We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Zermatt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel National Zermatt
Ranked #33 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The National holds the card that trumps all hotels in Zermatt. Opposite the Sunegga lift it's easily the best location, no need for long walks to the lift or squashing on the bus. We were given a warm welcome and complimentary drink at the bar (followed by another!), our room was great, although no Matterhorn view but when you're skiing in its shadow every day it was no bother. Hearty breakfasts each morning with eggs cooked to order, the staff were always willing to assist. The spa was great, with hot tubs, saunas, steam rooms and a crazy shower the goes from hot to icy alpine cold!
Highly recommended for couples and families. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lisamarietay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 271 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

service was exemplary, staff very friendly, clean, amazing food, lovely rooms. the hotel is located in the heart of zermatt. i can really recommend this hotel - you will have a fantastic time in the most beautiful place in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a perfect location directly across from the fastest lift in Zermatt the takes you directly in to the high alpine. The atmosphere is pure Swiss chalet with exceptional service complimented with phenomenal cuisine.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with a large group in February of this year. What can I say? The staff were very friendly and incredibly accommodating, always eager to help us out with booking trips, advice on where to eat, visit etc. - not an easy task with 30+ people.

Food was very good, breakfast buffet was excellent with plenty of hot coffee to keep us all going. There were also speciality nights on offer with local entertainment.

Rooms were a good size, all seemed to have balconies and some have amazing views of the Matterhorn. They were kept immaculately clean with an evening turn down service as well as fresh fruit daily.

For those in need after a day on the slopes there is also an excellent spa and massages are available.

Location wise you can't beat this, a stones throw from the centre of the town, ski rental shops within 1 minute, access to the Gornergrat railway 2 minutes away, and the lift is across the street.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizzmo318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations in cleanliness, location and service. We would highly recommend staying here and would definately stay here again. The staff are warm, friendly and extremely helpful. They go above an beyond to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel Manager, Michael made us feel like family, was always available to answer any questions and help us with our stay in Zermatt.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNationalZ, Geschäftsführer at Hotel National Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Chris,
I want to jump at this chance to thank you for your confidence in our Hotel National Zermatt and our services. There is no better compliment than that you felt @ ease and found everything according to our promises!

It is not our sole objective to meet your needs but to beat them and to inspire you. Awesome reading your words here that we have achieved our objectives and, again, thank you that you are sharing your enthusiasm with us and others.

For your next holiday time we have noted your likings regarding your room and we will do everything in our power to correspond to your preferences. When the mountains are beckoning next time we are looking very much forward to seeing you here again!

With sunny greetings from the “National” to the shores of Lake Ontario!
Your Michael Bresser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were a group of 12 (6 couples) and our whole experience was wonderful. The staff was very accommodating and attentive, the food (buffet and a la carte) was very good. I would highly recommend the Swiss speciality night which included entertainment. The rooms were sparkling clean, the bed inviting and there was lots of storage in the bedroom. When we got back from skiing there was always fresh fruit waiting in our room. Loved that in the ski storage room our boots could be left on warming racks. There is a lovely spa with whirlpool etc. however be warned that in the sauna and steam rooms nudity is normal. We were close to everything - ski rentals, lifts, restaurants and shops. A special thanks goes to Michael the manager for going above and beyond (literally as he guided us to the Italian side to ski) and making our stay most memorable!

Room Tip: The upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNationalZ, Geschäftsführer at Hotel National Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Julia,

on behalf of the entire Hotel National Zermatt team a BIG THANK YOU for your time and your great feedback! We very much appreciate your overall excellent rating.

We thoroughly enjoyed looking after you as our guests and it is, amongst other things, due to comments like yours that we feel even more encouraged to live our passion for exceptional, surprising and first-class service every day.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in near future! Please let us know if there is anything, we may do for you.

With best regards from Zermatt in early spring

Michael Bresser & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our family of 5 had a fantastic stay at the Hotel National Zermatt. The rooms are nice, food is excellent and the staff is very friendly/helpful. Our three kids said it was the best ski vacation we have ever had. Location across the street from the lift makes for an ideal location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNationalZ, Geschäftsführer at Hotel National Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Todd & Family,

Thank you for sharing such fantastic comments with others and us! I am delighted to read that your entire family enjoyed their holiday time with us and that you had a memorable time!

We always strive to exceed any expectations – let it be those of our smallest guests or those of adults. We therefore highly appreciate your positive feedback hearing that your family enjoyed not only our unbeatable location but also the excellent and friendly service provided by my entire team.

It is said that children are never shy about telling the truth so please forward our special thanks to the three of them promising that we are “full bore” carrying on like this – so that their next verdict turns out with 2 thumbs up, again;)

We already look forward to welcoming you back at the next opportunity!
Take care, with best regards from springlike Zermatt

Your Michael Bresser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#15 of 110 in Zermatt
575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#25 of 110 in Zermatt
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 110 in Zermatt
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#53 of 110 in Zermatt
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#61 of 110 in Zermatt
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National Zermatt

Address: Matterstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel National)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#21 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#21 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#22 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#24 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $207 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel National Zermatt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pure Swissness in a perfect location. Alpine cosy comfort, creative Swiss cuisine and a heartfelt welcome. Excellent prospects for your Zermatt holiday – “20 Steps from Sunnegga” and only a short walk from the village centre and train station! Be it for a romantic getaway, or a trip with friends and the entire family. Hotel National will make you feel at home. This is our promise! •54 double-, family rooms & suites, nearly all with Matterhorn views •Restaurant National, Cosy Bar & a sunny garden terrace •Creative evening menus & all-day a la carte offering •The Famous National Backyard BBQ on all summer weekends •Spa with indoor pool, jacuzzi, saunas & massages •Official BikeHotel with bike room & cleaning station •In-house ski rental in winter We are looking forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel National Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing