We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous pool, helpful friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Ranked #43 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous pool, helpful friendly staff”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Spent a week here. The rooms are comfortable and clean, if not spanking modern. The hotel is really convenient for the Gornergrat railway. We enjoyed using the retro and smartly decorated bar and lobby. the food was delicious and the buffet breakfasts had a good variety including plenty of fresh fruit. The pool was a really good way to relax after a day skiing. Wifi was reliable and available throughout. Maybe our expectations were low after the rather negative rating but we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view - when the sun comes out the Matterhorn looks fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 500snowlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans K, Manager at Ambassador Hotel Zermatt, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Travelers,
We've taken your past comments about the Hotel Ambassador-Zermatt to heart and are happy to announce that we have just completed a renovation of our guest rooms and have a new management team in place, returning the hotel to its four-star level of service.
As the new director of Hotel Ambassador, the staff and I assure you of our motivation to give you the best care and attention when you next stay with us.
Looking forward to seeing you in Zermatt at the Welcoming Reception for the opening of our winter season on Friday, December 19th, 2014.
Complete information about our winter program and reservations is available on our website
Your host
Hans Krebs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    119
    46
    22
    10
See reviews for
90
91
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Ok staff, the receptionist was very friendly.
I liked the pseudo modern lobby and loved the pool and spa area.
But, as soon as you enter the elevators it starts stinking old, used carpet... Rooms are the same -old and i could hear ppl wakin up at 5:30 to go piii...
View was stunning!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Rem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans K, Manager at Ambassador Hotel Zermatt, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Travelers,
We've taken your past comments about the Hotel Ambassador-Zermatt to heart and are happy to announce that we have just completed a renovation of our guest rooms and have a new management team in place, returning the hotel to its four-star level of service.
As the new director of Hotel Ambassador, the staff and I assure you of our motivation to give you the best care and attention when you next stay with us.
Looking forward to seeing you in Zermatt at the Welcoming Reception for the opening of our winter season on Friday, December 19th, 2014.
Complete information about our winter program and reservations is available on our website
Your host
Hans Krebs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for just one night. Our room had a view of the Matterhorn and we didn't even pay for a view! Staff were all very friendly, beds were so comfortable, everything was clean, big balcony, lovely pool area, buffet breakfast had lots of choice, WiFi worked fine and the location is wonderful. The rooms however need a huge makeover to appear more modern. And the kitchenette was just a waste of space - there wasn't even any appliances to use! However, I would return to the hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EmilA91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans K, Manager at Ambassador Hotel Zermatt, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Travelers,
We've taken your past comments about the Hotel Ambassador-Zermatt to heart and are happy to announce that we have just completed a renovation of our guest rooms and have a new management team in place, returning the hotel to its four-star level of service.
As the new director of Hotel Ambassador, the staff and I assure you of our motivation to give you the best care and attention when you next stay with us.
Looking forward to seeing you in Zermatt at the Welcoming Reception for the opening of our winter season on Friday, December 19th, 2014.
Complete information about our winter program and reservations is available on our website
Your host
Hans Krebs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Good things about hotel - pool/spa, bar/lounge & drink service, half-board dinners (although no choice of dish), good humour & willingness of staff, Fondue restaurant

OK things about hotel - breakfast: although they seem a bit understaffed, competence of staff, location, bedroom, wi-fi

Indifferent things about the hotel - slippery steep path down to entrance, no pick up from station as promised, general flakiness at the edges (e.g. lack of bathrobes, loo roll in public area mens' toilet once), multi-coloured décor of lounge & lounge furniture, décor and 'feel' of half-board restaurant (like a cafeteria), bathroom - size and decoration and fitment quality.

But we had a good time and once you've worked it out the hotel is perfectly comfortable.

Room Tip: One must have a Matterhorn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Otway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans K, Manager at Ambassador Hotel Zermatt, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Travelers,
We've taken your past comments about the Hotel Ambassador-Zermatt to heart and are happy to announce that we have just completed a renovation of our guest rooms and have a new management team in place, returning the hotel to its four-star level of service.
As the new director of Hotel Ambassador, the staff and I assure you of our motivation to give you the best care and attention when you next stay with us.
Looking forward to seeing you in Zermatt at the Welcoming Reception for the opening of our winter season on Friday, December 19th, 2014.
Complete information about our winter program and reservations is available on our website
Your host
Hans Krebs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is well located near train station, ski train and rental station.
It is a little basic, but price at the same time relatively low. They have bar, swimming pool and sauna. Also they provide a transfer to train station. Rooms are not new , but as I sad - the price reflect this.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VDib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans K, Manager at Ambassador Hotel Zermatt, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Travelers,
We've taken your past comments about the Hotel Ambassador-Zermatt to heart and are happy to announce that we have just completed a renovation of our guest rooms and have a new management team in place, returning the hotel to its four-star level of service.
As the new director of Hotel Ambassador, the staff and I assure you of our motivation to give you the best care and attention when you next stay with us.
Looking forward to seeing you in Zermatt at the Welcoming Reception for the opening of our winter season on Friday, December 19th, 2014.
Complete information about our winter program and reservations is available on our website
Your host
Hans Krebs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
168 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Spent Xmas 2013 there for a week with family (2 grown up daughters and one future son in law). Travelled via Iglu & Inghams and review is based on value for money as there are certainly some much posher hotels in resort - but then those are all at higher cost and Zermatt itself is not cheap of course.

Location: we found very good, less than minute to the train station and Gornergrat lift plus ski bus to the Sunnegga train lift and the Matterhorn lift (which was furthest from hotel so takes sometime to get there). Could walk to anywhere in main village and indeed to the Sunnegga lift (although that was easier without skis).

Staff/service: we found everyone helpful and friendly. Especially on reception and in the dining area.

Food: we were half board and pleasantly surpassed to find this included afternoon tea at 4pm including a lovely slice of a different cake each day. The breakfasts were good and offered variety. Dinner was 5 courses - one of which was invariably a salad course of lettuce or similar so not quite as overfilling as might expect. Be aware that guests on half board use the dining room on the lower floor (not the main restaurant up on ground floor which receives outside diners - apparently you can pay extra to the Hotel to take your meals there - we didn't bother). Most of the meals were good and she of the courses were excellent. We were also very pleased that the staff were always willing to change dishes if something on the set menu didn't appeal and some of the substitute meals provided were very good.

Accommodation: as flagged up in other reviews was adequate and what one might expect for the star rating. All was clean although the furnishing looked a little tired. This did not detract from the stay.

Other facilities used: They had a lovely pool which was never over busy and was a welcome location to rest before supper including the small jacuzzi (max 5 people). There was also a smallish Sauna room off the swimming pool behind an obscure glazed door (max probably 6/7 people all sitting). When we were there people kept their bathing suits on in the sauna, possibly because a few English guests, although that may not always be the case as aware other hotels specify that as a nude area.

Room Tip: Not sure worth paying extra for a Matterhorn view - our daughters room had tree partially obscuring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just back from a week in zermatt. The tour operator was Inghams and we stayed half board at the Ambassador. Food was great, staff friendly and helpful, shared/common areas very pleasant. The rooms were clean and functional. Picked up a last minute deal and couldn't really fault the hotel, zermatt, inghams etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 110 in Zermatt
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Zermatt

Property: Ambassador Hotel Zermatt
Address: Spissstrasse 10 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine-style Group-oriented Hotel, comprising three 5-story structures linked by public rooms. We are delighted to inform you that progress on the complete renovation and re-decoration of all the Ambassador's rooms and suites, including bathrooms, is going very smoothly and to schedule! Demolition and cabling complete, walls being painted, new windows and floor boards being installed. Next step furniture. We can't wait to show our clients the result of this long-awaited change! See you in December 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HRS, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zermatt Ambassador Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing