We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy and really good sauna area”
Review of Hotel Albana Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Albana Real
Ranked #81 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Reviewed March 12, 2009

I've stayed in Albana real for 2 days during my snowboarding trip in Zermatt. Hotel have good location - similar close to both main cable/railroad lifts to the mountains. about 5-7 minutes walking distance. AR is really next to the main street with all the restaurants, shops etc.

I've booked single room - the bed was fantastic! very comfortable and big. inside of the room it is really quiet - so good for sleeping and switch out from civilization. the lobby/bar zone expose to relax and cosy. the staff polite and helpful. special item not to be missed - pool/sauna area - it's really nice. unlimited towels and drinking water as a plus. it's so good to warm up your bones after a full day skiing/riding!

Thai and Japanise restaurants downstairs - i have not dinner there, but usually they were full in the evenings.

the price is reasonable for Zermatt.

final impression - i would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Albana Real
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2009

Travelled to ski at the Hotel Albana Real with two friends for a ski vacation. Thrilled with the hotel. Great ski package, excellent meals, friendly service, great room, etc.

Only complaint was that we couldn't stay for the full week due to other obligations.

Would definitely recommend the hotel.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank rbosl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

You're at home as soon as your train stops at Zermatt. You will be picked up and if lucky, your bags will be brought up by the owner, who along with his wife are always around. From every aspect the the people here happily jump to help out. The breakfasts are very good, lot's of variety, and if you want a live lobster for dinner, they have a Japanese steak/sushi/seafood joint that is really good. Locatation is perfect for catching the Ebuses , and very close the the Mattehorn lifts. Free wireless was an extra bonus, and a real nice Jaccuzzi,wet/dry sauna area for getting out the kinks. Great value, Mattehorn view...........Highly suggest...........Dan Cooke

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DCookeDallasTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

We stayed at the Albana Real for a night in July as part of a Trafalgar tour and it was one of the highlights of our trip. The town of Zermatt itself was lovely and the hotel was enchanting.

The room was very comfortable (although more pillows needed!)with a lovely view of the Matterhorn. The staff were friendly and efficient, the restaurant was fine (although not outstanding) and the internet connection worked. The decor of the hotel was lovely and I think this plus a comfy room with a view made it a standout for me.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scarlett345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We stayed here for a week in June 2007 and had a lovely time. The hotel is on the edge of the town centre, only a couple of minutes from the shops and restaurants but away from the bustle. It has good facilities and great restaurants but isn't large or impersonal - in fact the staff are very friendly without being overly imposing. They all speak great english as well. Only one thing stops this getting a 5/5 rating - the internet terminal didn't work during our stay. And one other note of caution - the photo on the Hotel's website suggests it is isolated and with a backdrop of trees. It isn't - there are other buildings on 3 sides and the river on a fourth.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mountains_vs_Beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Carrabassett Valley Maine
14
Reviewed June 21, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Switzerland and Austria.
We spent two nights at the Albana Real in Zermatt and loved it.
What a great spot for a romantic getaway. All the rooms have balconies and ours looked out at the Matterhorn.The couple who own the hotel also run it and they were very attentive to our needs. Not only were the rooms nice, but there is also a beatiful spa area with pool sauna and steambath.

We did not eat dinner there, but the breakfast buffet was great. Sindo, the porter met us at the train station and picked up our bags. He was very nice and made us feel like he was truly happy to be helping us.

I would reccomend this hotel to everyone that is planning a trip to Zermatt.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2005

Paid top dollar for a "Romantic Getaway" Package and it was disastrous from the start. Our first night there we had dinner with the owners screaming kids flicking matches, while she dined with friends in a quiet dining area seperate from ours. This was our 'candlelight dinner for two'. We got a wakeup call the next morning at 7AM, we didnt ask for it. We put a do not disturb sign on the door, the staff came in and disturbed us anyway. We wanted to use the wellness center but couldnt because the owners screaming demonic children turned it into their playground. The staff was cold and unwelcome. I spoke to the owner about her reckless kids (ages 4 to 14) running amok like they were in their backyard and completely unaware this was a hotel resort for paying guests, on a romantic getaway and we couldnt wait to getaway from her kids. She never apologized but said something would be done. She sent a box of candy to the room. This was the most disrespectful and inconsiderate experience of my life. P.S. The Thai restaurant was closed. We paid for that too.

8  Thank The-squawman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Julen
Romantik Hotel Julen
#19 of 111 in Zermatt
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#60 of 111 in Zermatt
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Berghof Zermatt
Hotel Berghof Zermatt
#79 of 111 in Zermatt
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albana Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albana Real

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 19, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#49 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#51 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $231 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Albana Real 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt - A unique address at the foot of the Matterhorn The Hotel Albana Real in Zermatt welcomes you to a refined yet familiar atmosphere. The luxurious cosy rooms, expressing a touch of Art-Deco, invite you to enjoy tranquility and relaxation. Our stylish smoking lounge as well as our cozy bar boasts a superb collection of whiskies, wines, cocktails and cigars. Depending upon your mood, dine in an exotic atmosphere in one of our authentic Asian restaurants, « Rua Thai » or « Fuji of Zermatt ». To complete your stay, visit our spa and wellness area, the ideal place to unwind and revive yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Albana Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albana Real Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing