We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mirabeau
Ranked #16 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The staff were lovely, the food was amazing and the room was impeccable.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, we only stayed for 3 days in Zermatt and intend to return. Hopefully we can stay at Mirabeau again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a mini - suite with a Matterhorn view. Very luxurious with both bath and separate show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lqts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    67
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
107
254
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As part of a rail holiday, we spent 3 nights at the Mirabeau. We had asked for twin beds and were delighted to find that our request had been actioned. Staff were extremely pleasant and I was very pleased to see Mr Julen around the hotel, particiularly at meal times when he speaks to all the guests.
We made use of the long swimming pool and jacuzzi. After dinner we enjoyed sitting in front of the log fire in the lounge/bar area.
Our only disapointment was not to see the Matterhorn from the hotel dining room and our balcony. The Matterhorn seems to be a cloud magnet. Still we went up the Gornergrat and spent all day viewing the mountain!
I thoroughly recommend the Mirabeau.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel Mirabeau is a hotel in the old tradition. The customer comes first. From the moment one steps in the front door you are treated as a special person and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are well appointed with free internet available. The bathroom facilities are excellent and all needs have been provided for. The Buffet Breakfast provides for all tastes with a wide variety of breads, cereals juices and cold meats. The hot side was not to my liking but that's a taste matter. The coffee was to die for, strong and robust, just how I like it. I recommend this hotel for the discerning traveller

Room Tip: I stayed in the rear which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great hotel , nice big rooms by ski hotel standards, good food and plenty of it. In particular great breakfasts. There was also an excellent swimming pool. The staff were also friendly and most attentive

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Matterhorn- stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenAdvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our second trip to the Hotel Mirabeau and we weren't disappointed. The staff are very friendly and attentive, the rooms are stylish and comfortable and the ambiance of the hotel is welcoming. We all found our rooms too warm but you can turn off your radiator and open the window. The ski room is excellent and as one reviewer mentioned, you can take a bus to the Sunnega lift but you can also walk to the Gornergrat train in about 5 minutes which takes you up to the centre of the mountain. The main train station is just opposite the Gornergrat station but when you arrive/leave the hotel will pick you up and drop you off along with all your luggage. In contrast to one reviewer, we loved the food - most people choose the breakfast buffet and 5 course dinner option. The portion sizes are great and you can combine the options however you'd like - skip the soup and have 2 desserts if you want! One night there was a delicious raclette buffet and a great dessert buffet another night. We had some wifi issues but going down to the lobby and logging in again normally got it working again. I had a great massage at the Spa and my son and father enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My sister and i have just returned from a week at the Mirabeau,we have very high standards and this hotel meets every expectation,from beginning to end.we had to leave the hotel at 4am there was staff to provide tea coffee ect.and also a small treat of the local chocolate.the owner's and their daughter are attentive to all their guests.We have been ski-ing for 12 years (twice a year)
this is the first Hotel wewill return to..even though we always stay at 5star hotels.

Room Tip: We upgraded to room 305 and for 50 francs a night we got a much bigger room and bathroom well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank london348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent 4 nights in the Mirabeau and can only recommend it. Located close to the train station and the centre exploring Zermatt is easy. Getting to and from the skiing resort you have to take a bus but the stop is located nearby and the busses run every 8 min so not much of a hassle.

The architecture is consistent throughout the hotel and provides for a cozy chalet style atmosphere. The wellness area is small but well thought through and is the perfect place to relax after a long day in the slopes. There is also an option to get a personal treatment which we went for and is deft. recommendable (on a side note I like the fact they don't try to push you in to one of these treatments from the minute you arrive which is not unusual...)

We ate once in the upscale restaurant which is good but a tick too pricy in my view. The other restaurant (Zermatta) serves tasty food at reasonable prices.

Lastly the breakfast buffet is rich with two sorts of fresh pressed juice giving you a perfect start to the day.

Room Tip: Spend the extra 50CHF/night to get a view on the Matterhorn - it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Property: Hotel Mirabeau
Address: Untere Mattenstrasse 12-14 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#14 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
..Welcome to a magical place! Hotel Mirabeau is a third generation family owned and managed property in Zermatt, Switzerland. The hotel is located in the calmer part of the town, with a majestic view on the Matterhorn and the surrounding Michabel Mountains. With our restaurant ZerMatta, and the 15 points Gault Milliau and Michelin featured gastronomic restaurant Corbeau d'Or as well as our bar and the Joseph's Wine Lounge our guests can enjoy fantastic Food and Wine - the fine art of living. The design of our two buildings is stylish yet alpin and our mountain spa features several saunas, steam baths and relaxation rooms, a newly build pool and jacuzzi as well as a large array of treatments; from couple wine-therapy to chocolate massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabeau Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing