We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Has Problems”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #86 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Hotel is near disco bar that closes at 3 AM. Must keep windows closed & it doesn't matter where your room is. Food is not that good and certainly doesn't rate 4 stars. Staff is wonderful and very helpful. If you want a bed, shower & bare nourishment, its OK.

Room Tip: Not 01. Think 05 is OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 140 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

The weekend I decided to go to Zermatt was very busy, only a few offerings left and some at astronomical prices.

I booked the Jr. Suite that is literally right about the Pub. I read the reviews and knew what I was getting into. The price was right and I planned on being one of the Pub goers so not a problem with the noise. BTW, it does get loud but stops at 1-2am.

The staff is the best part of this hotel. The front desk lady Daniela was so amazing and sweet. To date, she is the hotel hotel employee that has come out behind the desk and hugged me goodbye. The breakfast was a wonderful Swiss affair. Assorted breads and cheeses, yogurt. However, the friendly Italian Chef asked if he could whip us up some eggs. He said "I know you Americans LOVE your eggs for breakfast!" That type of service is really what made the stay special.

I definitely plan on coming back to Zermatt, since I barely scratched the surface of all the ski runs they have. When I do come back I will be staying here, just to see some familiar friendly faces.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n8dagrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

we stayed at the service apartment La perle which was as comfortable as a house with a dining a full fledged kitchen and cutlery...the best part was when we walked in there was no one to greet us and just a note with a key...and to top it the receptionist Flutura was so friendly that not only did she help us with basic information but also used her contacts in Zermatt when we got into trouble...in fact since we had a mishap in Zermatt, she even gave us a 50% discount without us asking for it...the view from the balcony was beautiful and the whole experience worth remembering...since the hotel is a little noisy,,,try out the apartment, it's more secluded beautiful and extremely comfortable..whether it's a large group of friends or a couple

Room Tip: Book the service apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PearlMBlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

the staff @ astoria , zermatt were just too kind and courtesous . they made sure our family was very well taken care off . we wudnt have realised it ourselves abt the noise level ( construction activity happening around ) , but they pointed it out and requested us to stay in their apartments ( no extra charge ) , which we were more than happy to accept . even @ breakfast , though being a small hotel , the layout was decent and their staff serving was excellent ... wud recoomend my friends and family to be guests @ astoria zermatt if they were to visit . deven a ashar

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deven68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This is a small and friendly hotel. The staff are amazing and can't do enough for you. Great location being only 5 minutes from ski bus stop. Booked as a last minute and was then worried when I read the negative reports about the noise. This wasn't a problem at all. The local area is very lively at apres time with a champagne bar directly across the road (great) and Papperla Pub (best apres bar in Zermatt) with live apres music most nights! My advice? Join in the fabulous apres and have fun instead of sitting in your room moaning about the noise. I would give this hotel an extra* for the apres alone. We were not bothered by any noise later on and slept very well in very comfortable beds. We had the half board option and the food and service were great. Lovely large bedroom and nice bathroom. We loved this hotel and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michellehodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

this was definitely the most do-it-yourself hotel I've seen in all the places I've been in. we were given rooms in the House La Perle. as we walked into the central area we saw no one. our hotel room keys along with a welcome letter were all we found there.the hotel scores in its location and view.there was also a small kitchen

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Areful I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

I agree with previous reviews: the staff is very friendly and helpful but the hotel needs some renovation, and there is a very noisy pub nearby. We were lucky because our room faced the street oposite to the pub so the noise was minimum but we could hear it quite loudly from the bathroom. It can be a real problem if your room is on the other side of the hotel.
The room was big (we had a junior suite) but it wasn't worth the money. We had to go for the suite in this hotel because it was the only free room we found for less than 350 CHF. I would have never paid that much money for this room but we were in a rush. The furniture and decor was quite old, as it was the bathroom.
My advice: plan your trip to Zermatt in advance and book a better and cheaper hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
0.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Petit CHARME-INN
Le Petit CHARME-INN
#42 of 110 in Zermatt
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adonis
Hotel Adonis
#66 of 110 in Zermatt
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambiance
Hotel Ambiance
#57 of 110 in Zermatt
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Steinmattstrasse 32, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $148 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Astoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round Hotel Garni situated in city center, 1 km from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing