights and rose petals, the room looked great!

The rooms are really nice and surprisingly big (we stayed in a deluxe). We had a veiw of the Matterhorn, and a cute balcony. The rooms are really modern (with a chalet touch) as they were recently renovated. The rooms have complimentary tea and Nespresso machines, and the flat screen TV is also top-notch. They have a DVD library from which you can rent movies, which is great. The breakfast buffet is just what we needed - had all of your traditional breakfast foods along with some Swiss specialties.

The location of the hotel is also perfect - it's really close to the bus which brings you to the ski slopes, and a two minute walk from the 'centre' of the city. It's actually great that it's not right in the centre as there was no noise from the loud parties at night!

Overall, a super pleasant stay. If we were to return, we would definately stay here!

Negatives - the amenities in the bathroom were quite basic, and the spa was a bit smaller than expected (there were 5 other people there when we went and it was a bit cramped).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BELLERIVE Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BELLERIVE Superior

Property: BELLERIVE Superior
Address: Riedstrasse 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#3 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BELLERIVE Superior 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BELLERIVE Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellerive Superior Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing