We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Sonne, Zermatt” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonne Zermatt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Menzingen, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Sonne, Zermatt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed there for 5 days. Whilst there are many hotels within Zermatt of the same rating, I get the feeling this is quite special as Family Forster are extremely caring and friendly people. They certainly know how to make you feel welcome and it made our stay that more enjoyable.
We actually live in Switzerland and this certainly rates in the top 5 hotels we have stayed.
Furthermore they cater for dogs as well. Our dog is not small, 50 kgs Bernese Mountain Dog (Benner Sennunhund), every morning he got a treat from the kitchen.

Extremely warm atmosphere, hospitable and welcoming owners would definately stay there.

Location wise, it is a little walk up hill from the town centre but only 5 mins, the hotel makes up for that.

Room Tip: If you are going for a suite or junior suite, for the price difference take the suite. Sufficient sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Graham,

Thank you very much for your time spent on writing this review and the compliments for the hotel. We are happy that you had a good time with us and are looking forward welcoming you back with Rino anytime in the future!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
105
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at Hotel Sonne. We would highly recommend Hotel Sonne to anybody who ever get a chance to go to Zermatt. Their buffet breakfast was excellent. They had a ski room for all of our equipment with boot warmers to keep your feet dry and toasty. Their inside and outside hot tubs were the perfect way to relax after skiing all day long. Their hospitality was amazing! Any questions you had they will be more than willing to help. They are a very family oriented and friendly hotel. Highly sugested! =)

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jovin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Owner at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Jovin,

Thanks a lot for your nice review. We are happy to hear that you had a good time with us and we hope to see you again very soon in the Swiss Alps!

Best wishes from all the hotel Sonne Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I wanted to surprice my fiance for his Birthday with a romantic Weekend in Zermatt. I Booked this hotel based on the comments other people left on Trip advisory. I work as a Station Manager for a tourism aeronautical broker and my fiance for United Nations, we have both spent our lifes travelling all over the World, staying in hundred of Four, Five Star hotels and Resorts, Boutique Hotels. This is One of the most complete, well cured, well taken care of Hotels We have ever stayed in. Its so clean, an amazing Orange spice smell is all over the structure, the staff is so so nice and ready to go that extra step to make your Holiday be something Special. The Food is Great and nothing left without care and Good Taste. The SPA, Thermal Bathes are just perfect, giving you the Chance to put on the robe and walk from the room to the Pool Or SPA with direct Access. Oh, the Out door jacuzzi is superb. The owners and the staff Run this hotel with pure Love and dedication. Book this hotel, you will become a fix guest if back in Zermatt. We will always Book this hotel from now on when in Zermatt, no doubt about it.

Room Tip: We got an Upgrade to a Junior Suite Since as a Gift for my fiance that had his Birthday but the Roms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Owner at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thanks a lot for having taken some time to write this amazing review. We are delighted that you had a good time with us at hotel Sonne and we would be happy to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards from the Matterhorn village.

Hotel Sonne & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longport, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My friends and family stayed at the Sonne for a week at Christmas. I had never traveled to Zermatt before and was not familiar with the hotel at the time of booking. I have traveled extensively and was worried that my somewhat demanding expectations may not be met.

I could not have been more pleasantly surprised and even overwhelmed by the gracious, first class service and amenities of the hotel and its family run staff... Every person greeted us with a smile, the hotel facilities are completely first class (small gym, steam therapy, pool and jacuzzi), the rooms are spacious and casually elegant, the bar/restaurant is an intimate relaxing area that feels like a private lodge and the food was outstanding.

The family and long time staff of the hotel however are what truly set it apart. They are so friendly and genuinely dedicated to your needs that we felt like we were leaving an overseas family members house instead of a hotel at departure. We took pictures together, hugged and even teared up.. amazing...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Stephen Z,

Thank you so much for writing about your experience with us. It was a pleasure to host you and we are looking forward to see you again soon. We are truly happy that you chose us and that you enjoyed your stay in Zermatt.

Sunny regards from the Swiss Alps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Sonne for 7 nights over the New Year time, and had a wonderful experience. From reserving our room to the minute we checked out, the family was so accommodating and friendly, my boyfriend and I actually missed them when we left!

The room was cozy, charming and very clean, and every request we had was fulfilled in record time.

The spa area was beautiful, and we loved the outdoor hot tub.

The bar and breakfast area- also beautiful and cozy and very Swiss.

I would recommend this 5-star service hotel to anyone going to Zermatt, and if I could would go back every winter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPL0227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and are looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Sunny regards from Zermatt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epalinges,vaud
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We have decided to go to hotel Sonne based on very good ratings in Trip advisor and Booking.com, we had high expectations and i have to say we have been so happy here, from a perfect welcoming at the arrival to the end the staff has exceeded our expectations, after wonderful ski days, just go to the spa with a choice of different hammam.... Then to the pool and the outdoor Jacuzzi. In the ski room you will even find a shoes warming system.... We willmreturn to Hotel Sonne next year for shure.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesbiolles1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your nice comments and taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are happy to read that you had a great time at hotel Sonne and we are looking forward to host you again soon.

Sunny regards from Zermatt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A lovely, cozy and pleasant hotel with great service, good dining and bar, and kind and hospitable family atmosphere. Quiet place a little up hill nearby the central square. Excellent service. Relaxing swimming pool with massage and termarium to end the ski day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Elena M,

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write about your experience with us. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Sunny regards form Zermatt!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.5 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#17 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#13 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resort Hotel Alex
Resort Hotel Alex
#15 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne Zermatt

Property: Hotel Sonne Zermatt
Address: Metzggasse 35 | Postfach 121, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonne Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing