We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight in Zermatt” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Perren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Perren
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Overnight in Zermatt”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Checked in late at Hotel Perren in January 2013. Booking was easy over the www but first impressions as given by the hotel manager weren't great. He was rude and rushed and didn't really want to deal with me - single girl. It was about an day 8 min walk from the train station.

Don't be scared of the elevator - it only takes 2 people!

Saying all that the room was very good - spacious and clean and a great bathroom. Breakfast downstairs was typical Swiss but very good with homemade yoghurt.

Walking out the driveway the next morning and turning left - there was the Matterhorn in all its glory. It was also a 3 min walk to the ski lift.

The Migros supermarket was a 2 min walk too so all close and easy to access. Checking out the next morning, the lady on the front desk was very helpful and let me leave my bags for a while until I left.

Overall - a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one not next to the elevator but with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank _swiss_miss_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    93
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
78
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have just returned today from a week's skiing in Zermatt, staying at the Hotel Perren (with Inghams). The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were spotless and well equipped. Fresh towels were supplied as often as requested and rooms cleaned on a daily basis. We had a deluxe room with Matterhorn view, what a joy to wake up to! Our sons had a room in the original wing which was very comfortable with a south facing balcony. We stayed on a half board tariff. The breakfast buffet was exceptional and dinner was more than adequate. The location of the hotel could not have been better- very close to the Sunegga lift system and a short walk to the very pretty town. We would definitely consider staying at the Perren again.

Room Tip: The whole area was very quiet so the rooms were not noisy at all. A room with Matterhorn view is a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and two grown son's returned to Zermatt after 5 years with our son's to ski. We love the village, I personally feel like Heidi. The hotel Perren has the best beds I have ever slept in, firm, but not to much. Great pillows also. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The hotel has a wonderful bar and a happy hour from 3p.m to 5p.m. It's the best deal in town. If you like to shot pool, there's a pool table in the hotel lobby. It's also nice after a long day to have dinner in the hotel, if you don't feel like going out after a long day of skiing The hotel also has half board -breakfast and dinner. Also a great deal.
New Year's Eve the fireworks were right by the hotel. We just walked out front and there they were. Happy 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delospoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great stay at the apartment! Huge space for 5 of us! Full view of the Matterhorn - day and night (clear skies)! Bus lines were very close - 3 to 5min walk, town was about 5 to 10mins walk. check in and out was smooth and quick. Restaurant guys were just brilliant in service! Down side is there's no washing machine but our clothese dried up in a day inside the apartment due to the weather I guess...Pity stay was too short, but we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wenray75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was the best of the four hotels stayed in during our trip to Switzerland. Large room with excellent facilities, and very practical. Far better than more highly rated Hotels stayed in elsewhere. Sometimes 4* can be based on services provided, rather than quality.
Amazed by the number of TV Channels available including numerous English Channels (both BBC and ITV) . Having been deprived of any news except for CNN or the useless BBC World News this enabled us to find out what was happening.
Good breakfast even though service was a bit chaotic at times they were trying to do their best. Who could ask for more
Hotel staff very helpful and welcoming, and view from Bedroom of the Matterhorn was superb.

Room Tip: Ask for South facing DeLuxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jostan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Perren, however, we had to check out a day before our scheduled departure. They made us pay for the night that we weren't staying! They showed us after that they are entitled to do this as it is low season BUT no where on the booking were we told a out this. Don't book more than you need in the event that you may stay longer!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3bajantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morzine, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

On a recent summer ski trip to Zermatt we were lucky enough to end up in the Hotel Perren. There were plenty of hotels available but the management at this hotel were particularly helpful in answering all of our queries prior to booking. They also offered a competitive price to include a pass for the glacier. Upon arrival we were not disappointed - a well looked after hotel with spotlessly clean rooms and communal areas, comfortable beds, copious buffet breakfasts and very friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble and having now stayed in Zermatt several times in several hotels I can honestly say that this hotel would be my first choice next time. The wellness area is a great facility too and the location is hard to beat with the main street just a few minutes away by foot and both bus lines stopping right outside. I can't imagine how anyone could fail to enjoy a stay at Hotel Perren.

Room Tip: Our three rooms were all great but the ones with Matterhorn View are worth paying a bit extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambiance
Hotel Ambiance
#57 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#25 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Perren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Perren

Property: Hotel Perren
Address: Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#46 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#55 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Perren 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Perren in Zermatt Welcome to Hotel Perren in Zermatt, the family-run establishment at the foot of the Matterhorn. The typical Zermatt atmosphere is tangible throughout our friendly family hotel. The Perren, Bregy and Kronig families and their team attend to your individual requirements. 70 comfortable rooms are available. These are classified into Deluxe, Comfort and Family rooms, the Matterhorn Suite, and a spacious holiday apartment. You can relax and unwind with a view of the Matterhorn in our "Garden of relaxation" wellness facility with wood sauna, stone sauna and aroma grotto. And let's not forget Isa's Beauty Corner and the Fitness Centre in the neighbouring building. Spend your holidays in Zermatt. Skiing in Zermatt is an all-year sport. If you enjoy hiking, you have more than 400 kilometres of hiking trails to choose from. The half-board restaurant LA MONTANARA and the a-la-carte restaurant LA BARRIQUE offer local and international specialities from the kitchen and wine cellar every day. After an eventful day in the mountains, while away the evening with champagne, selected wines and our own cocktail creations and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere in our unique "Q-STALL BAR". The friendly team at Hotel Perren in Zermatt is looking forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Perren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perren Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing