We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in Zermatt”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #37 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Zermatt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Zermatt was our last stop of a vacation in Switzerland. We stayed two nights at this hotel and really enjoyed the hospitality. Breakfast was included each morning, and it was a complete breakfast. We really enjoyed the reception the second night. Champagne and appetizers were served and it was nice to meet some of the other guests from around the world. The room was functional but small but we could not have asked for a more amazing view from our balcony. We had a perfect view of the Matterhorn from our fourth floor room! It was breathtaking! The owner was hands on, and he told us his father had built it. This stay was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clevelander4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your positive feedback. It would be great to greet you another time in our hotel. Regards from Zermatt, Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    118
    20
    8
    2
See reviews for
112
111
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed for 11 days and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We all had fantastic views of the Matterhorn and the rooms were clean and reasonably sized. Francis and all of his staff were very friendly, accommodating and made us feel at home. The meals were excellent, especially the dinners which consisted of five delicious courses each night.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KentToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you ver ymuch for your feedback. We will inform the kitchen about the good job there doing. It would be great to greet you some other time in our hotel. Regards Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

we came to Zermatt looking for views of the Matterhorn and were not disappointed as we could see it from our hotel room. Waking up a little earlier and opening our curtains showed this amazing view of the Matterhorn. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast was very enjoyable. The location is excellent and only a short distance away from the train station. The staff were very helpful in many ways.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcfinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you very much for this positive feedback. We would be very happy to greet you some other time in our hotel. Greetings from Zermatt, Francis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabul, AF
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was a decent, clean, reasonably priced (by Swiss standards) hotel in a good, central location. The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast. This was probably the best (inclusive) hotel breakfast spread that I have ever seen! The staff was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The facilities are nice and ample, and I didn't even have time to enjoy all that they offered. I didn't get a room with a view of Mont Blanc as I had hoped, but the room's view was still quite beautiful. The only negative is that the room was quite small. I was traveling solo, so it wasn't a big deal to me, but two people with big suit cases might find the conditions a bit crammed. Perhaps other rooms are more spacious. The location is close to the main drag, but do take a taxi to and from the train station if you have heavy bags - it's a bit of a trog.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mont Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BristolZermatt, Owner at Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. The next time we will try to get you in a room with Matterhorn view. Our single rooms unfortunately do not have Matterhorn view.

Greetings from the sunny moutains
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

During our stay, an extended weekend end of January, we were several times impressed by the over average service minded staff, who really kept us comfortable the four days we where there.

The hotel has a central location, nice and clean, good breakfast and a friendly staff!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SushiTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Our first trip to Zermatt in January 2014 which won't be our last as we must go back and a big part of the must will be that we stay at the Hotel Bristol.
What a delightful find was this hotel. Staff were super efficient, very friendly and always eager to help with any request. We felt so at home and relaxed being welcomed so fulsomely.
The location is fantastic, right on the bus stop to the ski lifts and only a brief 1 minute walk to the Main Street.
Our room was great, plenty of space by European standards and the bathroom was excellent.
Breakfast was included in our tariff and it was first class.
We loved Zermatt, such a beautiful place and are determined to return. When we do, we will definitely be staying at the hotel Bristol.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Francis (the owner) was so wonderful. He knows everything about Zermatt and skiing. Great views of the Matterhorn on a clear day and there's very good complimentary breakfast with lots of choices of great food. At 6:00 Francis and his wife Josephine host an apero with prosecco and delicious passed hors d'oeuvres. We had a terrific stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#41 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#46 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#33 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing