We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP NOTCH FAMILY RUN HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Albana Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Albana Real
Ranked #80 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We have just returned home from one of the best and most enjoyable ski holidays ever!
Myself and three friends booked, at short notice a half board deal with Inghams and stayed 7 very comfortable and enjoyable nights at the Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt.
Having only now seen the previous review by "Discerning1001" I find it hard to beleave we have visited, and are talking about the same hotel, less than two weeks later!!.
Our recomendation to the world would be DO NOT AVOID THIS HOTEL, or you will be missing out on something just a little bit special in Zermatt!
We take a couple of ski holidays each year normally, and over the last 30 or so years have seen us in all the top ski areas in Europe, USA and Canada, so we speak with some knowledge of what is good and what is not so good, and the Hotel Albana Real and Zermatt are, take it from us very good. Yes a bit expensive for us Brits, but well worth it!
We enjoyed 6 days of skiing under sunny blue skys, with no long lift queues, stunning sceenery, and delightful mountian restaurants. Ok we had no new snow and it did get rather cold during the last couple of days of our visit, but over all it was brilliant skiing.
The Hotel Albana Real for us, is the best ski holiday hotel we have ever stayed in in Europe, spot on in almost every way. The welcome from the staff and owners, the food in all of the restaurants (we tried them all), the public rooms, the bedrooms, the wellness centre, the skiroom, even the little electric "milk float" that ran us and all our gear to and from the railway station, top notch service in every way!
Willy, Sophie and all their staff went out of there way to make our visit a very memorable and extremely enjoyable experience for our small party of friends.
Zermatt and especially the Hotel Albana Real are now firmly on our must do again list!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrunerYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 99 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

We are regular visitors to ski resorts in Switzerland and France: Champoussins/ Klosters/La Rosiere/Les Crosets/ Saas Fee/Zermatt. We stayed at the Hotel Albana Real between 26th Dec 2010 - 2nd Jan 2011 on HB deal.

Reception: Very helpful and efficient with all of our requests.

Bar/Lounge area: Stylishly furnished along the "art deco" (actually "art nouveau") lines advertised. However, someone needs to explain why a hotel which markets itself on the basis of "wellness" e.g. "rejuvenate your body in our wellness centre", dedicates it's main guest communal space to "smoking". It is the antithesis of "wellness" to have to sit in a hotel lounge and inhale the cigarette smoke of some guests and hotel staff. Unbelieveably, the staff come in for a smoke and will share their smoke with you and they even stand blocking the door to the bar (i.e. the exit) whilst so doing. Do the owners think that it adds an air of sophistication to have a "smoking lounge"? It doesn't. There were many unhappy guests who had no wish to sit in such an atmosphere and apart from the very small bar area, there is no alternative for non-smokers.

Rooms: Cosy (as described i.e. small) and housekeeping = poor. Our room was not hoovered once during the week, bathroom products were not replaced when required and bathrobes, which had been placed in the bath for replacement, were merely hung up again on the back of the bathroom door. Cannot beat going down to the "Wellness" area after a hard day skiing in a damp robe from yesterday! And when you get back from Wellness...dry your hair with your own hairdryer. The hairdryer in our room was very old and did not function well. Further, the mini bar (which is reasonably priced) was not restocked until we requested it.

Art Deco Restaurant: HB basis means a 5 course fixed menu each night. The staff were absolutely lovely - friendly and accommodating. However, there were not enough of them (not their fault and they worked tirelessly). The worst food of the week was the "Crab pancake" - a strange mix of crabmeat and sliced carrots wrapped inside a supermarket crepe. In fact, the food was generally awful as was "evidenced" 1) when Willy and Sophie (the owners) and their entourage dined next to us on Monday 27th Dec and went a la carte as opposed to the HB menu, and 2) on Thursday 30th Dec their teenage son and daughter dined next to us and also went a la carte.

Teppanyaki restaurant: excellent food but extremely expensive.

Thai restaurant: very good food and better value than the Teppanyaki. Very pleasant service and unusual environs in the basement in a room designed to look like the inside of a wooden ship. This was the best food of the week.

"Wellness" : a very small area with only 2 beds (hotel has 38 rooms). The pool is very small but pleasant and the hot tub was good until the final day when it was the "luke tub". Despite being brought to the attention of the hotel by other guests, no-one came to deal with it. We did not use the sauna. The owner's teenage son certainly liked to make use of the pool and was quite a nuisance one day splashing around etc etc when other guests were trying to relax.

Owners and their attitude to guests: Willy and Sophie (and their now teenage children (see reviews below)) give the impression that guests are something of an inconvenience. No matter what your room rate etc, this is their territory and don't you forget it. At the New Year's Eve Gala Dinner the hotel was suddenly overrun with their friends and family. At the champagne reception, it felt like we were gatecrashers until they all disappeared off to a private restaurant to enjoy their party. Meanwhile, at the Gala Dinner, paying guests (at 80ChF per head (if booked in advance) or 180ChF per head if booked that week) were "treated" to very average food and service. Again, waiting staff were under immense pressure and had only been provided with 1 extra member of staff to cope with a full restaurant required to sit at 8pm after the champagne reception.
Not once during the week did anyone from the hotel ownership enquire as to our stay etc. They present as exceptionally rude people and their children do not behave well.

I would not go back to the is hotel and I do not recommend it. It lacks amenity and there are serious service issues which need rectifying.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Discerning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I stayed here with my parents and fellow travellers on a Traffalgar tour around Switzerland and loved it. Although the weather wasn't all that good on the day we were at Zermatt, I still loved it! The hotel was really nice, it was very clean, comfortable and the decor was lovely. I could have stayed here a week. The location is great, it is walking distance to the village, shops, restaurants and train station. I could just imagine this place being a hive of activity in winter, with all the winter sports etc. We were even told at Christmas time there is a Christmas tree infront of every house, how beautiful!! Definately coming back to Zermatt and to Hotel Albana Real.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buggalugs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

The porter met us at the railway station in an electric powered vehicle (no cars in Zermatt). We were surprised to find our room had a view of the Matterhorn from a small balcony - only saw it once in 3 days though! It was a quirky old fashioned, charming room. The bed was on the diagonal, but it all fitted in well. Plenty of space. Beautiful bathroom, but inadequate overbath shower which flooded room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doodlepidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed half board through Inghams, great room with Matterhorn view, good location minutes from the Zermatt's main street.
Food is excellent whether the japanese, thai or french style resturant.
Great walking whether to Holni Hut, or the lower walks. You need to add the cost of the train and lift passes to your holiday budget, not cheap but you cannot do a walking holiday without. Also buy some walking poles.
Not really advertised but plenty of people skiing in August.

Stayed: August 2010
Thank MarathonmanYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I went to this hotel with Ingham. The hotel is great, staff are very polite , friendly and helpful. Great location, great Matterhorn view with balcony. Clean room.They have great Chef who cooks delicious meal. The only problem I found in the room was the matress was too soft and you can easily sink into it. They have internet so you can check you email and so on.
Would recommend this hotel.Don't forget to get a massage from the cute masseur, his name is Nils.:-)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravel2010UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

this was part of trafalgar tours best of switzerland - this was a real nice hotel - the included dinner was good - the breakfast buffet was good - the room had a nice balcony - but onbly a comforter on th ebesd - i would stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trinity-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matthiol
Hotel Matthiol
#43 of 110 in Zermatt
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
#54 of 110 in Zermatt
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Daniela
Hotel Daniela
#46 of 110 in Zermatt
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel National Zermatt
Hotel National Zermatt
#32 of 110 in Zermatt
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albana Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albana Real

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 19, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#49 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#51 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $251 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Albana Real 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt - A unique address at the foot of the Matterhorn The Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt welcomes you to a refined yet familiar atmosphere. The luxurious cosy rooms, expressing a touch of Art-Deco, invite you to enjoy tranquility and relaxation. Our stylish smoking lounge as well as our cozy bar boasts a superb collection of whiskies, wines, cocktails and cigars. Depending upon your mood, dine in an exotic atmosphere in one of our authentic Asian restaurants, « Rua Thai » or « Fuji of Zermatt ». To complete your stay, visit our spa and wellness area, the ideal place to unwind and revive yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Albana Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albana Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing