We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$294
View deal
Priceline$294
Hotels.com$294
Agoda.com$294
eDreams$294
ZenHotels.com
Lol.travel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveler rating
458
51
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
458
51
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor jacuzzi train station main church post skiing ski weekend family hotel the hotel staff small hill excellent facilities long weekend stayed for nights recommend hotel junior suite excellent hotel shuttle service quiet at night main part
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 518 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just got home from Our fifth stay in Zermatt, for Christmas week, but our first stay at the Hotel Sonne.

My wife and I booked a Jr. suite facing South, and we did not get a stunning view of the Matterhorn, but considering that we see it all day long while skiing, this is not a problem. We always stay Half board (Breakfast and Dinner included) when traveling in the Alps, and the Sonne really presents a wonderful mufti course dinner menu. If there are dietary concerns or necessary changes desired, the Dinning Staff actually preempts your request by asking each table if the menus suits. We enjoyed the prefixed offerings for seven nights, but witnessed tweaks form neighboring tables with no one leaving un-satisfied. The wine list was great and the overall presentation rivals any European 5 star Restaurant. Breakfast is an ever changing buffet style, and we found it to be a perfect start to each adventurous ski day.

The reception desk is staffed by true Professionals, who know only to make each guest feel welcome and important. It is also a comforting change to learn that the staff is completely internet savvy, and I have experienced almost immediate responses to emails, be it form my home in the USA or from the train riding from the Swiss Airport.

Indoor / outdoor hot tubs, an indoor lap pool and a whole floor dedicated to different aroma therapeutic steam rooms, made for a great "down time" session after each day cruising the mountains.

A high recommendation for this family owned and operated establishment.

Gregory Toro
Exton, PA USA

Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank GToro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Gregory,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments! It was a pleasure hosting you and we are really pleased to hear that you had a fantastic time with us. We are looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Sunny regards from Zermatt to Pennsylvania!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went to Zermatt for Christmas, and we could not have picked a better place to stay. The staff was so welcoming and helpful, from the owners to the housekeepers. Every day started off with a great breakfast and ended with a swim in the pool before dinner. In between the staff gave us advice on where to ski, helped us get to and from the mountain, made dinner reservations, and most of all made us feel at home. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Patrick M,

Thank you so much for your nice review and for choosing our hotel for your past Christmas stay. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family and we are truly looking forward to host you again in the near future.

Sunny regards from Zermatt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently and it was one of the best experiences. The people who work there were amazing - very friendly and helpful with everything we needed - advise of food, skiing, sightseeing etc. I feel this was just a 5-star level of hospitality. After we checked out and went skiing, they not only kept our bags, but we could also come back and take a shower and change before heading out of town. Will always come back here.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilsen_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Pete,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. To keep your luggage is really the least we can do. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to have you coming back in the near future.

Sunny regards to you, your wife and your friends

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed at Sonne during our short 5-day holiday in Zermatt... I was very grateful to all the people who left their lovely comments and recommended this place... It was wonderful, starting from the very friendly pickup at the train station, and throughout all the stay... Every single member of the hotel stuff was kind, helpful and very sweet. Rooms have been recently refurbished and are spacious and very cosy... Lovely view from the balcony... Yummy breakfasts... AMAZING pool and jacuzzi area... Very nice and tidy... Breathtaking place for jacuzzi outside right next to the waterfall... =) 4 different types of steam rooms and really nice relaxation area... Great gym... What is most amazing that every little detail is made with love and attention...

The place is located just few steps away from the main street, which is a huge advantage, as because of this, it is very quite and peaceful at night...

We loved this place very much and will definitely be staying there next time we visit Zermatt. =)

Room tip: Junior suite is worth the money and is spacious, cosy and has a lovely view over the mountains...
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NataliaStavskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Natalia,

Thank you so much for writing about your experience with us. It was a pleasure to host you this time and we are looking forward to have you again soon. We are truly honored that you chose us and that you enjoyed your stay.

Sunny regards from Zermatt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sonne after a recommendation from our Travel agent. He couldn't get a room for us, but I was able to after making contact with the hotel directly, and I am so glad I did. Every request was catered for and the staff and owners were absolutely delightful. We enjoyed experiencing the new Wellness area, spa and pool and dined in the restaurant both nights (fondue the first night) as well as breakfast. The food and service was fantastic. I can't wait to go back and for alot longer this time!

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catherineh610
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Catherine,

Thank you for taking your time to write your nice comment about your trip in Zermatt. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and hope to host you for a longer time in a near future.

Sunny regards from the Swiss Alps

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews