We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gemütlichkeit und ausgezeichneter Service - cosiness and excellent service”
Review of Hotel La Ginabelle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Ginabelle
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our "shortbreak" at the La Ginebelle was an excellent experience - a friendly welcome, a cosy and very clean room, perfect service at breakfast and dinner (even changing a meal from the menu was no problem at all - thank you!), an outstanding massage which we had never had before, a more than pleasant 'wellness-area' with a large sauna, a herbal sauna, a small pool (and whirl-pools) where we could relax after our long hikes to the Gornergrat (on foot - not by train!!!) or to the Trockener Steg (of course on foot). All this added up to a gorgeous stay at the Ginebelle.
The center of Zermatt is only a short distance from the hotel. Transport from and to the station were well organised, too.
Any time again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank US S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 334 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have visited the hotel almost every year since its creation more than 15 years ago, and I must stay it that it has unfialingly maintained the stanard, the "cozyness" the sense of "Home"' . The owners personally greet you at your dinner table every evening, they exchange tips and care for your welfare in 4 different languages!. The only thing I would put on the minus is their choice of open wines...nah...not at all at the level of the establishment as a whole..and for those that are not German or from the German speaking part of Switzerland- people are naked in the sauna....not exactly tasteful for the rest of the workl to see, enjoy and get used to . Otherwise a hotel that will want you to return for more

Room Tip: Get on with a view to the Matterhorn (South-facing room )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grykristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were in Ginabelle for de third time with our three kids and enjoyed our stay again very much. Ginabelle is a beautifull family hotel with a relaxed atmosphere, luxurious comfortable rooms with good Wifi (important for our kids). The swimming pool with mountain view and sauna are a real treat after a day of walking. Dinner every evening was an event on its own with superb quality food. Our host and his staff were wonderfull, friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Finding a hotel for a family of 5 that offers spacious rooms isn't always easy. In La Ginabelle we found a four(!) room apartment for a decent price that also included 5 course dinners. 5 min walk from the trainstation (pickupservice available), 100 meters from the closest ski lift it is good located. The room/apartment was just great, the hotel is fresh, the staff is really service minded with a present and caring ownerfamily. We were offered supportive equipment for free for our hiking tours. The familyspa offers for free what you need after a day out. The in/outdoor pool is maybe somewhat small for the kids to play in. The Gina Spa offers plenty of relaxing services at prices in the medium/higher range, but then you also get professional care. Complements to the chef and the kitchen who offered very well composed, tasty and varied meals throughout our stay. Combined with an efficient and service minded staff we looked forward to the dinners.
All in all a great stay - not for free - but well worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Matterhorn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHE63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice hotel, excellent service, nice spa, excellent dinner at night (included in the package). We booked directly with the hotel by phone and got a better price than on booking sites. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The river is noisy, ask for a room far away from the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here over the Swiss National Holiday and it was a lovely experience. The staff were super friendly and always accommodating. The breakfast was nice and the dinner was excellent. We would recommend staying here anytime out of the year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for a overnight trip from Zurich, with our two children. The priced we paid for a room which sleeps 4, was 430 CHF. That price is for Half board, ie, it includes the cost of a dinner for four. The dinner was truly a fine dining experience ( you pay only for the wine, which is priced reasonably). It's a proper 4 course meal with a set menu, but a lot of flexibility. On its own I would expect to 200CHF for that dinner alone. So you do the math about why the hotel is good value. The breakfast was fabulous too.

The room was spacious and comes with free and fast Wi-fi. The room had a balcony with a stunning view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is right along the river and you can go for a lovely walk along the river.

They service the room twice and pick you up in a shuttle from the station (3-4 mins) if you inform them about your arrival. That alone would save you 18 CHF.

The best part of all is the smiling and thoughtful service. They had a toddler sized bathrobe ready in the room for our youngest. And a baby chair ready for her at the dining hall when we went there for dinner and breakfast. Amazing stay .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#16 of 110 in Zermatt
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#30 of 110 in Zermatt
223 reviews
0 mi away
Sunstar Style Hotel Zermatt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ginabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ginabelle

Address: Vispastrasse 52, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: $217 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel La Ginabelle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every Season our guests enjoy the overall recovery and relaxation. Our strength is to make your holiday experience a unique dream. With us you will not only fill up with joie de vivre but also feel at home during your vacation. Families and single traveling couples will feel comfortable likewise at Hotel “La Ginabelle”. The jewel of the house is our new vitality world. Besides the in and outdoor "good mood fun pool" with the various water attractions, herb bath, finnish sauna, salt water steam bath, infrared sauna, tropical shower and relaxation room with water beds, the "La Ginabelle" offers its guests a wide range of beauty and other treatments. And additional reasons to visit us are the quiet but central location of the hotel – 2 minutes walking distance to the mountain railway and the valley descent; the outstanding gourmet cuisine, family and children friendliness and the high quality equipment and furnishing of our hotel. Your host, the Abgottspon-Schell family and staff are looking forward to welcoming you soon at the "La Ginabelle". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Ginabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing